English Amiga Board Amiga Lore

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

Thread Tools
Old 30 April 2010, 02:08   #21
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Sandusky
Posts: 57
Originally Posted by LordCrass View Post
Wasn't Pioneer Plague the first HAM game for A500? Played decently smooth too, but not a very good game.
I recall two action-type games that used HAM. Pioneer Plague and Knights of the Crystallion.

It's actually pretty easy to use HAM or HAM8 in a game without extensive recalculations, but there are some tough requirements.

A. Use HAM backgrounds but only overlay sprites.

B. Use palettes to minimize recalculations

1. Have background use only palette colors, and have any objects blitted onto it have a palette color as its leftmost pixel, and never have them overlap.

2. Have background use palette colors at known intervals, and when you overlay a blitted object, recalculate to the next palette pixel. If your objects do not use only palette colors, you also need to recalculate the objects.

When you say the AGA blitter "is faster", there is a *tiny* bit of truth to it, but not much. The AGA blitter is identical to the ECS blitter. The ECS blitter, however, can do blits twice as large as OCS, giving a tiny speedup (most of the time is spent in the copy operation, but you do save a little by having to fetch and issue fewer instructions). Since almost nothing was written ECS-specific, people considered it to be an "AGA feature".
AmigaHope is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 30 April 2010, 03:29   #22
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,348
MooVid(Action) uses HAM8 to display movies on an AGA machine. Although it's slow on an 030 (4-8fps) @ 320x200 it can manage up to 15fps on an 060. It is of course doing a lot more than simply drawing the HAM8 screens though so I'd imagine a game could do it quite a bit faster.

I'm still trying to see if I can get a HAM8 screen working in my PC VGA port (eg if it's fast enough)....watch this space

Apparently an 060 can build (C2P) a low-res HAM screen faster than the chipram can accept it

Last edited by NovaCoder; 30 April 2010 at 03:45.
NovaCoder is offline  
AdSense AdSense  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AGA games using WHDload ? willbloke support.Games 3 01 September 2011 21:22
Best AGA games wakeupbomb Nostalgia & memories 104 07 June 2011 23:12
SWOS Career Saves on AGA and none AGA machines Peanutuk support.Games 6 08 March 2004 19:48
probs with Shadow Fighter AGA & Sabre Team AGA Skumball support.WinUAE 1 10 September 2002 22:33
best cfg for aga games newge support.WinUAE 1 26 May 2002 13:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:29.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.09671 seconds with 11 queries