English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 January 2010, 11:40   #1
Lorfarius
Registered User
Lorfarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Glossop/UK
Posts: 263
SRAM Question

Anyone know if one of these will work in an A600:

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...:X:RTQ:GB:1123
Lorfarius is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 20 January 2010, 12:23   #2
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,879
While I do not own one they specs say they are type 1 or type 2 PCMCIA PC-Card SRAM which do work in A600/A1200.

100 for 4 (25 each) is a reasonable price too, and I see he's selling two more lots
alexh is offline  
Old 20 January 2010, 12:26   #3
Lorfarius
Registered User
Lorfarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Glossop/UK
Posts: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
While I do not own one they specs say they are type 1 or type 2 PCMCIA PC-Card SRAM which do work in A600/A1200.

100 for 4 (25 each) is a reasonable price too, and I see he's selling two more lots
Thanks I've just contacted him and he's agreed to sell me one at 25 and is planning to split them into seperate auctions. All this just to get ATrain working in high resolution mode
Lorfarius is offline  
Old 20 January 2010, 13:57   #4
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Nice find
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 20 January 2010, 21:11   #5
Cammy
Registered User
Cammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Age: 32
Posts: 1,134
Bummer, he only posts to UK

I'd grab one of those in a second if I could, great find Lorfarius.

Last edited by Cammy; 25 February 2010 at 18:40.
Cammy is offline  
Old 21 January 2010, 02:19   #6
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,203
Hi Cammy,

I have also contacted the seller through my eBay account asking whether he is prepared to sell the cards individually (no answer yet). Would you like me to buy one on your behalf if he makes it possible for me to do so?
prowler is offline  
Old 21 January 2010, 12:01   #7
Lorfarius
Registered User
Lorfarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Glossop/UK
Posts: 263
He seems to be ignoring my messages now. I suspect he's seen that daft auction at 46 and thinks they are all worth the same.
Lorfarius is offline  
Old 21 January 2010, 12:35   #8
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Lets hit 'buy it now' at 100 and divi up four of them

I'm sure I'll get a 600 eventually so might be worth grabbing one now if thats a good price.

If Cammy is in, we could all paypal Prowler a 25 gift? (If thats ok with you prowler)
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 21 January 2010, 12:39   #9
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,203
Actually, Steve, that might not be a bad idea. I'd take two of them (one for Cammy and one for me ).

I'll just check my eBay first to see if I've got a response...


Edit: No, nothing!
prowler is offline  
Old 21 January 2010, 12:46   #10
Lorfarius
Registered User
Lorfarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Glossop/UK
Posts: 263
When he first replied it was at about this time he replied so give him a bit longer just in case he's at work and can't get online till lunch. I'm umming and aahing a bit now, considering buying an A1200 Been looking at AmigaKits available models.
Lorfarius is offline  
Old 21 January 2010, 12:52   #11
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
...and I see he's selling two more lots
He seems to have only two lots in total (i.e. 8 cards) available now, so maybe he's already sold one lot...

We may have to move fast on this, but I don't want to get stuck with four of them!
prowler is offline  
Old 21 January 2010, 12:53   #12
Lorfarius
Registered User
Lorfarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Glossop/UK
Posts: 263
PM sent Prowler
Lorfarius is offline  
Old 21 January 2010, 12:57   #13
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
@prowler if you go decide to go ahead PM me your paypal and I'll get 25 notes over to you!
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 21 January 2010, 13:08   #14
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,203
Okay, that makes three of us. I only need Cammy to give me the nod and I'll go ahead...

BTW, I've never used one of these devices before. Does anyone know how I could test them quickly in my A1200 when I receive them?
prowler is offline  
Old 21 January 2010, 13:22   #15
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
Okay, that makes three of us. I only need Cammy to give me the nod and I'll go ahead...

BTW, I've never used one of these devices before. Does anyone know how I could test them quickly in my A1200 when I receive them?
I understand you just need to use 'prepcard' to prepare it as ram.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 21 January 2010, 13:55   #16
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,203
Thanks for that, Steve!

Apparently, prepcard is included with WB 2.0+, and I've found two related threads on PCMCIA SRAM cards and prepcard:
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=20656
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=37885

I've got to go now. I'm still a bit concerned that I haven't received a reply from the seller of those cards, but perhaps it's still a bit too early for that.

Maybe this evening, Cammy will have confirmed her interest and we can go ahead regardless.
prowler is offline  
Old 21 January 2010, 14:15   #17
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
He's got 100% feedback so I am sure he is genuine, beside he lives near us Prowler, we can send the heavies round
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 21 January 2010, 14:21   #18
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
He's got 100% feedback so I am sure he is genuine, beside he lives near us Prowler, we can send the heavies round
prowler is offline  
Old 21 January 2010, 14:38   #19
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,203
Okay, I have now received a reply from the seller of the 2MB SRAM cards.

He is willing to sell them individually. Here is the link for the new listing:
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...m=250567299688

@Cammy: Do you wish me to get one for you?
prowler is offline  
Old 21 January 2010, 14:43   #20
Lorfarius
Registered User
Lorfarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Glossop/UK
Posts: 263
He has just replied to me on ebay as well selling them at 26 a time including P+P
Lorfarius is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 meg SRAM card lee t Amiga scene 13 30 July 2012 19:42
Considering getting SRAM for my A600, opinions please. jt5566 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 10 03 November 2011 15:17
SRAM and the CDTV Lorfarius support.Hardware 5 01 March 2010 23:59
FS : PCMCIA SRAM 2mb coze MarketPlace 0 20 February 2007 16:52
Transcend sram cards? Smiley support.Hardware 5 29 January 2007 13:41

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20464 seconds with 11 queries