English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 November 2009, 19:01   #1
Nikolaj_sofus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Copenhagen / Denmark
Age: 37
Posts: 259
Send a message via MSN to Nikolaj_sofus
What if!?

how hard is it to make a new PPC accelerator for the a1200?

Browsing vesalia's webshop, i saw the efika board featuring the MPC5200B powerpc based microcontroller.

http://www.freescale.com/webapp/sps/...?code=MPC5200B

How cool would it be if someone managed to put it on an a1200 acc. board?!
it features USB, ethernet, vga etc. meaning that you would be able to save a lot of other expansions such as scandoublers.
I guess that ddr ram would be quite a lot cheaper then scavanging for old simms as well.

Any passionate hardware engineers out there who is up for a projekt like ware engineers out there who is up for a projethat?
Nikolaj_sofus is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 18 November 2009, 19:26   #2
JLPedro
JLPedro
JLPedro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Coimbra, Portugal
Age: 41
Posts: 81
If it's only a PPC accelerator why not just buy the efica itself?? Making that sort of hardware for the A1200 wouldn't bring any advantage over the efica board, plus making it expensive and just for a nitch of market.
I don't even see the point of having a PPC card on a Classic Amiga, the Sam cost's the same as a PPC card for the A1200, and it's new!!
If you want to upgrade a Classic Amiga go for a 060 card, a Blizzard if you can!

But that's just me....
JLPedro is online now  
Old 18 November 2009, 21:23   #3
Nikolaj_sofus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Copenhagen / Denmark
Age: 37
Posts: 259
Send a message via MSN to Nikolaj_sofus
I dont have that much interest in PPC accelerators myself and would much rather have an 030-060 accelerator since what my plans are for my amiga is mainly a retro gaming platform.

I'ts more about the power consumption... i would guess that a classic PPC accelerator generates too much head for use in a stock desktop a1200.

The mpc5200b is rated at 1 watt, which would make it ideal for use on an a1200 desktop accelerator.

Must say that i have been thinking of getting myself an efica.

Do you know if it' would actually make a decent platform for everyday use such as webbrowsing, mp3 playback and IM's?

Would be great to be able to keep the pc offline a bit more
Nikolaj_sofus is offline  
Old 18 November 2009, 23:59   #4
JLPedro
JLPedro
JLPedro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Coimbra, Portugal
Age: 41
Posts: 81
For that I think (and I'm no expert...) most guy's over here would recomend to get a Sam. But wait for a second opinion .
JLPedro is online now  
Old 19 November 2009, 09:19   #5
Nikolaj_sofus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Copenhagen / Denmark
Age: 37
Posts: 259
Send a message via MSN to Nikolaj_sofus
Quote:
Originally Posted by JLPedro View Post
For that I think (and I'm no expert...) most guy's over here would recomend to get a Sam. But wait for a second opinion .
The problem is, that i got a limited amount of space and already got a towered PC and my amiga 1200, my wife would probably get a bit grumpy if i got another full size machine

plus that i have a rather limited budget for it.

You can get an efika with harddrive and gfx for about 300 euros at vesalia.
that you cant get a sam for
Nikolaj_sofus is offline  
Old 19 November 2009, 13:39   #6
JLPedro
JLPedro
JLPedro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Coimbra, Portugal
Age: 41
Posts: 81
There's one on the other bay right now, a SAM 440EP-FLEX 667mhz + 512mb + Ati 9250 128. But yes, it's more expensive than the efica.
JLPedro is online now  
Old 19 November 2009, 15:44   #7
Nikolaj_sofus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Copenhagen / Denmark
Age: 37
Posts: 259
Send a message via MSN to Nikolaj_sofus
i saw in another thread somewhere that someone remapped some of hes memory on hes radeon gfx-card to use as fastram on hes towered a1200.

Could something like that be possible on the afika?

i see that you can get it with a 256 mb radeon card.
If half of that could be joined with the 128 mb onboard, it could probably be a lot better used.
Nikolaj_sofus is offline  
Old 19 November 2009, 16:08   #8
JLPedro
JLPedro
JLPedro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Coimbra, Portugal
Age: 41
Posts: 81
No I don't think so... that's just for mediator. And is there a card for old PCI with 256MB of ram???

It's just me or we are having a one on one conversation here. LOL.
JLPedro is online now  
Old 19 November 2009, 16:39   #9
Nikolaj_sofus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Copenhagen / Denmark
Age: 37
Posts: 259
Send a message via MSN to Nikolaj_sofus
there is an pci to agp adaptor for the 9250 that comes with it.
you can get the 9250 with 256 mb
Nikolaj_sofus is offline  
Old 19 November 2009, 19:50   #10
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by JLPedro View Post
If it's only a PPC accelerator why not just buy the efica itself?? Making that sort of hardware for the A1200 wouldn't bring any advantage over the efica board, plus making it expensive and just for a nitch of market.
I don't even see the point of having a PPC card on a Classic Amiga, the Sam cost's the same as a PPC card for the A1200, and it's new!!
If you want to upgrade a Classic Amiga go for a 060 card, a Blizzard if you can!

But that's just me....
Hear hear.

But you're welcome to convince a dev to make an A1200 PPC board just for you, ofc.


I don't consider anything that doesn't run WB 3.1 natively an Amiga - but that's just my opinion. The Efika looks like a small, nice, and capable board, it doesn't need a plastic case moulded by Commodore around it to be good!

Unless you want the "now considered crappy" AGA chipset for some reason...?
Photon is offline  
Old 19 November 2009, 21:02   #11
Cammy
Registered User
Cammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Age: 32
Posts: 1,134
Why not get a 1.5Ghz G4 MacMini and run MorphOS on it? MorphOS is the best Amiga OS, has the most software, and runs the fastest. AmigaOS4 has nothing over it except screen dragging and transparent windows. It'll run all your 68k software too.
Cammy is offline  
Old 20 November 2009, 10:14   #12
Nikolaj_sofus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Copenhagen / Denmark
Age: 37
Posts: 259
Send a message via MSN to Nikolaj_sofus
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cammy View Post
Why not get a 1.5Ghz G4 MacMini and run MorphOS on it? MorphOS is the best Amiga OS, has the most software, and runs the fastest. AmigaOS4 has nothing over it except screen dragging and transparent windows. It'll run all your 68k software too.
might be worth browsing all the used markets in denmark for that
I'll look into it.
Nikolaj_sofus is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24281 seconds with 10 queries