English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 June 2002, 16:49   #1
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Exclamation WinUAE color errors

Hi,

just tested jesterrace's PROFEZIA (very nice game, at least I understand a bit of it ) and the screenshots (WinFellow<->WinUAE) are really worlds apart.
First the great WinFellow screenshot ... a dream. Just right for Exotica.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	profezia_winfellow.jpg
Views:	293
Size:	81.9 KB
ID:	2712  
andreas is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 10 June 2002, 17:03   #2
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
now WinUAE:

Something's definitely wrong here.
BESIDES: If you see the WinFellow screen directly before you, you can see that WinUAE's colors appear much more "unemotional" and colder. (At least to me.)
WinFellow shows saturate colors which looks better to my taste.

BTW: Toni, that's not your fault. That's WinUAE core problem, methinks. Even fails in 0.8.8 R8.
It's strange that nobody has ever made an effort and sent screenshots to the developers so they can fix the color problem but has just complained several times on the UAE board.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	profezia_winuae.jpg
Views:	281
Size:	97.4 KB
ID:	2714  

Last edited by andreas; 10 June 2002 at 17:19.
andreas is offline  
Old 10 June 2002, 18:46   #3
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Smile

heh
andreas is offline  
Old 10 June 2002, 20:07   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,663
Not a bug in UAE. Game or crack is buggy.

I booted it 5 times on my real A500 with following results:
- 4x crap colors (caused by incorrect value written to BPLCON2 by previous corrupt copper list)
- 1x correct colors

There is probably some timing differences between real A500 and UAE because I couldn't get correct colors on WinUAE. (probably blitter timing)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 10 June 2002, 20:17   #5
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Quote:
There is probably some timing differences between real A500 and UAE because I couldn't get correct colors on WinUAE. (probably blitter timing)
You can't.
But WinFellow always displays the gfx right. Don't ask me why.

Last edited by andreas; 10 June 2002 at 20:28.
andreas is offline  
Old 10 June 2002, 20:19   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,663
Quote:
But WinFellow always displays the gfx right.
'

Then this means both emulators are buggy
Toni Wilen is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Color Saturation and Color Tint/Hue Retro-Nerd support.WinUAE 19 28 August 2017 09:06
Printing in color with WinUAE on color laser source support.Apps 7 14 April 2013 00:32
Winuae and CF some errors glue support.Hardware 7 25 June 2011 21:07
ISO true color to 256 color algorithm Lord Riton Coders. General 19 15 April 2011 17:49
WinUAE CD errors Fred the Fop support.WinUAE 6 11 April 2005 14:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.12893 seconds with 12 queries