English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 November 2009, 18:39   #21
Kitty
Canít rain all the time..

Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,503
Awesome thanks DoogUK for my PSX 1 fix

(thankyou alexh for your offer btw )

Edit So on the 7502 install which point does the no.5 go?

Last edited by Kitty; 25 November 2009 at 18:57.
Kitty is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 25 November 2009, 18:52   #22
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,946
You sure you do not need the extra wires for stealth mode?

I've seen loads of 3 & 4 wire "classic" solder diagrams but I thought they were not using the full capabilities of the mod-chip and so did not enable some titles i.e. Dino Crisis, Final Fantasy VIII, Pocket MuuMuu and MANY more import titles.

Last edited by alexh; 25 November 2009 at 18:59.
alexh is offline  
Old 25 November 2009, 19:06   #23
DoogUK
Doogster
DoogUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dorset
Posts: 1,069
Correct Alex...it's 7 wires on this chip for stealth mode, but it's only a handful of games that use the modchip detection as this was only added in the last days of psx game develpment.
DoogUK is offline  
Old 25 November 2009, 19:07   #24
DoogUK
Doogster
DoogUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dorset
Posts: 1,069
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kitty View Post
Awesome thanks DoogUK for my PSX 1 fix

(thankyou alexh for your offer btw )

Edit So on the 7502 install which point does the no.5 go?
At the point marked number 5...just under bottom left of the big chip in the center of the diagram.
DoogUK is offline  
Old 25 November 2009, 19:10   #25
Kitty
Canít rain all the time..

Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,503
Dino Crisis is an old game I would have thought that wouldnt need stealth?
Have you got the 7 wire install picture for 7502 DoogUK just in case I decide to be brave
Kitty is offline  
Old 25 November 2009, 19:13   #26
DoogUK
Doogster
DoogUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dorset
Posts: 1,069
For the handful of games that use it...you can just patch the iso, i had to patch a lot of iso's to change from ntsc to pal as well.

Bringing back memories this thread is..it's been years since i did PSX stuff.
DoogUK is offline  
Old 25 November 2009, 19:14   #27
DoogUK
Doogster
DoogUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dorset
Posts: 1,069
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kitty View Post
Dino Crisis is an old game I would have thought that wouldnt need stealth?
Have you got the 7 wire install picture for 7502 DoogUK just in case I decide to be brave
Dino crisis 2 did i believe.
DoogUK is offline  
Old 25 November 2009, 19:14   #28
Kitty
Canít rain all the time..

Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,503
yeah I heard about patching iso's didnt know the reason why though, are there still any good live websites for patching information?

Would this be the 7 wire install or is there different ways on the 7502?


Kitty is offline  
Old 25 November 2009, 19:21   #29
DoogUK
Doogster
DoogUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dorset
Posts: 1,069
I've never used the stealth mod personaly...never needed it.

WWW.megagames.com

realy good info
DoogUK is offline  
Old 25 November 2009, 19:23   #30
DoogUK
Doogster
DoogUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dorset
Posts: 1,069
Seems they removed all their PSX/PS2 info...it used to be excellent that site.
DoogUK is offline  
Old 25 November 2009, 19:28   #31
Kitty
Canít rain all the time..

Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,503
That sites perfect!
I had a look at Dinos Crisis, seems that Dino Crisis 1 is the one that needs a protection fix and Dino Crisis 2 dosn't! bit weird seeing as its older!
Theres a lot of ntsc/pal fixes for Dino Crisis 2 though.
Is it PPF-O-Matic I need to patch iso's?

Quote:
Seems they removed all their PSX/PS2 info...it used to be excellent that site.
Its all there still

http://www.megagames.com/psx/psx_patches.shtml
http://www.megagames.com/psx/psx_utils.shtml
Kitty is offline  
Old 25 November 2009, 19:32   #32
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,946
More details on obsolete site

http://www.gsmcables.i12.com/installation.htm

If you're gonna bother doing 4-solders you may as well do 7 no? I recommend practising several times on bits of scrap.
alexh is offline  
Old 25 November 2009, 19:44   #33
Kitty
Canít rain all the time..

Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,503
Well I don't mind trying the 7 wire install when DoogUK's chip arrives but I need the correct picture for 7502, I'm not sure I got the right one above.

Last edited by Kitty; 25 November 2009 at 21:08.
Kitty is offline  
Old 25 November 2009, 20:16   #34
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,928
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoogUK View Post
Seems they removed all their PSX/PS2 info...it used to be excellent that site.
http://www.megagames.com/psx/psx_patches.shtml
Retroplay is offline  
Old 25 November 2009, 21:33   #35
Kitty
Canít rain all the time..

Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,503
Ok I won the 7502, ended up paying £8.50 due to 2 other bidders, still not a bad price though ..



I also bought this on ebay for 99p



and some blue Kynar Wire for £1.00


Last edited by Kitty; 25 November 2009 at 22:59.
Kitty is offline  
Old 25 November 2009, 21:45   #36
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,946
If you're curious I've got a prototype PS somewhere... I could try and dig it out. Looks very similar but loads more ports on the back, slightly different logo, lots of wires sticking out for the CD-Emulator.
alexh is offline  
Old 25 November 2009, 21:46   #37
Kitty
Canít rain all the time..

Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,503
Quote:
If you're curious I've got a prototype PS somewhere... I could try and dig it out. Looks very similar but loads more ports on the back, slightly different logo, lots of wires sticking out for the CD-Emulator.
Sounds interesting
Kitty is offline  
Old 25 November 2009, 21:52   #38
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,946
The first company I worked for in 1996 designed the GTE(?) the PS1 gfx chip. They had loads of junked PS1's lying around.
alexh is offline  
Old 25 November 2009, 22:17   #39
Kitty
Canít rain all the time..

Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,503
I demand prototype PS pics or it never happend
Kitty is offline  
Old 25 November 2009, 22:32   #40
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
wow this is so cool thanks to doogh for the chips and kitty for starting the thread

would like to see that ps as well alexh
cosmicfrog is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP need correct modchip installation diagram for scph-1000 motherboard version PU-7 360owns Retrogaming General Discussion 7 26 February 2013 23:57
FS: Playstation and or games Djay MarketPlace 0 10 February 2012 02:05
Playstation adaptor JACK98 support.Hardware 8 07 May 2010 05:09
Playstation 3 and Amiga OS 4 vince8835 Amiga scene 49 15 December 2009 12:11
Playstation CD compilation laser Retrogaming General Discussion 13 22 December 2008 14:40

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.35143 seconds with 12 queries