English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene > Member Introductions

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 December 2009, 01:00   #1
gtrmn01
Registered User
gtrmn01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Shelton,CT/USA
Age: 62
Posts: 22
Smile Hello All from CT

Hello all... I guess I must be going through my mid-life crisis so I decided to breakout my old C128 system. I used to run a fairly active BBS back in the day but I found it didn't have the luster I used to remember(that and the lack of a BBS to call!). I decided to keep in the retro mood and picked up an my first Amiga on eBay. A 500 in great condition with all manuals, PSU, 520 video converter and cables. I has workbench v1.3 (but no software). I thought I got a pretty good deal for $66 but after adventuring to the inside of the case I discovered a BONUS I didn't expect, a Spirit Tech 2 meg memory board! I honestly don't think the previous owner knew or remembered it was installed because it was so cheap. Anyway I'm glad I found this message board and am looking forward to participating and driving you all nuts by asking all the noobie questions(I will have a LOT!)

Here is the system I purchased for $66
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...=STRK:MEWNX:IT

and this is the second one I grabbed for the mods
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...=STRK:MEWNX:IT

gtrmn01

Last edited by gtrmn01; 23 December 2009 at 02:21. Reason: added links
gtrmn01 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 23 December 2009, 01:02   #2
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,706
Hello and welcome!
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 23 December 2009, 01:04   #3
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,204
Hi, gtrmn01, and welcome to EAB!

Looks like you've got hold of a nice machine to get you started with the Amiga.

Don't worry about the noobie questions, there are plenty of experienced users here who will be only too pleased to offer help.
prowler is online now  
Old 23 December 2009, 02:22   #4
gtrmn01
Registered User
gtrmn01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Shelton,CT/USA
Age: 62
Posts: 22
Thanks for the kind welcome!
gtrmn01 is offline  
Old 23 December 2009, 02:24   #5
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Hi gtrmn01 and welcome to EAB!

Good to see another A500 user around Most of the guys here use a A1200 these days (and maybe you will too in some months/years ). Enjoy your stay
TCD is offline  
Old 23 December 2009, 11:35   #6
DH
Global Moderator

DH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,824
Welcome aboard gtrmn01, glad to have another Amiga enthusiast amongst us
DH is offline  
Old 23 December 2009, 15:07   #7
gtrmn01
Registered User
gtrmn01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Shelton,CT/USA
Age: 62
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Hi gtrmn01 and welcome to EAB!

Good to see another A500 user around Most of the guys here use a A1200 these days (and maybe you will too in some months/years ). Enjoy your stay
I'm eyeing the 1200's on Amigakit.com. I'm wondering if I should have just bit the bullet and put the money into the 1200 but I didn't know how compatible a PAL unit would be here in the states. I found out I can use my 500 PSU for a 1200 so that's new info for me. That is why I'm browsing this board to answer all all these questions.

gtrmn01
gtrmn01 is offline  
Old 23 December 2009, 16:06   #8
PiesAreBlueGuy
The SuperFrog Fanatic
PiesAreBlueGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Scotland
Age: 26
Posts: 21
Send a message via MSN to PiesAreBlueGuy Send a message via Skype™ to PiesAreBlueGuy
Welcome to the forums, and Merry Xmas
PiesAreBlueGuy is offline  
Old 23 December 2009, 18:20   #9
ck1200
CBM & Retro Mad
ck1200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: North Wales/Wirral Uk
Age: 35
Posts: 611
Send a message via MSN to ck1200 Send a message via Yahoo to ck1200
Welcome to the forum and a nice little set up you've got there

Chris
ck1200 is offline  
Old 24 December 2009, 10:51   #10
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
welcome gtrmn01 thats a nice 500 you got there to start you of, but like many members here if you get seroulsy hooked you will be getting an A1200

bring on the noob questions at least I might have a chance at answering those ones
cosmicfrog is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14634 seconds with 10 queries