English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 February 2010, 17:01   #1
Washac
Junior Member
Washac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: UK Southern End
Posts: 479
Re-Install ?

Hi All


OK, I have dug out an old 1200, it works

I do not want or need have the stuff on it, so what I would like to do is re-install
Workbench V3 on its HD.

The HD has two partitions, DH0: and DH1:

I will just clear DH1:

What I need is a guide to how I reinstall Workbench on DH0: so it all boots from there ?

I used to be able to do this basic stuff with my eyes closed many years ago, but its all
gotten lost in the darkest recesses of my mind.....

Thanks for reading.....
Washac is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 08 February 2010, 17:33   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,527
1. make a backup. Just for the case that you later notice that there is some software or some driver on the partition which you still need although you thought you wouldn't.
2. put the Install3.1 disk into DF0 and reset the computer.
3. when Workbench has loaded from floppy, select the DH0 icon and choose "format disk" from the menu. Enter a volume name, probably the same as it currently has and click on Quick. Now it's empty. It still boots, but it will only show you an empty DOS window.
4. open the Install3.1 icon, the Install drawer and double click your preferred language.
0. make sure that all your floppy disks are write protected. Never remove the write protection from an original disk. If it asks you to do so, you did something wrong before. You never need to write to the floppy disks during installation.
5. when asked for your skill, select advanced or expert. Never ever select Novice !!!
6. when asked where to install to, select the DH0 partition.
7. follow the onscreen instructions.
thomas is offline  
Old 08 February 2010, 20:53   #3
Washac
Junior Member
Washac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: UK Southern End
Posts: 479
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
1. make a backup. Just for the case that you later notice that there is some software or some driver on the partition which you still need although you thought you wouldn't.
2. put the Install3.1 disk into DF0 and reset the computer.
3. when Workbench has loaded from floppy, select the DH0 icon and choose "format disk" from the menu. Enter a volume name, probably the same as it currently has and click on Quick. Now it's empty. It still boots, but it will only show you an empty DOS window.
4. open the Install3.1 icon, the Install drawer and double click your preferred language.
0. make sure that all your floppy disks are write protected. Never remove the write protection from an original disk. If it asks you to do so, you did something wrong before. You never need to write to the floppy disks during installation.
5. when asked for your skill, select advanced or expert. Never ever select Novice !!!
6. when asked where to install to, select the DH0 partition.
7. follow the onscreen instructions.
Hi Ya


Many thanks for the reminders, worked a treat.
Washac is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Install Champions_2002 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 1 17 August 2006 15:09
how to do a WB Install parabolee New to Emulation or Amiga scene 9 15 July 2005 04:11
How to install something on HD? S. Campbell support.WinUAE 9 07 September 2004 22:47
How do i install a HD? Reppyboyo support.Hardware 3 05 April 2003 11:35
Wb install stainy support.WinUAE 2 22 December 2001 00:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.17617 seconds with 11 queries