English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 March 2010, 23:09   #1
Canyon Matt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London / UK
Posts: 57
TSGUI hates my ADF's

Hey gang,

I'm having a problem with using TSGui to burn adf's back to Floppies. Here is my workflow:

Download ADF file from web onto my Mac
Burn to ISO-9660 CD using Toast 6
Copy files from CD to DH0: in my CDTV (running WB1.3)
Start TSGui, select ADF, output to disk...

Then, everytime you get to the end, I get Checksum 880 error... disk won't validate... use diskdoctor...

This is happening on every ADF I have. They all work fine in E-UAE (and on WinUAE running on a virtual XP machine)

Anyone know what causes this and how to get past it?

Matt
Canyon Matt is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 17 March 2010, 23:22   #2
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,204
I'm only guessing here, because I've never had that problem with restoring ADFs to floppy disks.

Since the ADFs have been copied from a CD-ROM, then maybe the attributes are set read-only.

Open a shell on your Amiga and navigate to the directory where the errant ADF images are and type:

protect #?.adf +rwed
endcli

Does that fix the problem?
prowler is offline  
Old 17 March 2010, 23:55   #3
Canyon Matt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London / UK
Posts: 57
Checked the protection...

and everything was RWED...
Canyon Matt is offline  
Old 18 March 2010, 00:07   #4
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,204
Hmm... Maybe KS1.3/WB1.3 is the problem, then.

If the floppies use anything other than OFS formatting, they will not be validated for use with KS1.3/WB1.3.

Does the program terminate normally? If so, the disks should really be OK, and non-DOS disks will still boot OK - even with KS1.3.

I'm also guessing that you're not using KS1.3/WB1.3 in WinUAE?
prowler is offline  
Old 18 March 2010, 07:46   #5
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
Are these ADFs AmigaDOS disks ? Can they be read (list directory etc.) from Workbench or CLI ?

If not, just ignore the message and press Ctrl-A-A to run the game.
thomas is online now  
Old 18 March 2010, 07:56   #6
Canyon Matt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London / UK
Posts: 57
Dos Disks - 1.3

No, I'm using WB1.3, KS1.3 on UAE as I was specifically testing compatibility. THe disks are just standard DOS disks (as a matter fact, one of them is your AmigaC1.1 ADF...)

I wonder if it could be a hardware issue with my drive?
Canyon Matt is offline  
Old 18 March 2010, 18:07   #7
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
What happens if you write the ADFs directly from CD to floppy without copying to DH0 ?
thomas is online now  
Old 18 March 2010, 23:24   #8
Canyon Matt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London / UK
Posts: 57
That fixed it...

Thomas, Thanks!

Copying straight from the CD0: to DF0: worked fine.

But I gotta ask... Why????

Matt
Canyon Matt is offline  
Old 18 March 2010, 23:31   #9
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,204
Hey, that's great news!

But I'm also at a loss to explain why.

Hey, Thomas, can you enlighten us, please? (I'm assuming it wasn't just a guess. )
prowler is offline  
Old 19 March 2010, 01:36   #10
Redwood
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney / Australia
Posts: 83
MaxTransfer issue?

(See this thread: http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=44609)
Redwood is offline  
Old 19 March 2010, 08:55   #11
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
Yes, probably DH0 has MaxTransfer set too high.
thomas is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TSGUI v2 question DaveMB support.Apps 7 06 October 2011 11:55
TSGUI and other adf transfer programs question Dreedo support.Apps 12 11 November 2010 17:30
Using TSGUI to write ADF's vimfuego support.Other 1 18 September 2009 08:20
TSgui fails with adz Rabbit80 support.Other 7 19 May 2009 00:34
TSgui ??? RetroMan Amiga scene 2 29 October 2001 02:59

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14735 seconds with 11 queries