English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 December 2009, 21:36   #1
PiCiJi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: germany
Age: 35
Posts: 252
LCD monitor with 50 Hz pal games

Im a still using a CRT monitor. So it's time for a LCD. On my CRT I lower the refresh rate to 50 Hz to enjoy smooth scrolling with pal games. But I wonder if it's possible to play pal games with smooth scrolling on a LCD Monitor. I always read from fixed refresh rates on LCD's (60 Hz)
So is there a possibility to emulate pal games smoothly on a LCD?
PiCiJi is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 14 December 2009, 22:11   #2
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,219
If you buy an LCDTV instead of a standard PC LCD and use the SCART input then yes. Otherwise you'd have to be very lucky to find an LCD that syncs to 50Hz.

Do not forget the other two problems with LCD's

1) They do not work with Amiga's because they do not sync to 15KHz horizontal refresh so you need a scandoubler (built in for LCDTV's)
2) Their native resolution is usually many times PAL and inputting a PAL resolution signal introduces scaling artifacts.

The Indivision AGA & ECS scandoublers scan rate convert PAL 50Hz screens to 60Hz for compatibility but the scrolling is not 100% smooth. Much better to use a tool to promote the PAL games to 60Hz. (i.e. WHDload)

Last edited by alexh; 14 December 2009 at 22:17.
alexh is offline  
Old 14 December 2009, 22:53   #3
PiCiJi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: germany
Age: 35
Posts: 252
thanks for the hints. Is the game speed unchanged by promoting a pal game to 60 Hz with WHDload? I mean, when I play pal games in 60 Hz with vsync the scrolling is smooth but video and audio are too fast.
PiCiJi is offline  
Old 14 December 2009, 23:36   #4
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,219
Quote:
Originally Posted by PiCiJi View Post
Is the game speed unchanged by promoting a pal game to 60 Hz with WHDload?
Video : Of course not.
Audio : Depends on how the game was programmed, if it uses VBL interrupt then yes, if it used a timer then no.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PiCiJi View Post
I mean, when I play pal games in 60 Hz with vsync the scrolling is smooth but video and audio are too fast.
Too fast for what? Most of the time you never notice.
alexh is offline  
Old 14 December 2009, 23:50   #5
Maren
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: *
Posts: 567
PAL application + 60hz monitor + vsync = incorrect speed but smooth scrolling.

PAL application + 60hz monitor - vsync = correct speed but bad scrolling.

It's either one or the other
Maren is offline  
Old 15 December 2009, 00:46   #6
NewDeli
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris / FRANCE
Age: 40
Posts: 1,248
Send a message via ICQ to NewDeli Send a message via Skype™ to NewDeli
Why part with the CRT monitor, then ? I myself choose to display Workbench on a modern LCD and native mode screen (classic games, demos) on the CRT. Best Amiga emulation related decision I made in monthes !
NewDeli is offline  
Old 15 December 2009, 00:55   #7
Allen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Blyth England
Age: 58
Posts: 641
I am using a EIZO FlexScan L360 LCD monitor on my minimig and it works a treat, the other 2 LCD monitors I tried came up with out of range and one of them is brand new. Maybe a proper list of compatible monitors would be a good idea for anyone who needs a monitor as Ebay is probably the best place to get one if you are aware of what to look for.
Allen1 is offline  
Old 15 December 2009, 01:28   #8
NewDeli
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris / FRANCE
Age: 40
Posts: 1,248
Send a message via ICQ to NewDeli Send a message via Skype™ to NewDeli
You maintain that list Allen1, and I'll print the stickers "Smooth WinUAE Scrolling guaranteed", I guess we're gonna become rich soon .
NewDeli is offline  
Old 15 December 2009, 18:25   #9
Allen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Blyth England
Age: 58
Posts: 641
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deleauvive View Post
You maintain that list Allen1, and I'll print the stickers "Smooth WinUAE Scrolling guaranteed", I guess we're gonna become rich soon .
all it would take is for users to say what monitor works with what hardware/Amiga they are running it from. Another monitor that works with a Minimig is a TUV 29J56G CRT mine is badged as RM, this monitor has built in stereo speakers and also a microphone and is dated 1997. The displayed area is smaller on this in comparison to the EIZO FlexScan L360 LCD monitor.

