English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 February 2010, 00:44   #1
tinto
 
Posts: n/a
NTSC TV Problems

Hi,

I recently bought an NTSC A1200 from AmigaKit. I'm in Canada, and having trouble running some games, which I'm guessing is a problem with them being PAL games running on an NTSC TV, but I wanted to get some confirmation. Two of the problems I'm seeing - with the discs included with the Amiga are:

1) Pinball Dreams (included with the Amiga) is offset way to the right and down on the TV. I can't see the far right of the game or the bottom. I don't mean a few pixels here - I'm talking about at least a quarter of the screen...

2) Whizz (included with the Amiga) - initial "cutscene" works more or less fine (similar offset problem to #1, but less pronounced). It then asks for Disc 2, which I enter. Once the game loads, it seems to switch video mode as the screen starts jumping up and down wildly (flashing), making it impossible to see.

Anybody have similar problems and any ideas of what's best to do in general when downloading games and demos for this Amiga? The Amiga is a stock A1200 with a 2.5" HD added.

Thanks!
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 28 February 2010, 07:21   #2
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 39
Posts: 1,333
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
dump the ntsc amiga and get a PAL one (along with a PAL capable TV)

I'm in japan, I've had my share of troubles with ntsc amigas, the best solution was to completely switch to pal. no troubles.

other than that your only hope is trying whdload with ntsc switch I guess.
coze is offline  
Old 28 February 2010, 17:03   #3
tinto
 
Posts: n/a
Dumping the Amiga isn't an option. What's NTSC switch? I'll try and find some info on that and take a look.

I grew up in the UK, so I always had a PAL Amiga and everything worked fine. Nevertheless, there must have been plenty of people in the world back in the day who used NTSC Amigas, and were able to play games, etc...
 
Old 28 February 2010, 17:12   #4
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 39
Posts: 1,333
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
unfortunately my friend, no, amiga was never that big in the US. US amiga market was more geared toward professional users with big box machines. US gaming market was more dominated by the NES and such at that time I guess. My estimate is about half the games from european software houses have problems with NTSC machines.

NTSC switch is not a hardware dongle. It's a switch (parameter) for the whdload software. Whdload is a software which lets you install floppy games to your amiga hard drive.
coze is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Personal project: EEEPC, Gamebase and WINAUE: problems problems butter100fly project.MAGE 15 09 August 2009 10:51
NTSC A500 Pal/NTSC mod pics kipper2k Hardware pics 2 29 March 2009 07:56
NTSC problems Anubis support.Hardware 19 12 November 2006 15:39
Looking for an NTSC CD-32 Mangar MarketPlace 1 28 March 2005 15:15
GUI refresh problems + OpenGL Speed Problems in 0.821r4 Danny Bacon support.WinUAE 1 07 June 2002 18:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.10740 seconds with 11 queries