English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 January 2010, 00:15   #21
Paul_s
needs more ice cream

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 39
Posts: 3,161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rebel-CD32 View Post
Unless someone out there makes a cheap 8/5.5MB/RTC RAM expansion card (preferably with automatic or software switchable 8MB or 5.5MB modes for PCMCIA usage) for the A1200 some time soon, the supply of available second hand RAM and accelerator cards is going to dry up and prices will continue to skyrocket.
Elbox do several ram/rtc options for the 1200;

http://www.buy.elbox.com/cgibin/shop?info=610E1208
http://www.buy.elbox.com/cgibin/shop?info=620E1204

You're probably paying 1994 prices for them though
Paul_s is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 26 January 2010, 00:15   #22
Rebel-CD32
Amiga will never die!
Rebel-CD32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 516
Send a message via MSN to Rebel-CD32
Paul_S, the Natami should do everything we want from an enhanced 68k Amiga system with all the bugs ironed out. They've already signed up several games developers so it'll have brand new, enhanced games ready to play on it as soon as it's released, unlike Hyperion's X1000 which will most likely arrive with nothing but an OS and the same few basic OS4 aps that are available now.

There's also the CloneA, which is kinda a similar thing but sticking more to the original chipset design without major enhancements.
Rebel-CD32 is offline  
Old 26 January 2010, 00:19   #23
Paul_s
needs more ice cream

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 39
Posts: 3,161
I do hope that is true! The Hyperion X1000 is just going to be an overpriced flop... at least things may come to fruitation this year and not two more bloody weeks!
Paul_s is offline  
Old 26 January 2010, 00:25   #24
Rebel-CD32
Amiga will never die!
Rebel-CD32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 516
Send a message via MSN to Rebel-CD32
Paul_S, I forgot about those Elbox expansions. I wonder how they compare to the DKB 1202 (the best RAM card for A1200 in my opinion). They both have FPUs, Real-Time Clock and the option for up to 8MB, but I wonder if the Elbox model is PCMCIA slot compatible. By using two 4MB SIMMs, the 1202 (using a small software patch in the Startup-Sequence) can detect if the PCMCIA slot is in use, and allocate only 1.5MB from the second SIMM, as well as the full 4MB from the first, giving you the maximum available RAM for a 020 with the PCMCIA slot in use. From a few comments I've read, the Elbox model isn't compatible with the PCMCIA slot at all, and needs to have a jumper set to disable it to work properly. I'd hope there's a way around this.
Rebel-CD32 is offline  
Old 26 January 2010, 00:30   #25
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rebel-CD32 View Post
Paul_S, I forgot about those Elbox expansions. I wonder how they compare to the DKB 1202 (the best RAM card for A1200 opinion). They both have FPUs, Real-Time Clock and the option for up to 8MB, but I wonder if the Elbox model is PCMCIA slot compatible. By using two 4MB SIMMs, the 1202 (using a small software patch in the Startup-Sequence) can detect if the PCMCIA slot is in use, and allocate only 1.5MB from the second SIMM, as well as the full 4MB from the first, giving you the maximum available RAM for a 020 with the PCMCIA slot in use. From a few comments I've read, the Elbox model isn't compatible with the PCMCIA slot at all, and needs to have a jumper set to disable it to work properly. I'd hope there's a way around this.
I had an Elbox 1200/8, this was in my Amiga 8-10 years ago. After leaving it in storage for 5 years the battery leaked and killed it so I never got to find out if it was PCMCIA friendly but it did have jumpers for 2/4/8mb ram, and I think this was to set the ram to those amounts as the damaged area of the board was near the jumpers and it was stuck reporting 2mb (8mb simm in there) and crashing
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 26 January 2010, 00:50   #26
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,880
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
I never got to find out if it [Elbox 1200/8] was PCMCIA friendly
It cannot be PCMCIA friendly as it is just a RAM card.

RAM cards cannot be PCMCIA friendly above 4Mbytes (In theory they can go to 5.5Mbytes but they never do). It is a limitation of the A1200's 68EC020 CPU only having a 24-bit address bus.

Only accelerators with a CPU which has a 32-bit address bus can be PCMCIA friendly above 4Mbytes.
alexh is offline  
Old 26 January 2010, 08:02   #27
jimbob005
Registered User
jimbob005's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: swadlincote, uk
Age: 37
Posts: 226
Send a message via MSN to jimbob005
Dreedo i may get rid of my boxed a1200 with an 8mb card in it but i was going to change the caps first and i probley be about 6 weeks befor iv done it. it will have and 1gb cf hdd in side too ..

if you are still lookin in 6 weeks or so i will pm you where in the uk are you?

james
jimbob005 is offline  
Old 26 January 2010, 08:07   #28
jimbob005
Registered User
jimbob005's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: swadlincote, uk
Age: 37
Posts: 226
Send a message via MSN to jimbob005
i also would go for an a1200 and get an cf pcmcia card for whd load (run games from the hdd ) and adf blitzer to pop .adf's back to disks #

are you going to be useing it for games?
jimbob005 is offline  
Old 26 January 2010, 14:15   #29
Dreedo
Registered User
Dreedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 24
Posts: 654
Yes i probably will be using it for games mainly, i dont know what else i'd use it for really. :P

Im not entirely sure my parents would agree with me purchasing from someone on a forum though, its not the most reliable way to do things. (I'm 16 by the way.)

