English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 December 2009, 22:52   #1
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Sega Saturn MK1 screws

Anyone any idea what size & pitch screws a MK1 Saturn has? I took mine to bits a few years ago to fit Region & 60Hz switches & a modchip. Finally got round to doing it (pictures to follow if anyone is interested) and I've misplaced them.

Maybe you've just taken yours apart or you've got some spares etc you can show me so I can hunt around for some alternatives.
alexh is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 December 2009, 03:05   #2
RMK
Registered User
RMK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 177
Can't help you with your quest for screw details unfortunately. However, I'd be interested to see some pics of your mods.
RMK is offline  
Old 17 December 2009, 23:36   #3
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Anyone any idea what size & pitch screws a MK1 Saturn has? I took mine to bits a few years ago to fit Region & 60Hz switches & a modchip. Finally got round to doing it (pictures to follow if anyone is interested) and I've misplaced them.
Last year, shortly before GameStation pulled out of the retro-gaming business, I bought a secondhand MK1 Saturn console from a local branch but it was seriously faulty so I returned it (whereupon they exchanged it for an immaculate, boxed MK2 ).

I visited that shop again today and enquired whether they had any remaining old stock consoles from that time, whether working or not, but it seems they have no Saturns, unfortunately.

I realize it was a long shot, but I figured that if they had kept that old console, I might have been able to pick it up for next to nothing, and that would have provided you with an entire screw set (I'm good like that ).

Now, the obvious question is that I have two MK2 Saturns and could strip one of those and provide you with the information relating to the MK2 screw set, but how useful would that be to you?

If you wish, I could take some pics of a partially stripped MK2 console to help you make that decision.
prowler is offline  
Old 18 December 2009, 00:03   #4
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
I thought I had found an envelope with screws in but I *think* these are all the screws from an A600?

alexh is offline  
Old 18 December 2009, 01:01   #5
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
I have two MK2 Saturns and could strip one of those and provide you with the information relating to the MK2 screw set, but how useful would that be to you?

If you wish, I could take some pics of a partially stripped MK2 console to help you make that decision.
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
I thought I had found an envelope with screws in but I *think* these are all the screws from an A600?
Hmm...

I don't happen to have an A600, so I guess I should take that as an "I'm not interested, thankyou.", then.

You sure know how to blunt people's enthusiasm, Alex.

Last edited by prowler; 18 December 2009 at 01:34.
prowler is offline  
Old 18 December 2009, 01:55   #6
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Don't disassemble your Saturn unless you are doing it anyway.

I can continue Googling for Mod-Chip installation guides see if I can work out the screws from that.
alexh is offline  
Old 18 December 2009, 15:29   #7
Allen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Blyth England
Age: 61
Posts: 733
The 4 self tapper type screws for plastic and the 2 screws by themselves may be for an A600 but the rest of them do not look like they belong to an Amiga at all or maybe a couple could fit the floppy drive?
Allen1 is offline  
Old 18 December 2009, 15:51   #8
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
What made me think they were A600 was perhaps the long ones might be to hold the floppy drive.
alexh is offline  
Old 18 December 2009, 18:14   #9
Allen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Blyth England
Age: 61
Posts: 733
I have only opened my A600 to install a CF drive (about a month ago), there was no need to remove the floppy drive so I don't know the length of the screws but I would guess that they would have a length similar to those at the back of the picture. There isn't that much room inside the case to use those screws at the front of the picture from what I can remember.
Allen1 is offline  
Old 19 December 2009, 07:03   #10
stevsurv
Beta 1.666
stevsurv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in 1985
Posts: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Anyone any idea what size & pitch screws a MK1 Saturn has? I took mine to bits a few years ago to fit Region & 60Hz switches & a modchip. Finally got round to doing it (pictures to follow if anyone is interested) and I've misplaced them.

Maybe you've just taken yours apart or you've got some spares etc you can show me so I can hunt around for some alternatives.

No sorry can't help u here.
stevsurv is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sega Saturn Emulator fitzsteve Retrogaming General Discussion 9 19 May 2012 17:25
Sega Saturn question ??? plasmatron Retrogaming General Discussion 169 27 March 2010 17:26
For Sale: Mk1 Sega Master System scrappysphinx MarketPlace 3 10 March 2010 00:55
Sega Saturn emulation boing_1000 Retrogaming General Discussion 50 07 March 2010 13:10
Best Sega Saturn Games? Uukrul Retrogaming General Discussion 45 24 July 2009 11:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14871 seconds with 11 queries