English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 March 2010, 21:43   #1
WDeranged
Registered User
WDeranged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Staffs, UK
Posts: 29
EasyADF - which game releases work?

I've recently bought an A1200 with an EasyADF transfer kit, things are going generally smoothly...apart from a screw almost tearing it's way through the top of the case after fitting the hard drive

Anyway, I've tried writing around twenty of my ADF's with very little success, I didn't have TOSEC to hand but I know there's a shed load of different releases and I'm guessing some are better than others.

Has anyone compiled a list of workable releases or is it a matter of trial and error?

Seems like a good idea to start one if no one else has yet

Last edited by WDeranged; 19 March 2010 at 22:24.
WDeranged is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 19 March 2010, 21:56   #2
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,706
Every EasyADF release works - we test all of our programs.

Are you writing disks with the FORMAT and VERIFY command switched on ?
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 19 March 2010, 22:00   #3
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,204
It has been discovered that EasyADF won't write an ADF image back to floppy disk if the boot block (of the image) isn't quite shipshape. I'm not sure whether it is deliberate.
prowler is offline  
Old 19 March 2010, 22:04   #4
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,706
No customer has reported any issues back to us- the latest release has three different ways of writing ADFs.

Do you have an example of an ADF that fails?
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 19 March 2010, 22:13   #5
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,204
I'm not saying it's a bug. IMO it's a useful feature.

I noticed it when I was repairing an Amiga Format coverdisk which had been partly overwritten.

Part of the fix was to restore the original volume creation date, which I did by manually editing the boot block of an image of the disk.

The resulting disk image could not be written back to floppy using EasyADF, although ADFBlitzer would certainly do it.

I revalidated the disk image with DiskSalv under WinUAE and then EasyADF would accept it.

I can make the "before" and "after" ADF images available to you if you're interested, but I don't want to see this 'feature' of the EasyADF program destroyed if at all possible, because I find it useful.
prowler is offline  
Old 19 March 2010, 22:18   #6
WDeranged
Registered User
WDeranged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Staffs, UK
Posts: 29
I was referring to images from the TOSEC archive, though now you mention the features in the latest release of EasyADF I'm pretty sure I've got an older version.

I'm not with the Amiga again till tomorrow but I'll check if I'm up to date and try the same images as soon as I get it.

Here are a few of the images I wrote which failed to boot (though some got past the cracktros)

Batman - The Movie (1989)(Ocean)[cr][a].adf
James Pond 2 - Codename Robocod (1991)(Millennium)[cr SKR][a3].adf
New Zealand Story, The (1989)(Ocean)[cr ACC].adf
Paradroid 90 (1990)(Hewson)[cr CLS][a].adf
Typhoon Thompson (1989)(Broderbund)[cr QTX][t +1 Miracle][a2].adf
Toki (1991)(Ocean)[cr Defjam][t +4 Setrox].adf

One game did work.

Defender of the Crown (1986)(Mindscape)[a6](Disk 1 of 2).adf
Defender of the Crown (1986)(Mindscape)[a6](Disk 2 of 2).adf
WDeranged is offline  
Old 19 March 2010, 23:06   #7
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 41
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
i have loads of working disks.... 50 so far, using EasyADF (march '10) its been fine, using DF1: Format On, Verify Off, Track stop 81

cracktros, loads of cracktros throw up software probs on ks3.1

of course i'm using DS/DD disks, i have hunted down AGA fixed ADFs and even sometimes having to use Relokick 1.41 on them

this isnt easy
Djay is offline  
Old 19 March 2010, 23:47   #8
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,570
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Djay View Post
i have loads of working disks.... 50 so far, using EasyADF (march '10) its been fine, using DF1: Format On, Verify Off, Track stop 81

cracktros, loads of cracktros throw up software probs on ks3.1

of course i'm using DS/DD disks, i have hunted down AGA fixed ADFs and even sometimes having to use Relokick 1.41 on them

this isnt easy
Djay is right, I have been using EasyADF, long before I started working for Amigakit and every disk I done worked fine.

