English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 31 March 2010, 14:15   #101
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Hi Allen,

They Joystick works in the Kempston Interface and I'm pretty sure I used to use it with the +3 back in the day so it should be ok.

I always take antistatic precautions when I work

I got a nice Toshiba tool kit with anti static mat, etc when I done the Laptop & Desktop certification. That was such a long time ago now though I think I was 18

Thanks again for all your help Allen, I'll still send you the DivIDE to have a play with later in the week.

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 31 March 2010, 15:51   #102
Allen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Blyth England
Age: 61
Posts: 721
Steve,

it looks like we have both been off the speccy +3 for to long. The joystick ports are not kempston but interface 2 and they follow the numbers on the keyboard for direction and fire etc. The ports are OK for games that let you redefine the controls, so any game that lets you select a key for up, down etc should be fine.

Machine Name : (Amstrad) Sinclair Spectrum +2, +3,
Processor : Zilog Z80A at 3.75MHz.
Memory : 128k.
Backing Store : Cassette 1200 baud, built in.
Floppy Disk, 300k ? built in on +3.
Hard disk, Roumored !
Firmware : ZX colour basic, 128k basic.
Screen : Text 32x22x16.
Graphics 256x192. Colour res was only 32x22x16 !
Other I/O : 1200 baud Cassette +3 only.
Mono sound output.
Expansion connector.
2xJoystick interfaces.
TV Modulator.
And one of the Amstrad manufactured Spectrum +2 machines. These where basically the same machine as the origanal Sinclair Spectrum 128, but the +2 had a built in cassette deck and Sinclair interface 2 compatible Joysticks, though Amstrad in their normal fassion changed to pinouts !

Borrowed from Phill's Sinclair Page
HTML Code:
http://www.aurigae.demon.co.uk/sinclair.html
Allen1 is offline  
Old 10 April 2010, 16:17   #103
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Some good news

I got another +3 cheap and the DivIDE works just fine now so it was my speccy's that were the problem after all

Along with my Tower project I'm going to be very busy this weekend!

And I better spend some time outside in this nice weather
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 10 April 2010, 19:45   #104
Allen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Blyth England
Age: 61
Posts: 721
That's great news Steve, are you going to fit the Divide into a case to support it and keep it stable. I still find it hard to believe how ill thought out some of the add ons were and how wobbly some where when connected, its amazing how so many speccys survived
Allen1 is offline  
Old 10 April 2010, 20:18   #105
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Allen1 View Post
That's great news Steve, are you going to fit the Divide into a case to support it and keep it stable. I still find it hard to believe how ill thought out some of the add ons were and how wobbly some where when connected, its amazing how so many speccys survived
Not sure yet, Its pretty secure though, nice tight fit.

I'm just pleased it works at last

Its a shame the FDD isn't working on the new +3 but its probably just a drive belt

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 10 April 2010, 21:01   #106
Allen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Blyth England
Age: 61
Posts: 721
My belt has also perished and you can hear the motor running for a short while when its checking for a disk. Unless you are going to try and transfer games over to a +3 disk or intend using the drive to load games then it shouldn't be a big problem, you already know how to change the belt when the time comes.

I used to enjoy using the Lerm software package that would allow you to decode all the software protection in the tape loaders and grab the relocated code and save to tape and from tape to +3 disk, that was a whole lifetime ago another part of the package was a program called ghost which allowed the +3 to load the code and then from the screen memory area switch to 48K mode to shift the code to the right address and run the game...... The things we used to do for entertainment
Allen1 is offline  
Old 12 April 2010, 00:22   #107
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,199
Quote:
Originally Posted by Allen1 View Post
My belt has also perished and you can hear the motor running for a short while when its checking for a disk. Unless you are going to try and transfer games over to a +3 disk or intend using the drive to load games then it shouldn't be a big problem, you already know how to change the belt when the time comes.
Hi Allen1,

Have you seen this post?
prowler is offline  
Old 12 April 2010, 10:25   #108
Allen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Blyth England
Age: 61
Posts: 721
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
Hi Allen1,

Have you seen this post?

Hi there prowler,

that's a good price, I was looking at this as the pack is for 5 and there is another for 2. I remember buying a belt to fix someone else's +3 several years ago and it was over a fiver back then for the one I got and a right pain to find one back then.

Thanks for the link, I will probably go the fleabay way though as I already have Paypal but it will probably be a couple of weeks before I buy them, lots of Birthdays at the moment = very little cash

All the best,
Allen

Haha I remembered how to do the linky thing right this time
Allen1 is offline  
Old 01 May 2010, 18:24   #109
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
I totally forgot to update this thread!

Here she is, all up and running with the DivIDE!



fitzsteve is offline  
Old 01 May 2010, 21:56   #110
DonAmiga
Registered User

DonAmiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 518
Hi Steve

I've just been reading through your thread, great stuff I've also been looking on ebay I see someone selling DivIDE for 45 with pp, http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/DIVIDE-MEMORYC...item4ceec866dc

what do you think? If it came with card full of game I may have just got it, but probably best to weight and think it through, also see there's a couple of +3.

