English Amiga Board   Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 June 2001, 17:01   #1
Akuma
 
Posts: n/a
Question blinking power led/no screen on amiga 500

i have an amiga 500 and a philips monitor connected to it. well, when i power on the amiga i see a screen on the monitor, but it blinks, as does the power-LED of the amiga. it just blinks and gives no screen at all (with or without an inserted wb-disk for instance). what could be the problem? :/ thanks in advance!
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 12 June 2001, 17:49   #2
pcGTW_Webmaster
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 913
If the screen is coloured you can see, which part of your amiga is faulty.

green screen = no chipmem found (or chipmem is damaged)
red screen = bad kickstart-rom
yellow screen = mostly a bad cpu or a bad expansion-card
pcGTW_Webmaster is offline  
Old 12 June 2001, 18:04   #3
Akuma
 
Posts: n/a
hm..it's strange. the screen blinks white (it's a color monitor. it blinks green when in "green-mode") and then it's just blank (black). it goes white when the power-led on the amiga is on, and blank when it's off. the power-led goes on about once every two seconds, then off and so on. so the screen isn't continuously colored, it "blinks" (as does the power-led of the amiga).

Quote:
Originally posted by WindowsKiller
If the screen is coloured you can see, which part of your amiga is faulty.

green screen = no chipmem found (or chipmem is damaged)
red screen = bad kickstart-rom
yellow screen = mostly a bad cpu or a bad expansion-card
 
Old 17 June 2001, 12:40   #4
reaperangel
 
Posts: n/a
ok i had this problem.. now i got really pissed at it hit it right in the center . of the keybord

and it works now been doing it to this crap amiga for years. no joke.

i have 3 of them this one does it only thats the fix most have it on when you bang it ..
 
Old 18 June 2001, 20:41   #5
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: #
Posts: 13,432
Don't be hitting Amigas you bastard :P If it solves when you hit it, then a chip must be a bit out of place.

Open it up and make sure ALL chips are firmly socketed into their place. There surely must be a loose one playing dumb.

Don't hit it. It hurts
Akira is offline  
Old 20 June 2001, 20:51   #6
Unregistered
 
Posts: n/a
My Amiga 600 HD had this problem.

Every time I pressed return it crashed, the green led flashed and screen changed reg to yellow to green.

I found out it was the 1mb ram upgrade. I Pushed a wood Clothes peg in with the ram to hold it in.

This is why ram in PCs have clips to hold them in.
 
Old 26 August 2006, 04:07   #7
calmstillflat
 
Posts: n/a
Question Green Screen - RAM or ROM?

Hi WindowsKiller

I'm not sure what 'Chipmem' is. Is it the RAM chips? or the ROM chip?
I have an A500+ that just displays the green screen. I guess if it's the RAM i need a new board?

Thanks
CSF


Quote:
Originally Posted by WindowsKiller
If the screen is coloured you can see, which part of your amiga is faulty.

green screen = no chipmem found (or chipmem is damaged)
red screen = bad kickstart-rom
yellow screen = mostly a bad cpu or a bad expansion-card
 
Old 26 August 2006, 12:37   #8
bippym
Global Moderator

bippym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 8,388
Send a message via Skype™ to bippym
yes the chipram is damaged, so new mobo i'm afraid to say!

Check the battery hasn't leaked as that is common in the 500+ machines. If it is try and clean off as much of the shit as possible and remove the battery. Hopefully the leakage hasn't caused any corrosion and it can be resurrected with a good clean!

If the board is corroded it is only any good for the bin (save all socketed chips off it tho!!)
bippym is offline  
Old 26 August 2006, 14:27   #9
calmstillflat
 
Posts: n/a
Hi bippym, thanks for your quick reply

The Battery is quite corroded, i guess it did leak. I'll try and prise it out. If the battery is faulty does this stop the RAM from working and cause the Green Screen? also - are these batteries still available?

Sorry for so many questions, but I only recently rediscovered my 500+ in the loft of my parents house, and i really want to get it working again.

Thanks Again
 
Old 26 August 2006, 14:35   #10
Smiley
Amiga-less!
Smiley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,348
No,the only point of the battery is to keep track of the time while the Amiga is powered off. Really the battery is not needed.
Smiley is offline  
Old 26 August 2006, 14:45   #11
bippym
Global Moderator

bippym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 8,388
Send a message via Skype™ to bippym
Remove the battery and hope the corrosion isn't too severe.

It might just be causing a short on the board, which when cleaned is fixed. Most likely it has corroded some tracks and components (hence memory not working).. good luck
bippym is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blinking LED ghost_of_war support.Hardware 15 12 June 2010 20:51
Amiga A500+ power LED fixing Anemos Hardware pics 6 14 May 2010 23:15
a1200 yellow screen and many times blinking LED Dmitry.mry support.Hardware 18 19 November 2009 13:54
White screen at Amiga 500 power on? Saltaren New to Emulation or Amiga scene 14 09 January 2008 18:43
Amiga 500 power led failure Gavilan support.Hardware 4 03 November 2005 20:47

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22379 seconds with 12 queries