English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 January 2010, 13:20   #21
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
the WTF still stands for me as well
cosmicfrog is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 03 January 2010, 13:37   #22
Paul_s
needs more ice cream

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 39
Posts: 3,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by mihcael View Post
photoshop
Paul_s is offline  
Old 03 January 2010, 13:38   #23
mihcael
Zone Friend
mihcael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Aussie
Posts: 1,096
if you goto http://a-eon.com/4.html you can click on it an guess what sort of cpu it is!!

if you respond with,
freescale|motorola|ibm|amcc|pasemi|p.a. semi|xilinx

you get "It's a PowerPC CPU, if that's what you're driving at."

these
cell|kilocore|xenon|gekko|broadway|blue gene

you get "Does that seem likely?"

and
titan|e600|8641D|8640D|QorIQ|P2020|p4080|pa6t|970mp|83290|pwrficient

you get "Ooooh you're so smart you'll cut yourself. But we still ain't telling. Sorry, we'd love to. Can't. It's quite a story, actually..."
mihcael is offline  
Old 03 January 2010, 13:42   #24
viddi
Moderator

viddi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 37
Posts: 3,412
Ahhhh!


And now type in "jens"...

-> Interesting guess. Come back tomorrow and we'll talk about custom chips...

viddi is offline  
Old 03 January 2010, 13:42   #25
Paul_s
needs more ice cream

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 39
Posts: 3,162
I don't get it though. They know people have been messed about with within the Amiga community for the past 10 - 13 years. We have had enough!

I'm all for new hardware and would love an OS4 rig just to be different but I can't be bothered if they are going to play games. I am on the verge of having a mental breakdown with the lens which went pop in my CD32... Now this

Top 5 annoying amiga things (of all time!);

1) Vaporware
2) Capacitors
3) Barrell Batteries
4) Amiga.Inc
5) Bill fcuking McEwen
Paul_s is offline  
Old 03 January 2010, 22:11   #26
gilgamesh
Linux snob

gilgamesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Monkey Island
Posts: 997
xena. -> "You know way too much..."
gilgamesh is offline  
Old 03 January 2010, 22:30   #27
hit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: planet earth
Posts: 1,115
the "jens" idea came to my mind, when they said "custom chips". wasnt individual working on a fpga/vhdl aga emulation?
maybe a partnership of hyperion & J. Schoenfeld, offering "next gen amiga" and good old aga-compatibility - both in one device.
hit is offline  
Old 03 January 2010, 22:37   #28
tonyyeb
Has the Amiga bug again
tonyyeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hull, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 792
Send a message via MSN to tonyyeb
Whether you like this kind of marketing or not, it seems to have everyone on AmigaWorld.net going nuts... which I know isn't that difficult to do but they are in a complete frenzy.
tonyyeb is offline  
Old 03 January 2010, 22:39   #29
gilgamesh
Linux snob

gilgamesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Monkey Island
Posts: 997
The custom chip is called Xena. That "Interesting guess" stuff is the default answer for the second chip. Somebody says that he has spotted a FPGA on th board, though.
gilgamesh is offline  
Old 03 January 2010, 22:55   #30
hit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: planet earth
Posts: 1,115
in combination with the xorro slot for 680x0/88x based boards (improving legacy machine emulation) it would fit nicely

Edit: @next posting: BGA is just the package type.

Last edited by hit; 03 January 2010 at 23:37.
hit is offline  
Old 03 January 2010, 23:04   #31
Merlin
AmiBay MegaMod
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Manchester, UK
Age: 55
Posts: 1,163
Quote:
Originally Posted by gilgamesh View Post
The custom chip is called Xena. That "Interesting guess" stuff is the default answer for the second chip. Somebody says that he has spotted a FPGA on th board, though.
Erm, yeah; it's towards the top right of that picture posted earlier and it didn't take a detective like Sherlock Holmes to work that one out....I think it's actually a BGA, not an FPGA, although I stand to be corrected.
Merlin is offline  
Old 03 January 2010, 23:08   #32
Merlin
AmiBay MegaMod
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Manchester, UK
Age: 55
Posts: 1,163
Also, 5.1 sound and USB everything doesn't bode well for backwards compatibility; I don't see any PS/2 mouse or keyboard connectors, so keyboard emulation is going to be tricky for 68k games etc. 4 x SATA, a possible CF slot along with Ethernet may prove interesting for file transfers though.

Last edited by Merlin; 03 January 2010 at 23:25.
Merlin is offline  
Old 04 January 2010, 00:54   #33
trackah123
Amiga User

trackah123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Delft / The Netherlands
Posts: 323
I think a-eon.com stands for A=Amiga / eon=One..

