English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 April 2010, 23:50   #1
Pingaloka
 
Posts: n/a
Presentation & Question

Hello!first of all I'll introduce myself.
I'm 27 years I'm from Spain and I enjoy a lot retro gaming.
Specially everything to do with DOS, 286, 386, arcade machines, DOSBox, ScummVM, etc.

I have never had an Amiga, my first computer was a 286. I remember diying of envy watching what an Amiga was capable of, specially concerning games and sound and that time.

Recently looking for one of my favorite games as a kid, "Sensible Soccer", I found a community of online play through the Emulator WinUAE - Kaillera Client. So I started researching and wow!, a new world is being discovered, as I said before, never experienced an Amiga.

There are plenty of games that I enjoyed in PC, which are amazing in the Amiga version (cannon fodder, sensible soccer, syndicate, maniac mansion, Darkseed, monkey island...) specially sound wise.

I have tried many emulators: ZNES, Nulldc, Demul, MAME (I actually have Built myself an Arcade Cabinet), etc,

Nevertheless configuration of WinAUE is proving to be a difficult task for me, as I am not familiar with Amiga. It actually makes this more interesting and challenging.

So far I have managed to install workbench, and make games run in WHDLOAD and HDF format.

Here are my questions guys!

I know how to startup a game using WHDLOAD, is it possible to launch a WHDLOAD game from workbench?

I would also like to know if you can extract a file format "HDF" into adf or whdload.

My other question is, of the Amiga operating systems: ClassicWBUAE, AMIGASYS, Workbench. Which one would you guys recommend and, or, use, keeping in mind performance and design?

Apart from playing games, do you people use Amiga system for other tasks or porpuses?

I'm new to this world, and I'm very curious about it!!!

Thanks a lot!!

Last edited by Pingaloka; 05 April 2010 at 23:55.
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 11 April 2010, 02:35   #2
hit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: planet earth
Posts: 1,115
*welcome*

Last edited by hit; 17 May 2010 at 02:30.
hit is offline  
Old 28 April 2010, 15:28   #3
slk486
Registered Looser
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by hit View Post

- more than games: there were many good application for the Amiga back in the days, many good graphics application like Deluxe Paint, Multimedia application like AmigaVision, or state of the art 3D-Animation packages - Lightwave for example.
And trackers... Don't forget trackers
slk486 is offline  
Old 28 April 2010, 21:50   #4
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,203
Hi pingaloka, and welcome to EAB!
prowler is offline  
Old 29 April 2010, 05:53   #5
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
For "I would also like to know if you can extract a file format "HDF" into adf or whdload. "

Get total commander and then the plugins for hdf,dms,adf,lha,lzx you can also get some for c64 formats
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 29 April 2010, 08:46   #6
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmicfrog View Post
Get total commander and then the plugins for hdf,dms,adf,lha,lzx you can also get some for c64 formats
You still can't 'convert' it to ADF or WHDLoad (whatever that means ).
TCD is offline  
Old 04 May 2010, 00:42   #7
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
Oh yes you can TCD

just select your files and got to packem up thewn choose which packer you want
dms,adf,hdf

simples


WHDLoad out of the question though hehehehhe
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 04 May 2010, 09:02   #8
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
So will the HDF to ADF convert create several disks? Will that work the way the game expects the disks? At least it's a very limited conversion

Last edited by TCD; 04 May 2010 at 10:41. Reason: Typo
TCD is offline  
Old 04 May 2010, 10:39   #9
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
heheheh not going there, ppl will have to play by themselves and find out
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 04 May 2010, 10:47   #10
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Anyway, I would recommend not to convert it
TCD is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Presentation. drohan Member Introductions 5 20 November 2012 10:28
Lemmings 20th anniversary presentation Codetapper Nostalgia & memories 4 06 May 2011 20:05
NTSC & PAL Question ghost_of_war support.Hardware 3 12 June 2010 19:10
Clone-A presentation. ppill News 60 16 September 2009 00:57
Who will be at the OS 4.0 presentation in Essen / Germany this Saturday ? plasmatron Amiga scene 4 12 May 2004 01:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14307 seconds with 11 queries