English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 March 2010, 19:47   #1
Dreedo
Registered User
Dreedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 24
Posts: 654
Compact Flash Questions

Hi again,

well i have some questions about compact flash, over the last few days i've been trying to decide how to be able to play games on my Amiga 600.

I was wondering, how simple is the CF card method? Heres what i think the method is so far:

- Get a PCMCIA CF card reader
- Get a CF Card
- Shove CF card into PC (i have a CF card slot in my PC already) and copy .adf or whatever onto it.
- Shove CF card into the PCMCIA CF card reader on Amiga.
- Presumably you could now run the files, but obviously its not going to be this simple, it never is.

Any help is appreciated, i've had a great welcome on this forum.
Dreedo is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 05 March 2010, 19:56   #2
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,680
You need disk image writing tools like TSGUI or ADF Blitzer, which are mostly on the PCMCIA adapter boot/driver disk (e.g. on eBay = ADF Transfer Kit) too.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 05 March 2010, 19:59   #3
retrogamer
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sweden
Age: 38
Posts: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreedo View Post
Hi again,

well i have some questions about compact flash, over the last few days i've been trying to decide how to be able to play games on my Amiga 600.

I was wondering, how simple is the CF card method? Heres what i think the method is so far:

- Get a PCMCIA CF card reader
- Get a CF Card
- Shove CF card into PC (i have a CF card slot in my PC already) and copy .adf or whatever onto it.
- Shove CF card into the PCMCIA CF card reader on Amiga.
- Presumably you could now run the files, but obviously its not going to be this simple, it never is.

Any help is appreciated, i've had a great welcome on this forum.
Well, you need to install drivers first.

I own a PCMCIA CF card reader myself and it works very well to transefer files between my PC & A1200.
retrogamer is offline  
Old 05 March 2010, 20:00   #4
Dreedo
Registered User
Dreedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 24
Posts: 654
ouch so i need a DD amiga floppy with all the drivers on and stuff?

Costs like 30 for one of those kits. :/
Dreedo is offline  
Old 05 March 2010, 20:03   #5
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,680
No really, if you check ebay worldwide. The Amiga boot disks are included too.

LINK


LINK 2
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 05 March 2010, 20:14   #6
Dreedo
Registered User
Dreedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 24
Posts: 654
Thanks.

So basically i get the kit, then i can play amiga games on my amiga off the CF card?
Dreedo is offline  
Old 05 March 2010, 20:17   #7
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,680
No, you have to write back the disk images to real Amiga disks via the above mentioned tools.

You need WHDLoad, if you want to play preinstalled games directly from a PCMCIA card or an IDE-CF adapter+CF card.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 05 March 2010, 20:36   #8
Dreedo
Registered User
Dreedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 24
Posts: 654
ok thanks,

i looked uo WHDLoad, however im slightly confused, is it a program you need to install on an Amiga, or do you install it on a PC? The documentation doesnt seem to help me much on the installation part.
Dreedo is offline  
Old 05 March 2010, 20:39   #9
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,680
It's a hd-loader programme for Amiga games, so it's installed on your Amiga. Works even with 1000s of NDOS uninstallable games. Check the FAQ:

http://wiki.abime.net/games/whdload/index
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 05 March 2010, 20:41   #10
Dreedo
Registered User
Dreedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 24
Posts: 654
Ok so how does one transfer the WHDLoader, do i need to write it on a floppy disc? Or can it be copied onto a CF card, or is WHDLoader needed to use the CF card in the first place? lol
Dreedo is offline  
Old 05 March 2010, 20:45   #11
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,680
Read the complete FAQ carefully. The best is to install a Workbench, either on a IDE harddisk or via IDE-Compact Flash adapter+ CF card (e.g. 2/4GB).
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 05 March 2010, 20:48   #12
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,706
We stock the EasyADF PCMCIA CF Transfer Kit

We have videos on the above link which show the process of using EasyADF
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 05 March 2010, 20:54   #13
Dreedo
Registered User
Dreedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 24
Posts: 654
IDE-Compact Flash adapter?

He he now im a little more confused.

IDE is something inside your Amiga isn't it?

So i have no idea what your talking about :/.

Ok so does that amigakit package have everything i need except for the CF card?
Dreedo is offline  
Old 05 March 2010, 20:59   #14
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,680
Your Amiga 600 has an IDE port, where you can plug harddrives/CD/DVD-Rom drives etc. An IDE to CF adapter allows you to use an ordinary Compact Flash card as a harddrive in your Amiga.

The PCMCIA adapter plus card is mainly a solution for data exchange from the PC to Amiga and back.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 05 March 2010, 21:06   #15
Dreedo
Registered User
Dreedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 24
Posts: 654
Quote:
The PCMCIA adapter plus card is a solution for data exchange from the PC to Amiga and back.
Sorry if im being thick, but what does this mean, as far as i can see with the Amiga, you can plug anything you want into it, it just doesnt read anything without you doing loads of things to it.

So if i got that Amigakit transfer kit, i have everything i need except for the CF card, or will i need WHDLoad as well.

And i thought just getting a pcmcia cf adaptor and plugging a card into it would let the amiga read it as a storage device, instead of me having to take the amiga apart and plug in yet another adaptor.
Dreedo is offline  
Old 05 March 2010, 21:09   #16
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,680
Maybe you should tell us exactly what you want to do? If you intend to buy a PCMCIA adapter (plus a card) to put ADF images on it to play them directly on your Amiga, that doesn't work. You have to write them back to real disks.

The other solution, playing them directly from your Amiga (not from real Amiga disks), is to install a Workbench and WHDLoad on a harddrive/IDE-CF adapter+card.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 05 March 2010 at 21:15.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 05 March 2010, 21:11   #17
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,706
You are welcome to give us a call on Monday and we can talk you through the options.

We offer a compatible 4GB card option with the EasyADF Compact Flash Transfer Kit (click configure product link)
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 05 March 2010, 21:12   #18
Dreedo
Registered User
Dreedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 24
Posts: 654
:/ i see, any way i can play .adf files on my Amiga?
Dreedo is offline  
Old 05 March 2010, 21:15   #19
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,680
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreedo View Post
:/ i see, any way i can play .adf files on my Amiga?
No, not really.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 05 March 2010, 21:16   #20
Dreedo
Registered User
Dreedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 24
Posts: 654
I see, so all the files on the zone and other sites are made for WinUAE ect.?
Dreedo is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8 GB Compact Flash card Kenan support.Hardware 6 07 June 2013 20:54
about compact flash adapter orange support.Hardware 3 18 April 2011 19:31
compact flash, but where on the pc? lost_lemming support.Hardware 27 16 September 2009 19:39
Compact flash JACK98 support.Hardware 22 10 December 2008 23:09
Compact Flash Floppy thinlega Retrogaming General Discussion 0 10 July 2007 22:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20274 seconds with 11 queries