English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 February 2010, 13:03   #21
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 44
Posts: 2,289
i am a dream....

an new indivision AGA with a integrated chunky mode

Last edited by CFOU!; 25 February 2010 at 20:15.
CFOU! is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 25 February 2010, 13:17   #22
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
Surely all the Indivisions have nice hires chunky modes already. I'd like to see just an adapter to a semi-modern gfxcard with support for a few scandoubled legacy bitmap modes. Something with a GPU fcol
Photon is offline  
Old 25 February 2010, 14:26   #23
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon
1) Another Indivision, but with pAUERFULL gfxcard
I so wished they had done that for the Indivision AGA A4000. Made it use a Zorro III video card slot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon
2) Accelerator, either some generic fast 68010 (or possibly higher) core in a grid array, or non Motorola (wth for?)
They'd have to beat the performance of a 66MHz 060 for it to be truly viable. I don't see how they can do that, maintain compatibility and make it economically viable.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon
3) Ethernet or USB adapt0r.
Unlikely as you can still buy both for A3000/A4000

Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon View Post
I'd like to see just an adapter to a semi-modern gfxcard with support for a few scandoubled legacy bitmap modes. Something with a GPU
You can already do this by going down the Zorro III -> PCI bridge route.
alexh is offline  
Old 25 February 2010, 19:47   #24
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
I meant like something you can buy off the shelf that can run [shader or whatever] code on the GPU, loaded with OpenGL - there might be something like that for PCI, I guess; dunno what is available. Offload the CPU. Now we're talking about an upgrade!! (At least potential upgrade, as with all things it needs software/OS support.)

I guess the accelerator would have to be close to 68040@25 performance for it to sell well - 'run > OS3.1 well' - even though I'm not into that, a large part of the target audience could be.

Ethernet/USB: well I didn't check availability. That's not it then, unless there are some extra features/new slant.
Photon is offline  
Old 25 February 2010, 20:28   #25
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
it be just my luck if they bring out a cheapish acc for the 4000 when Im in the process of gettin an a3640
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 25 February 2010, 21:39   #26
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
Yeah, but any new accelerator will never be as cheap as a used one. So no reason to hold back cosmicfrog
Photon is offline  
Old 26 February 2010, 00:34   #27
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 51
Posts: 3,481
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
A new Mediator-like AGP or PCI-e slot to use AGP/PCI-e graphics cards, mixed with a built-in RAM expansion.

Can be a replacement daughter card, like the 4000Di.

Dream on, rkauer, dream on.
rkauer is offline  
Old 26 February 2010, 01:31   #28
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon View Post
I meant like something you can buy off the shelf that can run [shader or whatever] code on the GPU, loaded with OpenGL - there might be something like that for PCI, I guess; dunno what is available.
Whilst there are no drivers for the Amiga you can get PCI cards upto the last generation of 3D cards. I think that Nvidia G-Force 9500GT was the fastest.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon View Post
I guess the accelerator would have to be close to 68040@25 performance for it to sell well
Do you not think that market is very small? I imagine almost all A3000/A4000 owners who ever truly wanted an 040 already has one. A3640 cards are ultra cheap coming in at under €35. Apollo 4040 cards can be bought for under €100.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon View Post
any new accelerator will never be as cheap as a used one.
Exactly. I would have thought to get a large enough market to make it economically viable you would have to go beyond the capability of all existing 680x0 accelerators. Making all A3000/A4000 owners potential buyers. Or maybe not?

Last edited by alexh; 26 February 2010 at 01:41.
alexh is offline  
Old 26 February 2010, 02:31   #29
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
Well, I just saw the minimum performance (to make them sellable) at 'OS3.9 enabling' rather than 'faster than any software requirements out there'. But ofc faster is better

I think we agree generally.

Whatever it is, it would naturally be something that fits A3000 and A4000D, but can't be put in any other Amiga model. So a slot card/adapter or Mediator-like thingy - or a chip clip/on gizmo that only works in those two. Aimed at modern uses, such as interfacing with modern hardware (flatscreen, storage, modern looking case) or enabling modern software (err... OS3.9+/browsers?)
Photon is offline  
Old 26 February 2010, 03:07   #30
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Watch it turn out to be something totally lame, like a replacement power button or something.
alexh is offline  
Old 26 February 2010, 05:00   #31
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by CFOU! View Post
i am a dream....

an new indivision AGA with a integrated chunky mode
This is what I'm crossing my fingers for, it seems that they are doing some cool things with the IndivisionECS using it's replacement chip and I'm jealous.

I guess the problem with the piggy-back approach is that it's impossible to replace the Lisa with an FPGA, IndivisionECS style?
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 26 February 2010, 10:44   #32
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,358
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Watch it turn out to be something totally lame, like a replacement power button or something.
Exactly. Don't get your hopes up by speculating too much, you guys.
Jope is offline  
Old 19 March 2010, 00:53   #33
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,709
We are almost ready to announce this new project. It has been many months of development time and the last few details are being addressed..
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 19 March 2010, 01:01   #34
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
wohoo!
Photon is offline  
Old 19 March 2010, 17:58   #35
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 44
Posts: 2,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigakit.com View Post
We are almost ready to announce this new project. It has been many months of development time and the last few details are being addressed..
great!!!
CFOU! is offline  
Old 20 March 2010, 00:10   #36
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
If you want sales this month don't leave it more than a day after pay day (a week on Wednesday)
alexh is offline  
Old 20 March 2010, 07:23   #37
Brosol
Brosol
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 85
I hope its a 250-300 watt A3000 compatible power supply.
Brosol is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Indivision Aga mk II droopy support.Hardware 6 02 August 2013 13:27
[WTB] Indivision AGA (for CD32/4000) + Indivision ECS Seaside MarketPlace 3 15 March 2012 23:03
Trading my Indivision AGA for an Indivision ECS 8bitbubsy Swapshop 3 12 May 2011 00:02
Indivision AGA lost_lemming MarketPlace 4 11 February 2011 11:36
FS: Indivision AGA mr.niceguy MarketPlace 19 25 April 2010 15:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20388 seconds with 11 queries