English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 December 2009, 02:45   #61
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,939
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kitty View Post
just waiting for the chip from DoogUK
Remember the Waiting Room in the game Dizzy? The room which if you got into there was no way out except suicide?

Why not wait a while? Why not wait forever?
alexh is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 27 April 2010, 22:19   #62
Yod@
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Bangor, N. Ireland
Age: 41
Posts: 74
Sorry for the bump folks, does anyone know where I might be able to get hold of a modchip for a PAL PSOne, and a modchip for the old grey series of Playstations?

Does a universal modchip exist which works on ALL Playstations?
Yod@ is offline  
Old 27 April 2010, 23:08   #63
Locash
Registered User
Locash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sunny Wales
Posts: 86
If you cant find one to buy, the HEX code is still available for download from alot of websites. You just need to buy the right PIC chip and a writer. The last releases supported all PSX version.
Locash is offline  
Old 19 May 2010, 23:24   #64
Yod@
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Bangor, N. Ireland
Age: 41
Posts: 74
Well, I have a serial JDM programmer, some PIC 12c508A OTP chips and some hex code for the Multimode 3 and Onechip (from eurasia.nu).

But can I get either of them to work? No!
I'm fairly certain I've figured out how to program them correctly now (using ICProg), but the PSOne I'm using won't boot any discs with the chip installed. Works as normal with the chip removed.

Anybody have any advice?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ICProg1.JPG
Views:	314
Size:	125.4 KB
ID:	25357   Click image for larger version

Name:	ICProg2.JPG
Views:	205
Size:	25.0 KB
ID:	25358   Click image for larger version

Name:	ICProg3.JPG
Views:	177
Size:	26.2 KB
ID:	25359  
Yod@ is offline  
Old 20 May 2010, 00:33   #65
Crackersixx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Seattle, wa
Age: 44
Posts: 65
For anyone still looking to buy:
http://www.modchip.ca/store/home.php?cat=256

Seems to still have stock. I bought the "Breaker Pro" disk, which works well enough for me..
Crackersixx is offline  
Old 20 May 2010, 00:41   #66
Peter
Unemployed & Lovin' it
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 49
Posts: 2,614
Wont work on a PAL PSOne will it?
Peter is offline  
Old 20 May 2010, 01:01   #67
Yod@
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Bangor, N. Ireland
Age: 41
Posts: 74
Before I bought my programmer I ordered a couple of chips from http://www.eurasia.nu/shop/default.php - cheap and reasonable delivery considering it's from Thailand (took about a week).

They have PAL chips, too.
Yod@ is offline  
Old 20 May 2010, 05:50   #68
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,235
I've gotta ask why would you bother.. You can get a PS2 for $20 these days.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 20 May 2010, 14:00   #69
Yod@
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Bangor, N. Ireland
Age: 41
Posts: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
I've gotta ask why would you bother.. You can get a PS2 for $20 these days.
A standard PS2 won't play imports.
Yod@ is offline  
Old 20 May 2010, 14:05   #70
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,235
Thats not entirely true. If you've got a HDD, a modchip isn't needed to play backups/imports from it.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 20 May 2010, 14:12   #71
Yod@
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Bangor, N. Ireland
Age: 41
Posts: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
Thats not entirely true. If you've got a HDD, a modchip isn't needed to play backups/imports from it.
Mate, we're talking about PS1 modchips here.
You can't play PS1 games using HDLoader unless something has changed very recently.
Yod@ is offline  
Old 20 May 2010, 14:33   #72
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,235
Doog: Are you able to supply any PS2 modchips at all?
Hewitson is offline  
Old 20 May 2010, 14:58   #73
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 861
for ps2 use freemcb, function on any ps2 (not 9000x) in normal memory card

for ps1 if find chip pre-prommed is best why the pic is write one (no rewrite)
cpiac64 is offline  
Old 23 May 2010, 01:36   #74
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
Doog: Are you able to supply any PS2 modchips at all?
DoogUK: Last Activity: 26 November 2009 12:38
prowler is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP need correct modchip installation diagram for scph-1000 motherboard version PU-7 360owns Retrogaming General Discussion 7 26 February 2013 23:57
FS: Playstation and or games Djay MarketPlace 0 10 February 2012 02:05
Playstation adaptor JACK98 support.Hardware 8 07 May 2010 05:09
Playstation 3 and Amiga OS 4 vince8835 Amiga scene 49 15 December 2009 12:11
Playstation CD compilation laser Retrogaming General Discussion 13 22 December 2008 14:40

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.17265 seconds with 12 queries