English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 January 2010, 08:37   #1
ami_junkie
 
Posts: n/a
Lightwave 3D

Hi guys, I am doing a promo video for one of my tracks, it is a hardcore breaks/old skool hardcore video, as such I am doing the graphics on my Amiga to get that real old skool feel, been using Adorage and Scala MM300 but I also want to use Lightwave 3D, I found some ADFs of version 3.5 but when I try to install it I always get an error of it not being able to edit the start-up sequence and then it aborts the install. I have an Amiga 1200/030 with Classic WB installed. Any suggestions?
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 26 January 2010, 10:06   #2
Angus
Amiga Games Database
Angus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: South West England
Posts: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by ami_junkie View Post
Hi guys, I am doing a promo video for one of my tracks, it is a hardcore breaks/old skool hardcore video, as such I am doing the graphics on my Amiga to get that real old skool feel, been using Adorage and Scala MM300 but I also want to use Lightwave 3D, I found some ADFs of version 3.5 but when I try to install it I always get an error of it not being able to edit the start-up sequence and then it aborts the install. I have an Amiga 1200/030 with Classic WB installed. Any suggestions?
This might be a bit of a wacky idea, but you don't have an anti-virus program running that detects anything trying to change the startup-sequence, do you?
Angus is offline  
Old 26 January 2010, 10:11   #3
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,528
Quote:
Originally Posted by ami_junkie View Post
I always get an error of it not being able to edit the start-up sequence and then it aborts the install.
Maybe your startup-sequence is write protected? Type "protect s:startup-sequence rwed" in a shell and see if if that helps.
StingRay is offline  
Old 27 January 2010, 03:31   #4
ami_junkie
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks guys, I tried the above but still got an error, it says there is a problem with the startup-sequence. Then aborts the install
 
Old 27 January 2010, 16:17   #5
Angus
Amiga Games Database
Angus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: South West England
Posts: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by ami_junkie View Post
Thanks guys, I tried the above but still got an error, it says there is a problem with the startup-sequence. Then aborts the install

It might be worth carefully renaming your startup-sequence and then dropping another one into your S: directory that is pretty much straight off the workbench disk.

I'm just thinking there maybe something in yours that it doesn't like, and/or possibly a vanilla startup might bypass some other conflict.

Another thought - running snoopdos during the install might be worthwhile.
Angus is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lightwave 3D NeonBible support.Apps 8 04 November 2009 04:04
Lightwave 3D V4 or 5 joeksterz request.Apps 19 21 June 2009 18:35
lightwave 3d webhead request.Apps 8 04 September 2007 14:19
Lightwave the2 request.Apps 11 15 June 2007 22:29
Lightwave Washac request.Apps 12 15 July 2002 14:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.11292 seconds with 11 queries