Non dos disk tend to work better with verify off.
FOL is offline  
Old 19 March 2010, 23:53   #9
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,204
So, is boot block checking a deliberate feature or not?
prowler is offline  
Old 20 March 2010, 00:13   #10
WDeranged
Registered User
WDeranged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Staffs, UK
Posts: 29
My A1200 is one of the new old stock ones from amigakit so maybe Kickstart 3.1 is my issue then, can't really test until tomorrow though.
WDeranged is offline  
Old 20 March 2010, 00:23   #11
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,204
Quote:
Originally Posted by WDeranged View Post
Here are a few of the images I wrote which failed to boot (though some got past the cracktros)

Batman - The Movie (1989)(Ocean)[cr][a].adf
James Pond 2 - Codename Robocod (1991)(Millennium)[cr SKR][a3].adf
New Zealand Story, The (1989)(Ocean)[cr ACC].adf
Paradroid 90 (1990)(Hewson)[cr CLS][a].adf
Typhoon Thompson (1989)(Broderbund)[cr QTX][t +1 Miracle][a2].adf
Toki (1991)(Ocean)[cr Defjam][t +4 Setrox].adf

One game did work.

Defender of the Crown (1986)(Mindscape)[a6](Disk 1 of 2).adf
Defender of the Crown (1986)(Mindscape)[a6](Disk 2 of 2).adf
Quote:
Originally Posted by WDeranged View Post
My A1200 is one of the new old stock ones from amigakit so maybe Kickstart 3.1 is my issue then, can't really test until tomorrow though.
It could be Kickstart 3.1, but if your A1200 is an Escom AT1200, then the floppy drive interface is likely to be the bigger problem.
prowler is offline  
Old 20 March 2010, 01:47   #12
WDeranged
Registered User
WDeranged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Staffs, UK
Posts: 29
I did ponder that but a friend of mine with an original A1200 (Kickstart upgraded to 3.1) has had the same problem with the same files.
WDeranged is offline  
Old 20 March 2010, 01:53   #13
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,204
You are fortunate. It's the surest way of eliminating that from suspicion.
prowler is offline  
Old 21 March 2010, 00:15   #14
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 41
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
looks like a problem with ks3.1

i transferred Gods (lots of different versions) to my A1200, the second disk refused to work on my A1200 used different methods to try to get it to work using DF0: and DF1: to read the 2nd disk, it displays "Loading Level 1" drive reads for about 2-3 seconds then stops...

... the same disks work on my old A600 no probs
Djay is offline  
Old 21 March 2010, 03:44   #15
WDeranged
Registered User
WDeranged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Staffs, UK
Posts: 29
Sounds like some kind of progress then, I'm rusty on all of this but I'm guessing that using a degrader on the A1200 didn't help?

None of the games I listed got near loading though, I get a black screen and a permanently lit floppy light, one or two managed to load the crack screen which I could skip past but then I'd be back to the black screen and floppy light.

I'm pondering the "latest release has three different ways of writing ADFs." comment from Amigakit as my version of EasyADF appears to have only one way of writing ADFs to disk, is there a version with more options available than what I'm seeing below?

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...roducts_id=440

As this is what my version looks like.
WDeranged is offline  
Old 21 March 2010, 04:17   #16
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 41
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
i got the latest version in adf, i transferred it to A1200 i didnt notice any difference, in design or performance
Djay is offline  
Old 21 March 2010, 04:28   #17
WDeranged
Registered User
WDeranged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Staffs, UK
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigakit.com View Post
Are you writing disks with the FORMAT and VERIFY command switched on ?
Very good point, I've been using the format option but not verify, I'll try again tomorrow.
WDeranged is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Similar to EasyADF koncool request.Apps 1 25 October 2012 23:38
EasyADF D4Ni3L3 support.Apps 7 05 October 2009 01:26
using a blankfloppy & easyADF has anyone ever got this 1 to work? lost_lemming support.Other 16 21 September 2009 17:54
New EasyADF available amigakit.com News 11 29 June 2009 04:17
EasyADF Energy support.Hardware 2 20 May 2009 05:09

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.19536 seconds with 11 queries