English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 November 2009, 19:38   #1
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
New home for my Amiga...

Thought I would give my Amiga a new home dowstairs behind the Sofa. I'm a dead man when the wife gets home but thats not till Tuesday!

I've had this old PC desk in the loft for a couple of years so thought i'd put it to good use...

fitzsteve is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 26 November 2009, 19:51   #2
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,284
Man, you're so gonna get it when she gets back But probably worth it for now
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 26 November 2009, 20:03   #3
Peter
Unemployed & Lovin' it
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 49
Posts: 2,614
I can picture my girlfriend's face now if she saw that on display... Good Luck!!
Peter is offline  
Old 26 November 2009, 20:15   #4
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Quick, stick a few shoes and handbags around it and you may be ok.

Or put a nice shoe rack up in room too, to ease the blow.

Do something, or you'll get the frown and endless chipping away until it gets relegated back to wherest it cameth!!!!

(setup looks awesome BTW)
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 26 November 2009, 20:16   #5
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,515
Which scandoubler do you use, Indy?
Predseda is offline  
Old 26 November 2009, 20:27   #6
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Predseda View Post
Which scandoubler do you use, Indy?
None, thats a standard RGB Scart on an LCD (Non HD) TV Set.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 26 November 2009, 20:28   #7
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodwych View Post

(setup looks awesome BTW)
Thanks And I do owe you thanks since its Awesome Classic WB!

Im getting another A1200 with 3.1 roms, is it worth trying CWB OS3.9?

Last edited by fitzsteve; 26 November 2009 at 20:33.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 26 November 2009, 21:03   #8
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel
gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 36
Posts: 2,943
man, I'd never do that, pulling something off behind my girlfriend's back. Not because she'll kill me, but because she'll do the same to me! And she is WAY more creative than I am...

In any case, nice setup! You can still sleep with your Amiga while she is away.
gimbal is offline  
Old 26 November 2009, 21:53   #9
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
Idea: Call her *before* she gets home and give her a heads-up... "I have two suprises for you". Get/prepare something nice for her (surprise #1) and then show her surprise #2. Might ease the blow. Maybe.

Looks cool btw. Is the picture any good? Which model is it? Looking for one myself.

Nice touch with the keyboard shelf, allowing the "old piece of junk" (c) normal people to be kept out of sight...

Perhaps a road to acceptance could be to go with Lyra+modern shiny PS/2 keyboard, Cocolino with a modern optical mouse, and... what to do with the joystick...? (Good choice btw) and hide the PSU and hide/tidy things up in general...? Maybe
Photon is offline  
Old 26 November 2009, 22:12   #10
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Its a JVC LT-17E31BJE its a nice little set, great picture. I got on Ebay about 3 months back for around 20. I'd seen people using Amigas on LCD TV's and looking good so I thought I would try one, before I was using my old 1084.

I posted some pics of the screen in another thread:

http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...&postcount=276

Edit:

I also took this video before I upgraded to 030 thats why it runs a little slow in the vid:

[ Show youtube player ]

Really pleased with my setup now. I am pretty sure I'll get away with it, if not I can sleep in she shed for a few days and put the Amiga back upstairs! I think I will keep it on the PC stand though - Im really happy with how it fits.

I got that Joystick at a Boot Fair years ago for 2 what a bargain! And it works in 2 button mode as well, was trying out the MasterSystem EMU that comes with Amigasys4 and on my 030 it runs at full speed, I was play Alex Kid for ages!

Good times.

Last edited by fitzsteve; 26 November 2009 at 22:34.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 26 November 2009, 23:07   #11
DH
Global Moderator

DH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: In a Pub
Age: 50
Posts: 3,981
Trust me, if she's anything like my wife, she'll go ballistic

Under no account should you tell her, as this will give her too much time to think about what you have done. She'll come back on Tuesday, blood boiling 'cause she doesn't know what to expect, along with a very good viable and justified reason for it to be gone. Simple as that.

When you do let the cat out of the bag, tell her while she's watching all of her soaps on TV you can still be with her in the same room, instead of being separated by the ceiling The only problem that I can see with a setup like this, is who's going to make the cups of tea and coffee all night and who's going to do the dishes (Perish the thought)

EDIT: Apart from all of that, it's perfect where it is and your wife should be thankful that you've utilised the space in a very thoughtful manner
DH is offline  
Old 26 November 2009, 23:37   #12
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by DemonHellraiser View Post

EDIT: Apart from all of that, it's perfect where it is and your wife should be thankful that you've utilised the space in a very thoughtful manner
Amen
fitzsteve is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How convenient is it to have more than one Amiga at home ? NewDeli Nostalgia & memories 30 09 April 2009 01:06
A Home For My Amiga Games CodyJarrett Swapshop 15 07 July 2007 22:12
Amiga, 9, seeks new home Matfink MarketPlace 7 02 March 2007 19:34
Is the Amiga still the only computer you have at home? Slayer Nostalgia & memories 25 19 August 2006 13:23
Amiga 1200 Looking For New Home bondy542000 MarketPlace 1 07 August 2004 22:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25065 seconds with 11 queries