English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 January 2010, 14:49   #1
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Transforming old PC hardware into powerful classic Amigas

I'm positive people have done these kind of projects before, but I thought it would be interesting to look again at the wonderful opportunities we have for creating powerful Classic Amiga setups out of old cheap PC hardware using the power of WinUAE.

Real Amiga classic hardware is expensive and getting on now in years. Many have leaking batteries or require cap replacement, so this is a viable option for those who want to create an Amiga out of say, an ITX PC system or some old PC hardware.

So what's stopping us using BartPE and PEbuilder for instance to create a very lightweight Windows XP installation that boots straight into fullscreen WinUAE?

I'm sure we can add our own boot pic and have full network support. Plus with it being an XP build, it will have great driver support. We can make use of the fact JIT can be enabled and disabled from within the Workbench too.

Has anyone already done such a project? I remember various Linux efforts, and one called "Amiga on a stick". I just think it would be great if we can put together our own pack that can be used with Amikit, AmigaSYS and ClassicWB.

Please feel free to discuss any options. I'd love to have a mini ITX system that is purely used for being a Classic Amiga.
Bloodwych is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 15 January 2010, 15:15   #2
seuden
uber cool demi god

seuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kent/England
Posts: 1,905
I have a spare P4 3.0Ghz HT, 1GB ram, 120GB HDD system that I wanted to do this too. I was thinking something along the lines of TinyXP to start with.

EDIT: I'm thinking of booting straight into OS3.1 (via WinUAE), I think anything higher than that I would lose any retro feeling I wanted to achieve.

Last edited by seuden; 15 January 2010 at 15:24.
seuden is offline  
Old 15 January 2010, 15:25   #3
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,816
My old laptop have option in BIOS to skip all hardware testing, so you need only 2-3 seconds to load OS (MS-DOS) and UAE/Fellow. Maybe some of newer PCs have this option also...
s2325 is offline  
Old 15 January 2010, 16:25   #4
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
TinyXP would work, but I like the idea of BartPE combined with peinst to install it on a hard drive:

http://www.google.co.uk/search?hl=en...G=Search&meta=

You can also run BartPE easily from a stand alone CD/DVD or USB stick.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 15 January 2010, 16:42   #5
xc8
no c= no fun
xc8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 233
I m using a CF card on ExpressCard54 adapter (on my laptop) it can be boot directly there.
I use DRDOS (a bit old , but its usefull to load old win 3 and DESQview)..
I can load the VICE C64 and Fellow in seconds.. the only problem is there is NO sound, as modern PCs that have HDA audio or similar sound chipset there is no DOS drivers to support sound.. (and these chipsets are NO way compatible with SBlaster)..

chris
xc8 is offline  
Old 15 January 2010, 16:44   #6
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,778
Im likeing this a ClassicWb for PC I havent done exactly this but did try and make a live CD with BartPe and WinUae the only problem I had was WinUae seemed very slow compared to my normal XP setup - But didnt realy go that far into experimenting.
Theres info about on using WinUae as your main shell on Windows and there another tool for min XP installation but cant think what its called.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 15 January 2010, 16:49   #7
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Thanks for the info Boo Boo. If it ran slow it might have been the medium - CD/DVD's have poor seek times. Or it might be a missing file or driver.

The program you can use to make custom XP installs is nLite, but there are other strip down programs too.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 15 January 2010, 17:06   #8
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,778
Or a ClassicWb Flavor of Aros - Aros without all the plugins looks the same as Wb3.0 is compatible with normal WB icons, has a level of UAE integration for Classic Games/Demos and of course is freeware and can run Live from CD.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 15 January 2010, 17:06   #9
seuden
uber cool demi god

seuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kent/England
Posts: 1,905
Have you tried AmigaSYS Bloodbych?
seuden is offline  
Old 15 January 2010, 17:59   #10
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Of course, I've tried AmigaSYS and Amikit. It would be ignorant of me not to have given them a go.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 15 January 2010, 18:09   #11
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Boo View Post
Or a ClassicWb Flavor of Aros - Aros without all the plugins looks the same as Wb3.0 is compatible with normal WB icons, has a level of UAE integration for Classic Games/Demos and of course is freeware and can run Live from CD.
AROS is kind of already covered by other people, but as you said it would be nice to have a Classic looking theme.

The reason I want to use BartPE and WinUAE, is the massive hardware compatibility offered by XP combined with the brilliance and completeness of WinUAE itself.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 15 January 2010, 18:12   #12
seuden
uber cool demi god

seuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kent/England
Posts: 1,905
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodwych View Post
AROS is kind of already covered by other people, but as you said it would be nice to have a Classic looking theme.

