English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 December 2009, 12:49   #21
Allen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Blyth England
Age: 61
Posts: 725
I would have thought that there was a high probability that a compact flash card would have originally been used to transfer WHDLoad and any game in the first place. Have you looked for an icon that says CF0 in your workbench on the Amiga.

If it isn't there then that floppy disk you have probably has the fat95 and cfd on it, try it out on the Amiga, you may have to select SHOW ALL FILES to see the files. Assuming that the files are there then install them and you should be able to access the PCMCIA slot (you may have to click on the CF0 icon first, now a drive icon should appear named CF0: and you can access the card.

To make things simple seeing that you don't have a floppy drive for your laptop, just borrow or buy another CF card and stick it in your PCMCIA adapter and copy the key from your laptop to it then stick the adapter and card into your amiga, Select Show All files then copy the key to workbench and stick it in the S drawer.

There is a lot of using the Show All Files involved but it really is simple once you have done it.
Allen1 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 December 2009, 15:45   #22
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Just format a DD-floppy under Windows. If you use XP, enter in the command prompt:
"FORMAT A: /T:80 /N:9"

Copy the keyfile onto the floppy, mount PC0: in Amiga and insert floppy. Then copy the keyfile to S:
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 16 December 2009, 16:31   #23
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,522
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamiga2002 View Post
Just format a DD-floppy under Windows. If you use XP, enter in the command prompt:
"FORMAT A: /T:80 /N:9"

Copy the keyfile onto the floppy, mount PC0: in Amiga and insert floppy. Then copy the keyfile to S:
I thought the format 720K option was removed from XP?

If it is, just format the disk on the Amiga under crossdos and do it that way, or download a program for XP so you can format a 720K disk.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 16 December 2009, 16:39   #24
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 35
Posts: 7,924
It was removed as an option on the format dialog, but you can still do it via cmd line.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 16 December 2009, 20:49   #25
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
though I always find formatting PC disks to 720K more reliable on the amiga
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 19 December 2009, 08:40   #26
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,267
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Where did you pull the CF card out from? Was it inside the Amiga? Don't format it on the PC!

Are you sure the floppy is for the PC and not the Amiga? Is it a HD or DD floppy? Is there tape covering the hd hole?

If the CF card came from inside the Amiga, plug it into your card reader and mount it using WinUAE. Then copy the data over inside the emulation.
Jope is offline  
Old 19 December 2009, 15:19   #27
Eclipse
Turpentine
Eclipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kent, United Kingdom
Posts: 743
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
Where did you pull the CF card out from? Was it inside the Amiga? Don't format it on the PC!

Are you sure the floppy is for the PC and not the Amiga? Is it a HD or DD floppy? Is there tape covering the hd hole?

If the CF card came from inside the Amiga, plug it into your card reader and mount it using WinUAE. Then copy the data over inside the emulation.
I agree, make sure it's not an internal CF card!
Eclipse is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WHD Load vs. .adf sareks support.Games 20 05 August 2007 00:32
WHD Load drs support.WinUAE 2 24 March 2003 12:18
WHD LOAD How good is it?? Ricky55 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 3 24 June 2002 21:57
WHD Load CPC464 support.Apps 2 10 March 2002 22:26

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14068 seconds with 11 queries