English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 January 2010, 23:00   #1
dave4shmups
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Posts: 72
Is the Amiga CDTV region-free, with regards to games?..

I'm curious about this, because, unlike the CD32, the CDTV was released here in the States.
dave4shmups is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 January 2010, 13:42   #2
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,284
Yes, there is no 'region protection'. However, you might run into the usual trouble of PAL software having the bottom chopped off on an NTSC display on some titles if they use all 256 lines of display.
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 24 January 2010, 16:03   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,681
At least one game is region locked (Murder Makes Strange Deadfellows does not run on PAL mode) Perhaps the only region locked CDTV game..
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 25 January 2010, 01:57   #4
dave4shmups
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Posts: 72
Thanks for that info! So, I know that the CDTV plays CD32 games-is there some kind of mouse trick that you could do on the CDTV to play CD32 games on an NTSC TV?
dave4shmups is offline  
Old 25 January 2010, 03:49   #5
asm1
Registered User
asm1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Age: 37
Posts: 637
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave4shmups View Post
Thanks for that info! So, I know that the CDTV plays CD32 games-is there some kind of mouse trick that you could do on the CDTV to play CD32 games on an NTSC TV?

Hold up... the CDTV can't play CD32 games ( they require the AGA chipset which isn't available on a CDTV)

The CD32 WILL play CDTV games, just not the other way around.

Its a bit like trying to play A1200/A4000 AGA enhanced games on an A500 - the chipset isnt there so it wont happen.

Sorry
asm1 is offline  
Old 25 January 2010, 19:41   #6
dave4shmups
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by asm1 View Post
Hold up... the CDTV can't play CD32 games ( they require the AGA chipset which isn't available on a CDTV)

The CD32 WILL play CDTV games, just not the other way around.

Its a bit like trying to play A1200/A4000 AGA enhanced games on an A500 - the chipset isnt there so it wont happen.

Sorry
OK, thanks for that info; I had it backwards. So, with the CDTV, can you add on any disk drives to "turn" it into an Amiga 500 (which, AFIK, it basically is)? I don't know if there's any ports for that on the back.
dave4shmups is offline  
Old 25 January 2010, 23:48   #7
Paul_s
needs more ice cream

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 39
Posts: 3,161
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave4shmups View Post
OK, thanks for that info; I had it backwards. So, with the CDTV, can you add on any disk drives to "turn" it into an Amiga 500 (which, AFIK, it basically is)? I don't know if there's any ports for that on the back.
Yep, you can add diskdrives/keyboard/monitor/serial (modem) /parallel (printers) et al to turn it into a fully fledged A500 - a luxury one at that.

The CDTV has more expandability from stock than the later CD32 in that department. With the CD32 you had to buy something like the SX-1 to even get the disk drive ports etc.

The CDTV though was more of a multimedia machine than a games console. Better build quality too than the flimsy plastic that the CD32 came in
Paul_s is offline  
Old 26 January 2010, 00:17   #8
Dizzy
Pirate
Dizzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,400
I even got a switch in my cdtv, so I can turn off the cd drive, and then it is a fully functional a500

As paul_s say the cdtv is more sexy than the cheap looking cd32
Dizzy is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Free boxed amiga games syd Swapshop 16 27 October 2014 02:05
Mega CD loading region free bios with Everdrive MD fitzsteve Retrogaming General Discussion 2 15 November 2012 14:27
Free Amiga Games IanC MarketPlace 13 05 January 2011 13:10
Turrican II (USA AMIGA region) playable on EURO/PAL AMIGA1200? ST Dragon Retrogaming General Discussion 1 04 February 2006 23:44
How come amiga games are now free?? etheridge Amiga scene 2 15 May 2002 06:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.15157 seconds with 11 queries