English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 February 2010, 13:22   #21
Anemos
70X7
Anemos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ἑλλάς
Posts: 1,072
Quote:
Originally Posted by Allen1 View Post
@Anemos,

but do you need to have a disk in the drive when you boot the +3. .
eh? if understand good..my +3 booting normal with "or" with out disk in side to drive..(in menu,tape load,basic ect..) normal as like 3" so.. no problem
Anemos is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 25 February 2010, 14:14   #22
Allen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Blyth England
Age: 61
Posts: 721
@Anemos,

when I had my external 3 1/2" drive connected, I could boot the +3 and use the internal drive as normal, if I didn't have a disk in the external drive when I switched on the +3 then it would not be seen by the computer. Maybe the 2 links on the cable you have used bypass the detection problem that I experienced. I lost quite a few games that I had backed up on the 3 1/2" disks due to the need to have a disk in the drive when I switched on the +3.
Allen1 is offline  
Old 25 February 2010, 14:44   #23
Anemos
70X7
Anemos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ἑλλάς
Posts: 1,072
Hi again Allen1
yep this is my cable mod (different "jumping" as from cpcmania ),maybe happen that you say..
one more guys..
careful for 12v ZX drive plug ,must be change reverse the cables in to the plug if you take the power from ZX.

Edit: support PC drives testing by my self and working well..
Samsung SFD-321B
NEC-FD1231H
Anemos is offline  
Old 25 February 2010, 15:04   #24
_ThEcRoW
Amiga Geek
_ThEcRoW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Spain
Age: 38
Posts: 904
Take care if you want to connect a 3" disk to a pc, as the power connector is inverted and you could fry your drive.
_ThEcRoW is offline  
Old 26 February 2010, 11:48   #25
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Would I be able to connect this to a PC to write back the Disk Images?

Thanks,

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 26 February 2010, 15:55   #26
Allen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Blyth England
Age: 61
Posts: 721
Steve,

here is an interesting link, the drive you mention looks similar to the drive that is in this enclosure.


Allen1 is offline  
Old 26 February 2010, 16:11   #27
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Allen1 View Post
Steve,

here is an interesting link, the drive you mention looks similar to the drive that is in this enclosure.


Thanks Allan
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 26 February 2010, 16:42   #28
Allen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Blyth England
Age: 61
Posts: 721
No problem Steve,

all you need are a couple of male connectors and a bit of vero board. Most of those connections are in line which makes the wiring much simpler.
Allen1 is offline  
Old 26 February 2010, 18:51   #29
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
I've got my spectrum down from the loft

I'll pluck up some courage to try it out later. Its looking a bit old LOL...

Also found some bonus items in the loft

The controls cover for my 1084 monitor & a spare A1200 floppy drive
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 26 February 2010, 20:05   #30
xc8
no c= no fun
xc8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anemos View Post
...
[/B]Warning combination floppy ZX +3 and Divide is not proposed.
If you want to work on floppy disks ZX best to unplug the Divide.
There is a similar issue in the Spectrum forum,but not remember where is..plz ask there
Never had problems with the +3(e) with the DivIDE and external 3.5 drive...
Maybe because I put the +3e EPROM..


BTW, the only problem I had is when I tried to put the 3.5 as internal, connected with the internal cable via this custom adaptor, but in that case the 3.5' must be hacked a lot...


Chris
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	P1070805.JPG
Views:	251
Size:	354.5 KB
ID:	24380  
xc8 is offline  
Old 26 February 2010, 21:46   #31
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
It Lives!

:d

Last edited by fitzsteve; 27 April 2015 at 23:47.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 26 February 2010, 22:30   #32
Anemos
70X7
Anemos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ἑλλάς
Posts: 1,072
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
:d
nice!
Anemos is offline  
Old 26 February 2010, 23:03   #33
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anemos View Post
nice!
Thanks

Disk drive still works

But the joystick ports and audio in seem to be knackered

I've got a Kemston Interface in the loft i'll try that tomorrow.

Think I might go for a cheap divide if one crops up
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 26 February 2010, 23:39   #34
Allen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Blyth England
Age: 61
Posts: 721
Steve,

are you using your Amiga joystick? the speccy interface is different, remember the joysticks with 2 cables on them. I think the grey cable is used for the spectrum but its been a while since I used mine so I may be wrong.

remember that the audio in/out uses a 3.5 stereo plug one was a mono plug and the other stereo if I recall correctly.
Allen1 is offline  
Old 26 February 2010, 23:50   #35
Anemos
70X7
Anemos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ἑλλάς
Posts: 1,072
use Atari joystick or similar working well..
i have make one pad for my ZX+3 also from a cheap gamepad 9pin

you can use this adapter to use this joy also..(Competition Pro)

Anemos is offline  
Old 27 February 2010, 00:12   #36
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Allen1 View Post
Steve,

are you using your Amiga joystick? the speccy interface is different, remember the joysticks with 2 cables on them. I think the grey cable is used for the spectrum but its been a while since I used mine so I may be wrong.

remember that the audio in/out uses a 3.5 stereo plug one was a mono plug and the other stereo if I recall correctly.
I got the right cable now and itsworking, just loaded a few tap files (converted to WAV) from the PC

Grabbed my Kemston Interface and just waiting for Mr Wino to Load

The Amiga Joystick has a selector for the type of system you're using it on but the selection for 'amstrad' didnt seem to work, again susspect its the ports.

No Idea what happened to my old Speccy joysticks, just trying another Joystick now...
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 27 February 2010, 00:24   #37
Allen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Blyth England
Age: 61
Posts: 721
Apart from treasure Island dizzy and a few other games on the speccy my absolute favourite ones were the games that you had to collect gems in them sort of boulderdash games. Another favourite was a competition winners entry called tiles or majong or something similar, the same game or very similar is included in Vista and Windows 7, half the time I couldn't get on the speccy as the wife also liked that game too.

Have fun
Allen1 is offline  
Old 27 February 2010, 00:29   #38
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,868
If you've never played "Deviants" by Players then get going now!! The best platformer, 3'rd person shooter, puzzle game ever.

To be enjoyable you need to mathematically work out the defuse sequence ASAP and write it down so the bombs become easy.
alexh is offline  
Old 27 February 2010, 00:53   #39
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
I'll try that one tomorrow Alexh...

Its been like the old days, 'tape loading errors' lol

I remember now my father in law soldered the audio input jack back on for me years ago becuase it snapped off, I don't think its getting a very clear input.

Although I was able to play Way of the Exploading Fist

I found a Cruiser Joystick and thats working through the Kemston Interface...

Think I'll have to get a Divide
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 27 February 2010, 01:35   #40
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,868
The best value (i.e. free) thing for any spectrum is OTLA.

An amazing bit of mathematics and software programming which works out the maximum bitrate possible for Spectrum audio input. Combined with an MP3 player you can re-record all your tapes as high speed as MP3's so they only take a fraction of the time to load. No errors.

[ Show youtube player ]

A 5 128Mbyte MP3 player from the Supermarket can store almost all Spectrum titles. Also if you google you can find someone has converted almost all titles to OTLA MP3's already
alexh is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
backing up Arkanoid boing_1000 support.Apps 61 29 July 2008 18:30
Stuff for sale (520STFM,A500+,A600,A1200,CPC128,modded SNES,Speccy games) DrF MarketPlace 8 10 December 2007 01:41
Backing up games with copy protection VermillioN support.Games 2 06 November 2006 12:34
Backing up an Amiga HD Galaxy support.Apps 8 13 September 2004 10:10
Speccy games.. Djay request.Old Rare Games 5 29 January 2003 03:15

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.33356 seconds with 12 queries