English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 January 2010, 14:53   #1
Falcon Flight
evicted psycho
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: evictee paradise
Posts: 166
psp as simple game controller in Windows

Can I hook my PSP up to my PC through USB and just use it as a simple game controller that WinUAE and other emulators will recognise?

When I plug it in, I can dump roms on it and then play them so I know my PC detects it, but it does not find it in Control Panel - Game Controllers.

Any one done it; how do you do it?
Falcon Flight is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 02 January 2010, 15:00   #2
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
You would have to write the HID endpoint driver for the PSP
alexh is offline  
Old 02 January 2010, 15:21   #3
Falcon Flight
evicted psycho
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: evictee paradise
Posts: 166
I can not do that so I will just have to wait for my friend to bring over his xbox 360 controller for windows...

unless any one can give more info?
Falcon Flight is offline  
Old 02 January 2010, 15:52   #4
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 36
Posts: 2,478
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
You would have to write the HID endpoint driver for the PSP
i think it can already be done, and with wireless.


http://www.instructables.com/id/Usin...en-controllin/
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 02 January 2010, 17:17   #5
hitchhikr
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: somewhere
Posts: 361
PSP as USB joypad: http://downloads.exophase.com/534/fusa-gamepad-v2/
hitchhikr is offline  
Old 03 January 2010, 22:34   #6
Falcon Flight
evicted psycho
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: evictee paradise
Posts: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by hitchhikr View Post
this worked; thanks heaps man!
Falcon Flight is offline  
Old 03 January 2010, 22:36   #7
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,586
That's pretty cool, thanks for the link Hitch. Gotta try that one =)
StingRay is offline  
Old 04 January 2010, 02:22   #8
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,509
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hungry Horace View Post
http://www.instructables.com/id/Using-PSP-as-computer-Joystick-and-then-controllin/
Quote:
Originally Posted by hitchhikr View Post
WOW!!
Supamax is offline  
Old 05 January 2010, 10:22   #9
MazinKaesar
Super Robot Pilot
MazinKaesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Modena (Italy)
Age: 42
Posts: 848
Send a message via MSN to MazinKaesar Send a message via Yahoo to MazinKaesar
Wow!!!
MazinKaesar is offline  
Old 05 January 2010, 14:23   #10
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,621
I'd like a decent PS3 controller that is simple to setup and works with Win7 and a 64bit!
BippyM is online now  
Old 05 January 2010, 14:36   #11
seuden
uber cool demi god

seuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kent/England
Posts: 1,905
Hey bippym

I got given this for Christmas and it works a treat under windows.

Which is cheaper than this for some reason? Lol.



It's not got the best reviews for the pack but I found the controller to be ok.

EDIT: Not checked if it works with Win 7 or 64bit but can't see a reason why it wouldn't.

Last edited by seuden; 05 January 2010 at 14:46.
seuden is offline  
Old 07 January 2010, 02:25   #12
Titler
Zone Friend
Titler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 290
I'd recommend this pad myself; never had any problems with it, comes with multiple modes, and is dirt cheap...



http://www.saitek.com/uk/prod/p990.htm
Titler is offline  
Old 07 January 2010, 13:53   #13
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
All that trouble to get 4 buttons instead of a hat switch, hold a brick instead of a gamepad, and (dunno if you use it tho) the worst analog stick in the known universe?

I could understand someone wanting to plug a proper controller into a PSP, but the other way around... ?

Oh well, I guess you've grown accustomed to it.

But c'mon, decent joypads are 10€ a pop - that Saitek one looks good actually, the dpad is at least in the right place. Is the dpad responsive Titler?
Photon is offline  
Old 07 January 2010, 13:57   #14
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon View Post
I could understand someone wanting to plug a proper controller into a PSP, but the other way around... ?
Think out of the box, I'll use it to test some of my WHDLoad slaves and I don't feel like wasting money for a joypad I don't really need. Thus, perfect solution for me.
StingRay is offline  
Old 07 January 2010, 19:07   #15
Titler
Zone Friend
Titler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 290
Very responsive... and there are 4 buttons on the top you can't quite see in that picture, and 2 on the dpads like the PS pads have (It's a 12 button stick in total, not counting the FPS and Analog mode buttons which auto-reprogram the pad). I picked it up for 12 a few years back, but it's still sold on the net for around 10 from what I can see.

Last edited by Titler; 07 January 2010 at 19:13.
Titler is offline  
Old 07 January 2010, 19:36   #16
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 36
Posts: 2,478
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
Think out of the box, I'll use it to test some of my WHDLoad slaves and I don't feel like wasting money for a joypad I don't really need. Thus, perfect solution for me.
PSP layout is identical to the CD32 pad, so it makes it ideal for that really
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 25 January 2010, 23:59   #17
Falcon Flight
evicted psycho
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: evictee paradise
Posts: 166
And the PSP is *hardly* heavy. It was a good solution for me as my friend only had one XBox 360 controller for Windoze, so we could play 2player and it was fair because no one was relegated to the key board. :-)
Falcon Flight is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Programming a Simple A500-Compatible Game (Beginner) - Any Advice? Oktai-Wanda Coders. General 11 28 July 2013 01:26
Controller list isn't initialized in FS-UAE Launcher (Windows) discomike support.FS-UAE 2 24 June 2013 21:42
Idea for a simple music synced game for amiga diablothe2nd Retrogaming General Discussion 15 02 January 2012 01:26
F/S CD32 + Controller/PSU/Game fitzsteve MarketPlace 0 06 May 2011 17:40
New PSP Amiga emualtor: PSP UAE4ALL r1 Hungry Horace News 6 17 January 2008 22:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21719 seconds with 11 queries