Anyway It good to see you've got your up and running with card.

I do have two +2 and two +2A one is a james bond pack. you know what its like you buy 1 from ebay it arrives and not up to scratch so you buy another looking for a good quality machine, Not to much to ask!

Cheer's
DonAmiga is offline  
Old 01 May 2010, 22:41   #111
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Hi,

Thats about the going rate, I think I paid about the same

Mine was a bit fussy with CF cards, only my 1gb Sandisk works with it, I understand Sandisk are the best cards to use. They must be FAT16 (FAT) not FAT32 and the Partition must be 'ACTIVE'

Once you've got that setup its just a case of copying the Roms to the CF card, it takes .z80, .tap, .sna

If you use a TAP file you need to use the Load "" command but its loads instantly and even supports multi load games like outrun, pang, etc where you load each level.

Snapshots load instantly as well, straight from the menu

There is a reset button on the card that brings up the menu to pick the next game, simples.

If you do get one and get stuck give us a shout!

They're a very good piece of kit

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 01 May 2010, 23:08   #112
DonAmiga
Registered User

DonAmiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 518
Hi Steve

going to get one, I'll leave it till Monday, I've been looking for sandisk, keep it to 1gb, ye

Cheer's
DonAmiga is offline  
Old 02 May 2010, 00:36   #113
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonAmiga View Post
Hi Steve

going to get one, I'll leave it till Monday, I've been looking for sandisk, keep it to 1gb, ye

Cheer's
Sounds like you've got the upgrade bug like me
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 02 May 2010, 22:07   #114
DonAmiga
Registered User

DonAmiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 518
Just got it today,couldn't wait till Monday, not many left

will give you a shout
DonAmiga is offline  
Old 02 May 2010, 22:54   #115
Anemos
70X7
Anemos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ἑλλάς
Posts: 1,072
A Video dedicate to Horace friend.. [ Show youtube player ]
Anemos is offline  
Old 08 May 2010, 22:40   #116
DonAmiga
Registered User

DonAmiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 518
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
Hi Steve,

Here's a link to SamDisk 2.0
http://simonowen.com/samdisk/
Hi Steve, Got my DivIDE kit to day would the link about be my first step. download and format card, to fat16 ?

Cheers
DonAmiga is offline  
Old 15 May 2010, 16:24   #117
Allen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Blyth England
Age: 61
Posts: 721
Haha, I just replaced the belt on my +3 and loaded a few disks and it was brill. The best thing is, is that I only ordered the belts of fleabay yesterday afternoon and they arrived this morning, now that is really good, this seller also left feedback for me yesterday and sent me an email with a PDF file on how to replace the drive. I think I have seen retrocomputershack mentioned here before but this is the first time I have dealt with them and I think I will be going back for a +3 scart lead and maybe one for my 128 when I have a few more pennies
Allen1 is offline  
Old 15 May 2010, 20:47   #118
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Allen1 View Post
Haha, I just replaced the belt on my +3 and loaded a few disks and it was brill. The best thing is, is that I only ordered the belts of fleabay yesterday afternoon and they arrived this morning, now that is really good, this seller also left feedback for me yesterday and sent me an email with a PDF file on how to replace the drive. I think I have seen retrocomputershack mentioned here before but this is the first time I have dealt with them and I think I will be going back for a +3 scart lead and maybe one for my 128 when I have a few more pennies
If you have a spare belt, may I have one please
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 15 May 2010, 21:05   #119
Allen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Blyth England
Age: 61
Posts: 721
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
If you have a spare belt, may I have one please
No problem Steve, I bought 2 and I doubt if I will need to change the belt again for a very long time so its better than going to waste. Will you PM me your address and I will post it out to you OK.

Steve,

I just sent you that PDF file via email so if you wish you could just send your address the same way OK.

All the best,
Allen

Last edited by Allen1; 15 May 2010 at 22:12.
Allen1 is offline  
Old 15 May 2010, 22:12   #120
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Allen1 View Post
No problem Steve, I bought 2 and I doubt if I will need to change the belt again for a very long time so its better than going to waste. Will you PM me your address and I will post it out to you OK.
Oh, it sounded like you bought 'Loads' lol, you best keep one as a spare

I'll grab a couple from the site you mentioned.

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
backing up Arkanoid boing_1000 support.Apps 61 29 July 2008 18:30
Stuff for sale (520STFM,A500+,A600,A1200,CPC128,modded SNES,Speccy games) DrF MarketPlace 8 10 December 2007 01:41
Backing up games with copy protection VermillioN support.Games 2 06 November 2006 12:34
Backing up an Amiga HD Galaxy support.Apps 8 13 September 2004 10:10
Speccy games.. Djay request.Old Rare Games 5 29 January 2003 03:15

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.28640 seconds with 12 queries