English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 June 2002, 13:50   #1
Sune Salminen
Dinamáquina
Sune Salminen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: BH/Brasil
Age: 44
Posts: 365
Floppy disk ADF to DMS?

Is it possible? I mean on the PC side of things. The Winfellow page says XDMS can do it, but it doesn't look like it from the docs. Is there a PC ADF tool that can do this? Or even better - an Amiga program that doesn't run in a Workbench environment (kind of like X-copy or something) that i can run in WinUAE?

I know there are several WB based utilities, but i am looking for one that doesn't run under WB.

The reason i want to try this is that i am having difficulties transferring some ADF's via serial port to my Amiga 500 - and i would like to try to transfer DMS files and then write them to disk on the Amiga instead.

ADF to DMS - any solution you can think of will probably help -whether it be emulator (but non WB) or real Amiga 500 (no harddrive, 1 Meg RAM, three 720k drives) based.

TIA

Last edited by Sune Salminen; 10 June 2002 at 14:27.
Sune Salminen is offline  
Old 10 June 2002, 16:42   #2
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
YES it ispossible as thats how I do it

First you need workbench installed and dms copied to C.

Right next insert adf into df0.

Open Shell/cli.

Type
DMS READ Drivename:filename.dms FROM DF0:

You have now made a dms file from an adf file.

All you need to do is copy the dms file to a 720k ms-dos disk.

Mount ms-dos file system on real Amiga and copy dms to hard disk.

Open Shell/cli.

Type
DMS WRITE Drivename:filename.dms TO DF0:

Insert a new amiga fommated disk when asked.
Paul is offline  
Old 11 June 2002, 01:42   #3
Sune Salminen
Dinamáquina
Sune Salminen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: BH/Brasil
Age: 44
Posts: 365
Floppy disk Thanks, but...

I asked about a PC based or Amiga "non-workbench based" utility (like a copy-program such as X-Copy), because i believe i need to avoid the Amiga DOS filesystem entirely. Also, i stated i didn't have a harddrive.

Your example uses a harddrive (which i don't have) and CLI (which is what i want to avoid using).
Sune Salminen is offline  
Old 11 June 2002, 09:41   #4
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
Have you got 2 floppy drives? If not try to get a 2nd external drive as you can read from the MS-DOS mounted DF0 drive and write to DF1

i.e.
DMS READ DF0:filename.dms FROM DF1:

to write filename.dms to MS-DOS mounted DF0 from the amiga disk in DF1

DMS WRITE DF0:filename.dms TO DF1:

to read filename.dms in MS-DOS mounted DF0 to write back and decompress to a new amiga disk in DF1
Paul is offline  
Old 11 June 2002, 16:25   #5
Sune Salminen
Dinamáquina
Sune Salminen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: BH/Brasil
Age: 44
Posts: 365
Floppy disk But...

The method you propose is still using CLI and the AmigaDOS filesystem. Yes, i do have two external drives (and i am starting to wonder if you have even read my first post) but when the transfer has finished, i'll bet my grandma that i'll still get a "key 880 checksum error" and then the game won't work.

Can you transfer Datastorm, Paradroid 90 and Giana Sisters back to Amiga floppy using your method?
Sune Salminen is offline  
Old 11 June 2002, 17:47   #6
Miggy2TheMax
Junior Member

Miggy2TheMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 374
Re: ADF to DMS?

Quote:
Originally posted by Sune Salminen
Is it possible? I mean on the PC side of things. The Winfellow page says XDMS can do it, but it doesn't look like it from the docs. Is there a PC ADF tool that can do this? Or even better - an Amiga program that doesn't run in a Workbench environment (kind of like X-copy or something) that i can run in WinUAE?

I know there are several WB based utilities, but i am looking for one that doesn't run under WB.

The reason i want to try this is that i am having difficulties transferring some ADF's via serial port to my Amiga 500 - and i would like to try to transfer DMS files and then write them to disk on the Amiga instead.

ADF to DMS - any solution you can think of will probably help -whether it be emulator (but non WB) or real Amiga 500 (no harddrive, 1 Meg RAM, three 720k drives) based.

TIA
okies, this is how I convert adf to dms:

Step1: Open UAE
Step2: mount the dir that has all your adf files.
Step3: Create a script with the following commands:

dh0:c/adf2disk SuperCarsRules.adf
dh0:c/dms read SuperCarsRules.dms from df0: cmode none

ok the first line takes the adf file and writes it to df0 the second file reads it from df0 and writes it as dms. There now you have converted an adf to dms.

A little tip, if you are converting 1000s of adf's to dms do a "dir > filenames.txt" under dos in the dir containing adfs. This will write a file listing all the adf filenames... then its just about opening your fav editor and do a macro to append the the commands around the filename.

Hope this helps.
Miggy2TheMax is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ADF to DMS Megamix support.Other 20 20 September 2009 20:47
.Dms to .ADF D4Ni3L3 request.Apps 12 22 November 2008 19:15
DMS>ADF how? Dastardly support.Apps 3 21 August 2003 03:28
DMS vs. ADF Akira Retrogaming General Discussion 32 16 October 2001 18:03
ADF to DMS Unregistered support.WinUAE 1 03 April 2001 16:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06328 seconds with 12 queries