The reason I want to use BartPE and WinUAE, is the massive hardware compatibility offered by XP combined with the brilliance and completeness of WinUAE itself.
Agreed.
seuden is offline  
Old 15 January 2010, 18:51   #13
Eclipse
Turpentine
Eclipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kent, United Kingdom
Posts: 743
This would be awesome and something if it ever came to fruition that i would be arsed to do.
Afterall you could still plug it into a TV if you wanted to, or monitor and HD TV etc for the purists.
The list is endless with Winuae but with ClassicWB as the OS I think it would be awesome.
Eclipse is offline  
Old 15 January 2010, 19:11   #14
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 39
Posts: 1,498
The best solution for this type of minimal setup is Windows XP Embedded. The downside is that you have to be a Windows geek to compile a proper Windows XP Embedded enviroment for WinUAE.
There is also WinBuilder, which is better that nLite, but requires a more skillfull Windows user. Anyway, it is not better than Windows XP embedded.

I hope someone dares use Windows XP Embedded for this, and guide us on how to achieve that. With XP Embedded i witnessed a Windows XP build with a footprint of 15MB!
gulliver is offline  
Old 15 January 2010, 19:13   #15
adolescent
Powered by Motorola

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,064
I have an Atom 330 ITX board that would be nice to use for this. Is BartPE still the way to go for PE building? (Although, in the end I think I would prefer a complete XP install for ease of use.)
adolescent is offline  
Old 15 January 2010, 19:16   #16
radon_22
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 77
I was working on a similar project a while back- An Amiga-on-a-stick, using BartPE. It works. Pretty well, actually. I replaced the boot screens, set it to boot straight into a Winuae profile, etc. I keep planning on putting a guide together, but have never got around to it. And distribution of the actual final product might bring the wrath of Microsoft.

As much as I love the idea behind AROS, driver support will probably never be that great. (Something like "Driverloader" or "ndiswrapper" from Linux would be a gamechanger.) As such, it's not really an option for me.

A slightly modified Linux would be perfect. (KX Light with Amiga Forever is too stripped down.) No worries about copyright infringement, acceptable driver support, and the ability to run on slightly older machines make it the best solution, IMHO.

Last edited by radon_22; 15 January 2010 at 19:25.
radon_22 is offline  
Old 15 January 2010, 19:24   #17
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Hi radon_22, yeah I mentioned your project in my opening post. I remember reading about it in the past.

The thing is, with BartPE you can use PE builder can't you and let the end user add the copyright files? We just need to customize it for WinUAE. I'm sure we could think of something.

As for Linux, the weakness there is UAE or E-UAE. It has to be WinUAE, it's just the best!

Someone already started a Linux project:

http://www.xamiga.net/

plus there are other solutions around the net too using Linux including the Amigaforever CD.

As for Windows XP Embedded - if some one could use that then great!
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 15 January 2010, 19:46   #18
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,778
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodwych View Post
Thanks for the info Boo Boo. If it ran slow it might have been the medium - CD/DVD's have poor seek times. Or it might be a missing file or driver.
I think the problem is its just using XP basic drivers rathers than your drivers for your specific graphics card/motherboard........ - But I was probably running some steroid OS3.9 Png icon setup - something a little less should be ok.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 15 January 2010, 20:13   #19
tero
Registered User

tero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: M'Gladbach
Age: 40
Posts: 449
It's possible to integrate up to date drivers
change gfx of the install screen and much more
They work on custom-install and live cd's
Have a look here:
http://unattended.msfn.org

BE AWARE!
The side itself is ok but some of the links they have point to dangerous sites
tero is offline  
Old 15 January 2010, 21:04   #20
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,778
Quote:
Originally Posted by tero View Post
It's possible to integrate up to date drivers
change gfx of the install screen and much more
They work on custom-install and live cd's
Have a look here:
http://unattended.msfn.org

BE AWARE!
The side itself is ok but some of the links they have point to dangerous sites
Thanks for the link tero I guess if your going to include ways of adding drivers aswell you want to make it user friendley.
Retro1234 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Explaining classic Amigas to Comptia A+ certified idiots watertonian Nostalgia & memories 8 30 June 2013 14:18
Programming on Classic Amigas A420X Coders. General 4 09 February 2011 07:56
dwindling classic Amigas Oscar Castillo Amiga scene 8 04 January 2009 01:17
Linux for (classic) Amigas macce2 Amiga scene 24 28 June 2007 23:40
Current market value of classic Amigas Galaxy MarketPlace 22 21 November 2004 16:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.37215 seconds with 11 queries