If however you were able to add it to the amazon marketplace i would be probably allowed to buy it from their, what kind of price were you thinking of?
Dreedo is offline  
Old 26 January 2010, 17:06   #30
jimbob005
Registered User
jimbob005's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: swadlincote, uk
Age: 37
Posts: 226
Send a message via MSN to jimbob005
dreedo where in the uk are you?
jimbob005 is offline  
Old 26 January 2010, 22:19   #31
Dreedo
Registered User
Dreedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 24
Posts: 654
Yorkshire area.
Dreedo is offline  
Old 27 January 2010, 11:09   #32
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 30
Posts: 10,932
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreedo View Post
Im not entirely sure my parents would agree with me purchasing from someone on a forum though, its not the most reliable way to do things. (I'm 16 by the way.)
I cannot imagine you'd have a problem, the majority of people on here are very reliable, you might want to check the User Feedback Thread.
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 27 January 2010, 11:11   #33
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
not the most reliable way hehehehe least here you have the chance to get to know the person first and ask other ppl questions
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 27 January 2010, 11:20   #34
Dreedo
Registered User
Dreedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 24
Posts: 654
Indeed but as i understand there is no way to get a refund if someone scams you? Sites like Amazon and Ebay force the seller to refund you.

Besides i dont actually have enough cash to purchase one for a long time yet, all my money is in amazon gift certificates.
Dreedo is offline  
Old 27 January 2010, 14:11   #35
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
if you are unsure about anyone just ask (at the risk of starting a flame war)
most of the unwanted types have been filtered out but as you say with any private purchase there may be no refund if it all goes wrong saying that we have the feed back thread here which should give you an idea of the person you are dealing with

you also want to check out amibay great place with great ppl
http://amibay.com/index.php?sid=5ef8...44b8e4b8471889

as ever buyer beware & good luck with your search
if it was me I`d aspire to an a1200 but I might stll keep an eye out for a cheap a500 <10 or a cheap 600 but both a 500 & 600 become very expensive if you want to upgrade them
in the mean time fire up WinUEA and get familiar with that
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 27 January 2010, 18:40   #36
Dreedo
Registered User
Dreedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 24
Posts: 654
I would buy, but as i said i cant really do anything unless its on the amazon marketplace, i dont get enough money to buy a 1200.
Dreedo is offline  
Old 27 January 2010, 21:48   #37
Lorfarius
Registered User
Lorfarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Glossop/UK
Posts: 263
You need a fair amount to really get an Amiga. Even with the basic setup you will still need to buy lots of disk games I reckon around 50 just be a good amount to spend fo ra basic 1200 setup.

Sounds like you are really struggling so go for a much cheaper A5/600 be easy to get lots of games.

Last edited by Lorfarius; 27 January 2010 at 22:02.
Lorfarius is offline  
Old 27 January 2010, 22:18   #38
Dreedo
Registered User
Dreedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 24
Posts: 654
Well everyone seems to favour the A500 over the A600, any reason why?

So im guessing a normal 500/600 setup is like 30 or so? Considering a 1200 is 50 and they're cheaper.

Its so annoying amazon isnt like ebay, ebay sells quite a few amiga items, 2,000 amiga games/systems on there at the moment.

As i rely on pocket money rather than a job wage, i dont usually have much money free, so i get amazon gift certificates from reward sites.
Dreedo is offline  
Old 27 January 2010, 22:32   #39
ck1200
CBM & Retro Mad
ck1200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: North Wales/Wirral Uk
Age: 35
Posts: 611
Send a message via MSN to ck1200 Send a message via Yahoo to ck1200
The 500/500+ are still great computers and yeah as you said there that bit cheaper to buy, it really depends what you want the system for the A1200 is certainly the most upgradeable followed by the 600,

if it's mainly games usage then I’d suggest an a500+ to start prob the cheapest one to get (i purchased one in excellent condition for a tenner

although i think there where a couple of revisions to the 500+ board ?, i'm able to play most 500 games on it apart from a select few that 100% just refuse to work even with relokick
ck1200 is offline  
Old 27 January 2010, 22:33   #40
Lorfarius
Registered User
Lorfarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Glossop/UK
Posts: 263
Numeric pad I presume. I've always liked the A600 and its down to personal taste.
Lorfarius is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building PS2 to Amiga mouse adapter Johan1973 support.Hardware 46 15 January 2013 12:56
Building a compact and usable oldskool Amiga - A600+LCD TV+CF? Photon support.Hardware 36 22 July 2009 19:52
Building a 1200 from a 500 Scatter support.Hardware 22 28 August 2008 22:04
Building me a new Amiga StarEye support.Hardware 12 02 April 2008 20:01
Noob needs help building an Amiga sgt_chimp Amiga scene 5 03 December 2001 19:32

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.37894 seconds with 12 queries