Maybe information like this would be useful to anyone buying a Minimig, I have not tried the monitors on any other Amigas as I use those on TV's with the scart lead I made plus I don't have a converter ie 23 pin to 15.
Allen1 is offline  
Old 15 December 2009, 19:18   #10
PiCiJi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: germany
Age: 35
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Too fast for what? Most of the time you never notice.
maybe i should give playing pal games in 60 Hz a second chance. In the past I have noticed it by few games for example Lionheart.
PiCiJi is offline  
Old 15 December 2009, 19:21   #11
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,219
Lionheart was designed to run at 60Hz wasn't it? I seem to remember it had that option in it's menus? I may be mistaken.

Plus it had it's own HD installer and so is not a WHDload game.
alexh is offline  
Old 15 December 2009, 19:44   #12
NewDeli
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris / FRANCE
Age: 40
Posts: 1,248
Send a message via ICQ to NewDeli Send a message via Skype™ to NewDeli
Some WHDload games have a HD installer (sometimes it's not even "broken"), and the other way round, alexh.

@PiCiJi
You shouldn't notice any hiccup with games bearing a vertical scrolling.
NewDeli is offline  
Old 15 December 2009, 19:45   #13
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 9,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Lionheart was designed to run at 60Hz wasn't it? I seem to remember it had that option in it's menus? I may be mistaken.

Plus it had it's own HD installer and so is not a WHDload game.
Lionheart wasn't designed for 60Hz. But Flink was, it's switchable to 50/60Hz with the green CD32 pad button.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 15 December 2009 at 21:14. Reason: typo
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 15 December 2009, 21:13   #14
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,219
My mistake Lionheart had interlace not 60Hz.
alexh is offline  
Old 16 December 2009, 11:17   #15
Lockon
Air supremacy

Lockon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Rijeka Croatia
Age: 39
Posts: 109
@thread
I have A500 with Indivision ECS hooked up on HP L1950.
Smooth scrolling on 50hz.
Lockon is offline  
Old 16 December 2009, 21:00   #16
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,219
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lockon View Post
HP L1950. Smooth scrolling on 50hz.
Wow, one of the few monitors which actually says 50Hz on the Tech. Specs.

http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/us/en...7-3463255.html

Just a shame it isn't 1600x1200 or I would have had one

Might look at a HP LP2065

http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/us/en...1-1815933.html

Damn cannot find one for sale anywhere in the UK

Last edited by alexh; 16 December 2009 at 21:05.
alexh is offline  
Old 18 December 2009, 12:16   #17
Lockon
Air supremacy

Lockon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Rijeka Croatia
Age: 39
Posts: 109
http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/uk/en...1-1815933.html

In the lower right corner, you can track links to HP partners.
(Misco, Dabs, PC World Business)
Lockon is offline  
Old 18 December 2009, 13:39   #18
Chain
A-Collector, repairments
Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 40
Posts: 1,505
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
p.s. hp are quite craps for ami in native res+scandoubler, as you cannot stretch and move image, those options are simply missing in menu
Chain is offline  
Old 18 December 2009, 15:05   #19
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 33
Posts: 963
send emails to "for example" Samsung to produce monitors that can sync down to 15khz and 50hz. Maybe they value their customer that much.

I would immediately buy 2 or maybe 3 such monitors (20"?) if they ever produced one.
ancalimon is offline  
Old 18 December 2009, 16:34   #20
Lockon
Air supremacy

Lockon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Rijeka Croatia
Age: 39
Posts: 109
@Chain
There are a lot of crap, HP included, I agree.
(For instance, earlier model in this 19" range L1940T miss exactly those features)

However, this specific unit has following options under Main Menu/Image control:
Auto Adjustment, Horizontal Position, Vertical Position, Clock, Clock Phase

Last edited by Lockon; 18 December 2009 at 18:23.
Lockon is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
inexpensive 5 -10" lcd displays that support pal, any recommendations? waltermixxx support.Hardware 0 16 August 2013 16:20
LG LCD-TV monitor kixs support.Other 1 23 February 2011 00:30
LCD TV/Monitor problem amigamaniac support.Hardware 10 23 June 2009 19:19
Tiny PAL LCD for A500 Photon support.Hardware 14 12 December 2006 01:05
LCD Monitor subone support.WinUAE 12 17 July 2006 00:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20795 seconds with 11 queries