English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 March 2010, 16:31   #1
WDeranged
Registered User
WDeranged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Staffs, UK
Posts: 29
A1200 scart lead picture wobble

I've just got my A1200 (from amigakit) home and connected it to my Sony LCD TV via the RGB scart lead I bought with it and I'm getting really bad picture instability like ripples constantly shifting.

I've been testing the Amiga on an old CRT tv previously and apart from the picture turning green every time the computer changed screen modes (correctable by reconnecting the scart lead) the picture was flawlessly stable.

The TV is a Sony KDL-40 V4000 from last year.

Any ideas?
WDeranged is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 20 March 2010, 16:53   #2
WDeranged
Registered User
WDeranged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Staffs, UK
Posts: 29
I've just tested it on my crt portable and it looks absolutely fine, I've also played around with every setting on my Sony with no joy
WDeranged is offline  
Old 20 March 2010, 17:20   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,682
Do interlaced modes have same problems?
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 21 March 2010, 00:01   #4
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 41
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
recently bought a 22" Samsung LCD and connected new A1200 via RGB scart, of course on a larger screen the wobble would probably be worse, but it is still noticeable on a 22

i played around with the controls

setting to 4:3, using natural colour, for some reason turning down the sharpness to 0-5 fixed most of the wobble to an "ok" level... it seems to move white edge lines behind the black lines..

playing games etc isnt too bad at all, using workbench and apps tend to show wobble more, static screens can be bad

strangely, i have turned it on and the wobble has gone and its sharp, then the wobble starts...

i have also got an old A600 connected via composite, the screen is solid but its blurry (what you would expect)

i have turned everything off in my house ie wifi, high power devices (could of been interference picked up on the cable (they are never shielded enough)

i think its more to do with refresh rates on LCD

has anyone tried a cheap VGA adaptor and LCD screen?
Djay is offline  
Old 21 March 2010, 01:04   #5
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,880
Most likely to be an incorrectly / partially wired SCART cable. CRT's are very tolerant to incorrect voltages on certain SCART inputs and missing grounds because they drive analog circuitry whereas modern LCD/Plasma displays feed into a digitising system.

Examine your SCART cable wiring and use the diagram created by Ian Steadman for reference. Pay special attention to the values of the resistors used and the number of grounds connected at the SCART end.

http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=592491&postcount=1
alexh is offline  
Old 21 March 2010, 02:15   #6
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 41
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
i am never gonna be able to do that, could anyone make up a good RGB scart fixed wiring cable for me i would buy NOW!

i need 2
Djay is offline  
Old 21 March 2010, 03:13   #7
WDeranged
Registered User
WDeranged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Staffs, UK
Posts: 29
Djay's problem sounds exactly the same as mine, I got my scart lead from Amigakit, I really don't have the technical skill to compare it to the diagram though.

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...roducts_id=226
WDeranged is offline  
Old 21 March 2010, 03:58   #8
WDeranged
Registered User
WDeranged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Staffs, UK
Posts: 29
After reading the thread alexh pasted It does sound very much like this cable is wired incorrectly, another user appears to have had the same issue with a cable he got from Ebay.

Last edited by WDeranged; 21 March 2010 at 04:40.
WDeranged is offline  
Old 21 March 2010, 14:43   #9
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,880
If you just bought your SCART cable from Amigakit ask them about it and see if they can correct the problem. They seem to be nice guys so I imagine a few solders and resistor changes would not be too hard for them.

If they don't, insist on returning it for a full refund. I am sure you'd be entitled to one.
alexh is offline  
Old 21 March 2010, 18:23   #10
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 41
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
amigakit guys post here quite a bit, so maybe they could respond here

i bought my cable from ebay, but if amigakit.com could fix the cable first i would buy another one from them!!!
Djay is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
yellow picture throught scart GurjSagoo support.Hardware 3 14 March 2011 18:42
Minimig Scart Lead Kitty support.Hardware 73 05 November 2009 15:23
WTB: Amiga to RGB Scart lead Spectre MarketPlace 4 12 February 2009 19:51
A500 scart lead Dave_wb support.Hardware 1 08 December 2006 22:04
Wanted: RGB Scart lead Fackamato MarketPlace 0 04 September 2004 17:28

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14315 seconds with 11 queries