English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 March 2010, 17:22   #1
Dreedo
Registered User
Dreedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 24
Posts: 654
[WEBSITE] Amiga-Zone

http://www.amiga-zone.webs.com/

I created the site to try and help people who are new to the Amiga and want to learn more about it.

This site contains information on all the Amiga's made, complete with photo's of them.

There are several other sections of the site you maybe interested in, including links to other Amiga-related sites.

There is also an ADF section, where a small amount of Amiga games are available for download.

1Mb HD Compatability list, shows what games can be run from a HDD, on a Amiga with only 1MB of RAM.

Record of most unique users online in a day:

10th of January 2011: 65!

Thanks.

Last edited by Dreedo; 11 January 2011 at 16:07.
Dreedo is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 March 2010, 17:56   #2
Allen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Blyth England
Age: 61
Posts: 733
That's a nice site you have there, just looked at the histories of the Amiga models and found much more than I ever knew about their histories and types.

I will have a proper look around later and see what else I can learn, I like what I have seen so far and it would be nice to see this grow in size as it gets older
Allen1 is offline  
Old 16 March 2010, 18:02   #3
Dreedo
Registered User
Dreedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 24
Posts: 654
Thanks for that, at least someone likes it so far.
Dreedo is offline  
Old 16 March 2010, 18:10   #4
seuden
uber cool demi god

seuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kent/England
Posts: 1,905
Straight to the point, nice layout, keep it up.
seuden is offline  
Old 16 March 2010, 18:16   #5
Allen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Blyth England
Age: 61
Posts: 733
I just noticed your age as well, Brilliant Mate, I'm an old fogey and doing something like you have is way out of my league and I agree with what seuden says
Allen1 is offline  
Old 16 March 2010, 18:20   #6
Kitty
Can’t rain all the time..

Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,503
Good website, look forward to more Amiga content, maybe some nice game reviews with screenshots
Kitty is offline  
Old 16 March 2010, 18:27   #7
AlfaRomeo
A1200 040 SAM440EP 667
AlfaRomeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lisbon / Portugal
Posts: 775
@Dreedo

I liked your site too
AlfaRomeo is offline  
Old 16 March 2010, 18:50   #8
mombasajoe
Registered User

mombasajoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: D
Age: 42
Posts: 522
Quoted from site: [A500] RAM 512kb upgradable to 9.5mb

Do you mean upgradable by 9.5mb to 10mb?

and http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/derringer

mombasajoe is offline  
Old 16 March 2010, 19:02   #9
Dreedo
Registered User
Dreedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 24
Posts: 654
mmm Im not sure from what i've seen.

- 512kb stock, but can be changed for a 1mb chip.

- 8mb of Fast RAM available to add-on (that makes 9mb)

- 512kb via trapdoor expansion slot.

Thanks everyone for saying what you think of it.
Dreedo is offline  
Old 17 March 2010, 00:59   #10
Muzer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 144
Was there really an external hard drive for the CDTV, or is that a typo? If there was, where can I get one?
Muzer is offline  
Old 17 March 2010, 01:10   #11
Muzer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 144
"A: A commonly asked question, and one which has a simple answer. Can PC's read Amiga Floppies? By default, no, but you can buy a DD (double density) drive to plug into your PC which as far as i know, will allow you to read Amiga floppies on the PC. And for the other question, can Amiga's read PC floppies? Well this one is slightly harder to answer, really Amiga's will detect a floppy in the drive, but it wont understand what it is, usually calling it '???'. However the Amiga can write to PC floppys and turn them into Amiga floppies if you use certain programs."

Most of that isn't really correct.

* The only way to read Amiga floppies on a PC is to buy a Catweasel or a similar floppy controller, or use a trick involving two floppy drives to trick the PC's floppy controller into reading the Amiga disk (much less reliable than the Catweasel).

