English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 January 2010, 21:30   #1
tinto
 
Posts: n/a
Minix on Amiga

Hi All,

Not sure if this is the right forum for this question or not, but here goes. Has anyone ever tried running Minix on the Amiga? I've read up on it a little and it says it's supported on the A500 and A2000, but I was wondering if anyone had tried it on any other configurations? Specifically, I have an A1200 and was wondering if it would work on that.

If it doesn't work on the A1200, does anyone know why? Would it be because of the AGA chipset? Would be good to know what the problem was to see how plausible it would be to port to the A1200 (and similar machines).

FWIW, I know AmigaOS is awesome, etc. etc. but this is more of a hobbyist question - would like to try something different on the Amiga - something with source code, no less!

Thanks!
Tinto
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 17 January 2010, 22:19   #2
hit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: planet earth
Posts: 1,115
i've not done this myself, but here they talk about an update to Minix 1.5, which runs on 68030 too.
not sure if the update is included, but the last distribution for amiga is available here:
http://www.minix3.org/previous-versions/index.html

missing link: http://home.arcor.de/kickstart/TKA/T...IX/aminix.html
hit is offline  
Old 17 January 2010, 22:20   #3
xc8
no c= no fun
xc8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 233
Hi,

Around '93 I used to run the Minix (very early version) on my Atari_ST,
heh, as I see now, it was too an Amiga version (very interesting!! I must try this too)

http://www.minix3.org/previous-versions/Amiga/


have fun


chris

opps.. we replied -almost- the same time with 'hit' LOL
xc8 is offline  
Old 17 January 2010, 22:32   #4
hit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: planet earth
Posts: 1,115
indeed, now lets hope, our answers are somewhat helpful to tinto

Edit: found the updates on aminet: http://aminet.net/search?query=minix
installation seems to be also there (1.5.10), so you better stick with aminet.

Last edited by hit; 17 January 2010 at 22:41.
hit is offline  
Old 17 January 2010, 22:55   #5
tinto
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by hit View Post
i've not done this myself, but here they talk about an update to Minix 1.5, which runs on 68030 too.
This is interesting, as they also mention it works on the 68020 (which is what my A1200 has, unless I'm mistaken). Cool - I guess the best way to find out, then, will be to just try it

Thanks for the info.
 
Old 17 January 2010, 23:00   #6
hit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: planet earth
Posts: 1,115
unexpanded A1200 has 68020, thats right. so it should work. one problem i see is the harddisk installation. in one of the texts they talk about A500/2000 and A3000 and compatible harddisk-controller. the harddisk controller of the A1200 is for sure different (A3000 has scsi) - so the harddisk installation might not work.
but give it a try and report back
hit is offline  
Old 18 January 2010, 00:25   #7
twiggy

twiggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Devon, U.K.
Age: 28
Posts: 325
I've been interested in running Minix on the miggy. Has anyone got any screenshots of it running one on? Any interesting open source software compiled for it?
twiggy is offline  
Old 18 January 2010, 00:45   #8
gilgamesh
Linux snob

gilgamesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Monkey Island
Posts: 997
I got Minix running with the links that hit provided in #2 in WinUAE emulating an A500, some time ago.
It comes with compiler, but I think it's only K&R C.
gilgamesh is offline  
Old 18 January 2010, 10:52   #9
salax54
Registered User
salax54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Athens Greece
Posts: 147
This might be of some help too: http://www.linuxonamiga.org./Main_Page
It's got a few screenshots from the Minix. By the way, for anyone trying to get a taste using an A1200 or A600 (without a 1.2 or 1.3 Kickstart) why not try using a utility such as Relokick?
salax54 is offline  
Old 18 January 2010, 11:05   #10
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 33
Posts: 1,047
don't forget to check http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...ht=amiga+minix we talked about this a while ago.
redblade is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Minix images redblade support.WinUAE 30 28 July 2015 13:50
Minix under E-UAE gilgamesh New to Emulation or Amiga scene 1 13 September 2008 13:15
Amiga MINIX boot disk _ThEcRoW support.Apps 3 30 December 2005 01:02
Minix on WinUAE dondilly support.WinUAE 1 03 November 2005 09:01
Amiga and Unix/Minix/Linux/*BSD harlequin Retrogaming General Discussion 5 27 April 2002 06:22

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24725 seconds with 11 queries