"Amiga One" also look at this picture.



Could be a Multicore PowerPC CPU.

Now for the stuff i found that could be or could not be related at all :
I just tried to make something out of all these clues and riddles.

Guru Meditation numbers is HEX code i think
4E:45:4D:4F -> NEMO

Word ENIGMA could be from amiga demo "enigma" in that demo you see 1 line called "Firefox and TIP" hence the word Firefox (browser?)

then again Enigma in greek means "riddle?" and eon "forever?"

Then earlier i found this website which could mean something or just totally not?

http://moobunny.dreamhosters.com/cgi...a/167323.shtml

Quote:
On Monday, Dec 21, 2009, jorkany wrote:
> Cool announcement, bro.
>

Better put on your sunglasses bro, the announcement is about to set the
world on fire... the apple will tremble, the microsoft will shiver and
the linux will just evaporate into thin air upon impact.
Oh, wait..
I forgot my medication.

merry xmass

Last edited by trackah123; 04 January 2010 at 01:09.
trackah123 is offline  
Old 04 January 2010, 01:08   #34
hit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: planet earth
Posts: 1,115
you are right trackah. just in case you missed that, here is a little summary of what has been found yet: http://amigaworld.net/modules/newbb/...order=0#529508 two cpu types/models have been found as possibility.

Last edited by hit; 04 January 2010 at 01:11. Reason: lost a sentence
hit is offline  
Old 04 January 2010, 01:56   #35
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 47
Posts: 706
Quote:
Originally Posted by gilgamesh View Post
WTF? Is this considered to be a joke or something?
WTF is right ..crazy shit man
klx300r is offline  
Old 04 January 2010, 01:58   #36
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 47
Posts: 706
Quote:
Originally Posted by viddi View Post
Ahhhh!
And now type in "jens"...
-> Interesting guess. Come back tomorrow and we'll talk about custom chips...

type in most anything and that repsonse comes up
klx300r is offline  
Old 04 January 2010, 03:30   #37
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 47
Posts: 706
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
I wish they would remove the "Amiga" name once and for all in products like this.
what...they won the bloody court case and now own the rights to it ..I wish commodore would have removed their assocation with the Amiga back in the day so that all the mess that happened after their bankruoptcy would'nt have happened
klx300r is offline  
Old 04 January 2010, 04:56   #38
Vairn
The Grim-Button

Vairn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Melbourne Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 390
Send a message via Skype™ to Vairn
Oh yay, more expensive "amiga" hardware that will collect dust.

I have my A1200 PPC tower of awesomeness, and that is its main task in life atm.

Is it just me, or is the idea of another amiga clone, something which isn't needed?

Whats the point these days of spending 500 euro, or whatever the price tag of this will be? I mean nostalgia and all that is good. But I don't see a business model for this?
Maybe I am just sick of the vapourware, of these projects hehe.

IMHO if Amiga OS 4.x was made to work on intel hardware, then I will be interested.

AROS is looking better all the time, with a lot of thanks to Icaros Desktop.

Amithlon was one of the best Amiga Emulators, for non-games. but alas, it is no more.

For old games, Winuae, or my own port of Uae4all to my ipod Touch does enough for me, pity Apple wont let me release it onto app store .

I just don't think AmigaOS as an OS, is worth it for a machine by itself, but tied with Windows or MacOSX, or Linux. Or running on a NetBook. Then I will be excited.
My 0.02c
Vairn is offline  
Old 04 January 2010, 07:34   #39
Oscar Castillo
Junior Member
Oscar Castillo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 282
Send a message via AIM to Oscar Castillo
Quote:
Originally Posted by viddi View Post
What kind of CPU might that be?
Based solely on some text in a Javascript file I saw a code 970MP, which were the last batch of PowerPCs in the PowerMac G5.
Oscar Castillo is offline  
Old 04 January 2010, 10:10   #40
viddi
Moderator

viddi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 37
Posts: 3,412
Quote:
Originally Posted by klx300r View Post
type in most anything and that repsonse comes up
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oscar Castillo View Post
Based solely on some text in a Javascript file I saw a code 970MP, which were the last batch of PowerPCs in the PowerMac G5.

Yep, already noticed that.
viddi is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AmigaONE XE-G4 GreenMeanie MarketPlace 1 03 November 2011 21:03
AmigaOne P-J Amiga scene 46 21 January 2004 21:45
AmigaOne question... th4t1guy Amiga scene 5 13 January 2004 20:12
AmigaOne around the corner? Oscar Castillo Amiga scene 19 05 October 2002 03:56
AmigaOne Enverex support.Hardware 5 12 May 2002 05:47

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.36343 seconds with 11 queries