* Amiga Workbench version 2.05 (I think) and later can read and write PC floppy disks (albeit with 8.3 filenames) via a program called CrossDOS. However, the floppy disks must be DD; HD floppies are unreadable.

If you try to format an HD floppy on the Amiga, it will probably work for a few days, weeks or months even, but the HD format is "stronger" than the DD one, so after a while the HD data recorded previously will "show through" and corrupt the disk.
Muzer is offline  
Old 17 March 2010, 01:13   #12
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 41
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
it looks like a good start, what do you plan to add?

its good to see that a 16 year old has interest in the Amiga... there is hope for the future!
Djay is offline  
Old 17 March 2010, 10:03   #13
mombasajoe
Registered User

mombasajoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: D
Age: 42
Posts: 522
@Dreedo

There exist 1,8mb slow-ram expansions and 1,5mb chip-ram expansions which - with a further 8mb fast-ram exp. - give you at total of 10mb or even slightly more.
mombasajoe is offline  
Old 17 March 2010, 14:33   #14
Dreedo
Registered User
Dreedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 24
Posts: 654
mmmm sorry for misinformation, lemon amiga and wikipedia both say 9/9.5mb.

As for the FAQ part, sorry about that too, its just that i use HD floppies to do my amiga stuff with, i didnt know that they become corrupt after a while, i've only used them about 3 days.

I'll edit it with updated information.

About the HDD on the CDTV, wikipedia says the shop bought one came with an external floppy and hard disk drive, and it also said that there was a SCSI port for internal and external hard drives, so i imagine you can get them.

Thanks everyone for the feedback.

Lol yeah, i first played an Amiga when i was about 3, when Commodore went down, then my parents threw out my Amiga, havent played one since about 1996 until i bought my A600 in 2010 lol.

Last edited by Dreedo; 17 March 2010 at 14:56.
Dreedo is offline  
Old 17 March 2010, 15:38   #15
mombasajoe
Registered User

mombasajoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: D
Age: 42
Posts: 522
No need for a "sorry". There are so many exotic expansions like the quoted Derringer which even expands the A500 up to 32mb. But I wouldŽnt call this "common".
mombasajoe is offline  
Old 17 March 2010, 15:42   #16
Graham Humphrey
Global Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 31
Posts: 10,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreedo View Post
As for the FAQ part, sorry about that too, its just that i use HD floppies to do my amiga stuff with, i didnt know that they become corrupt after a while, i've only used them about 3 days.
That is purely down to personal experience - I have never ever had a problem but some people do. There is no black or white argument on this.
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 17 March 2010, 16:07   #17
Dreedo
Registered User
Dreedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 24
Posts: 654
Ok thanks for the extra information lol, im learning a lot through this thread xD.
Dreedo is offline  
Old 17 March 2010, 16:18   #18
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
It might be an idea to take down the FAQ for the time being or mark it with 'WIP' tag I like your enthusiasm, but you should try to rack up some info, before you start to put a FAQ on your site.
TCD is offline  
Old 17 March 2010, 17:17   #19
Bronko
Remember: Shoot or die!
Bronko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg / Germany
Posts: 89
Send a message via ICQ to Bronko
I got a Workbench Copy with the Amiga500 I bought at Ebay on an HD-Disc, claiming to be made in February 1995. It works flawless.
Bronko is offline  
Old 17 March 2010, 18:12   #20
Dreedo
Registered User
Dreedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 24
Posts: 654
I'll be updating the site later tonight i think, doing some xbox 360 stuff at the moment lol.
Dreedo is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Amiga website amigapd Amiga scene 50 20 November 2010 12:34
Need help with new Amiga website ami_junkie Amiga scene 0 10 December 2008 03:46
The-Amiga-Zone website Amiga2000 Amiga websites reviews 2 25 January 2006 01:34
New Website for UK Amiga Users Mick_AKA Amiga scene 26 13 May 2005 13:40
Amiga website request!? thinlega request.Apps 0 20 March 2004 17:11

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25429 seconds with 11 queries