English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 January 2010, 11:29   #1
Lorfarius
Registered User
Lorfarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Glossop/UK
Posts: 263
More questions! Mouse and Clicking Disk Drive

People are probably getting sick of these now but it can't be helped you guys have helped me out a great deal so far and there's always something new I have to ask So onto the questions!

Mouse - Will any serial mouse work with an Amiga? Despite a good clean and even taking it apart the micro switch on the one that came with my system keeps sticking and refusing to click half the time. Very annoying when you are trying to play a game so I had a look on ebay only to see crazy prices at Ģ15 - Ģ20 a time so I was hoping a cheap PC Serial mouse would do the trick. Any ideas?

Clicking Disk Drive - Playing games from the HD means I don't have FD's in the drives and every few seconds the empty drives click (I assume because the Amiga is checking them). Besides leaving a FD in each drive which can be a pain if you are rebooting repeatedly (I have 3 and its like a chorus ) I was wondering if there was another way to stop this?
Lorfarius is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 19 January 2010, 11:34   #2
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
There is a 'no click app' that you can use to stop the FDD drive click, its pre installed on Classic Workbench, I'm not sure where you get it seperately but someone will be along who knows But at least you know now its possible to stop

I have a spare A1200 style mouse if you want it? A couple of quid + P&P?

Its a little yellow'd and would benefit from a clean but its in good working order.

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 19 January 2010, 11:35   #3
smoorke
Registered User
smoorke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ghent/Belgium
Age: 36
Posts: 247
Send a message via MSN to smoorke
serial mice won't work on an amiga. So you're out of luck there.

There are a miriad of diffrent tools and commodities to stop drive clicking. Try searching aminet for 'noclick'
smoorke is offline  
Old 19 January 2010, 11:39   #4
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,527
Amiga Mouses are not serial. The port is 9-pin Sub-D, but not serial. It's an Atari-like joystick port with one pin per direction and button. No protocol used and no data transferred.

You can build an Amiga mouse from a serial one by removing all electronics and connecting the wires directly to the sensors and switches. Instructions: http://aminet.net/package/docs/hard/my_pc_mouse

Regarding floppy drives, there are thousands of NoClick programs on Aminet. I cannot recommend one because I wrote my own.
thomas is offline  
Old 19 January 2010, 11:44   #5
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,651
http://www.efunzine.com/efnz.php?a=p...30043436c7bb6a used Amiga mouse for 7 EUR (I have one from this shop)
s2325 is online now  
Old 19 January 2010, 11:50   #6
Lorfarius
Registered User
Lorfarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Glossop/UK
Posts: 263
Thanks for the help everyone I'm going to pay a visit to Aminet and find a copy of Noclick. Fitsteve has helped me out with a replacement mouse so I'm all set
Lorfarius is offline  
Old 08 February 2010, 07:34   #7
LocalH
Amiga user since 1990
LocalH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Kingsport, TN / USA
Age: 37
Posts: 276
Big warning on the anti-click tools - if you run one and you hear a louder thud instead of the normal click, immediately discontinue use of the tool as you are ramming the head into the stop and doing damage to the drive (as well as throwing it out of alignment).
LocalH is offline  
Old 08 February 2010, 10:28   #8
mombasajoe
Registered User

mombasajoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: D
Age: 42
Posts: 521
Mice: I use a cheap PC-Mouse via a Cocolino-Adapter. Works fine
Anticlick: If you donīt like hacks/software just put a non-bootable disk into the drive
mombasajoe is offline  
Old 08 February 2010, 11:10   #9
Lorfarius
Registered User
Lorfarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Glossop/UK
Posts: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by LocalH View Post
Big warning on the anti-click tools - if you run one and you hear a louder thud instead of the normal click, immediately discontinue use of the tool as you are ramming the head into the stop and doing damage to the drive (as well as throwing it out of alignment).
I can't seem to delete the DosPrefs file from WBStartup I've been leaving a blank floppy in the drive which has cured the clicking. Thankfully I don't need it thanks to WHDLoad and installing the ret of my games to the HD.
Lorfarius is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Floppy drive questions . willbloke support.Hardware 1 22 October 2011 22:38
Floppy drive constantly clicking gingerbeardman support.Hardware 20 03 June 2010 10:06
Compact flash drive Vs. 2,5" hard disk drive fc.studio support.Hardware 5 16 June 2007 16:40
Newbie question: how to access files on an Amiga disk using PC disk drive? Nethead New to Emulation or Amiga scene 5 04 July 2003 23:07
Hard Drive Questions killergorilla support.Hardware 1 23 March 2003 19:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.15169 seconds with 11 queries