English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 June 2002, 15:59   #1
leongt
Registered User
leongt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melbourne / Australia
Age: 60
Posts: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to leongt
Question Lha Loading Problem

have downloaded lha and tranfered it to a 720k disk, but when I put it into my a1200 there are no icon's, the amiga read's the disk ok and tell's me that it's got something on the disk but that's all, am I doing something wrong, and the same happend with ADF blitzer too.
leongt is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
Old 24 June 2002, 16:10   #2
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,752
Have you selected "show all" from the icons menu?

If not, you won't see anything on the disk unless it has an Icon file (.info)

Another way is to select view as text rather than icons.

BTW, with the LHA .run file, you'll have to run it from shell to extract the LHA program files.

Then, put the executable in the C directory of your Workbench and grab a program like Packmaster off Aminet in order to give yourself a nice GUI for de-archiving.

Alternatively, grab my Classic 3.0 WB that has everything already set up.

Or the wonderful "Amiga in a Box". Do a search on the net.

Last edited by Bloodwych; 24 June 2002 at 16:28.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 24 June 2002, 16:36   #3
leongt
Registered User
leongt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melbourne / Australia
Age: 60
Posts: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to leongt
used fview from the workbench and all the files are the ok but how do I extract the program to my amiga.
leongt is offline  
Old 24 June 2002, 16:46   #4
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,752
Like I said above, you have to use shell.

Open up shell (in the system directory) and change the directoy to your pc formatted disk containing the files. Then simply type the name of the LHA .run file at the command prompt to extract the files eg

"System:>PC0:"
"PC0:>LHA_e138.run"

The files will be extracted onto the disk.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 24 June 2002, 16:52   #5
leongt
Registered User
leongt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melbourne / Australia
Age: 60
Posts: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to leongt
ok thank's I'll give it a go, havent used an amiga for about 12 year's and have only just brought the a1200 2 days ago.
leongt is offline  
Old 24 June 2002, 16:56   #6
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,752
No problem!

That's what this section is for, people having problems like yourself.

It's always great to have another Amiga user join the cause.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 25 June 2002, 01:35   #7
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 23
Posts: 4,662
Don't forget, too, that you have transferred the file to a 720k disk...that means it's a PC formatted disk, not AmigaDOS. If you insert the disk into the internal drive, it's not DF0:, but PC0: (the CrossDOS name for the internal drive as a PC drive).
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 25 June 2002, 02:23   #8
leongt
Registered User
leongt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melbourne / Australia
Age: 60
Posts: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to leongt
just a small question, I did a search on google for lha and found one for the amiga and one for ms-dos but after unpacking them both thay look the same program to me, is there a differance.
leongt is offline  
Old 25 June 2002, 03:46   #9
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 23
Posts: 4,662
Are the filesizes the same? If not, I would have to say no. I'd have to say no anyhow. Don't even bother with the MS-DOS version; it's useless. Use the Amiga version (on the (real or emulated) Amiga).
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 25 June 2002, 06:13   #10
leongt
Registered User
leongt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melbourne / Australia
Age: 60
Posts: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to leongt
how do you copy file's from disk to an amiga hdd when there are no icons to drag across, I dont have an amiga dos book to tell me these thing's and am stuffed how to do it.
leongt is offline  
Old 25 June 2002, 07:25   #11
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 23
Posts: 4,662
Leongt, you might want to look around the new messages here on the board a bit. There is a thread that has been going (today, even) that explains everything you are asking already. It's even called Lha. Plus, I just got finished posting a message to another new user explaining how the staff of EAB have already accommodated newbies by providing help and links to these commonly asked questions. (This makes twice today for me) Go to Forum rules, Amiga FAQ, Tutorials, and view the thread Amiga Tutorials, FAQ & Programs, which explains how to get files between systems, with links to tools to make the task possible.

Also, if you look over the five pages of messages in this area, some of them may already have the answers you are looking for.

If you need help with emulation, try CPC64's site, Amiga Emulation for Beginners. There was a url that I have posted several times for others and I can't find the damn thing now, but it was a tutorial on Workbench and AmigaDOS...beautifully laid out. Anybody remember the link to this site?
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem saving/loading games mancity project.WHDLoad 6 08 May 2012 10:28
Loading configuration files problem in 1.5.0 trackah123 support.WinUAE 4 29 July 2008 17:12
Crossdos/LHA Problem Kleidis support.Other 5 13 May 2008 05:27
A500 lha problem sw2001 support.Apps 12 03 October 2004 13:28
Problem with 'damage' loading Mad Mark support.Games 1 23 March 2002 18:40

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14442 seconds with 11 queries