English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 March 2010, 00:35   #141
Jack Burton
It's all in the reflexes!
Jack Burton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wingkong warehouses
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by xpect View Post
AVI is just a container, as is MP4, MKV, OGM and so on. The type of compression is what defines the type of video decoder needed. As far as AVI4HV goes, the original video beeing h263 (divx,xvid and others), h264 (x264, and many commercial others) or <put your preferred format codec here> is not important. Only VirtualDub (or other tool) has to deal with those types of different supported encoding formats and has to be able to load the respective type of supported containers. This way VirtualDub can process and convert to the needed 16-bit 320pixels uncompressed AVI format. Being AVI the container and the 16-bit uncompressed data the format.
So for AVI4HV the only important format is the last one which is the only supported. In what format the videos are encoded is only relevant for the processing tool, in this case VirtualDub. I hope this will be more clear to you.
Okay, thanks for the explanations, I thought containers like MP4 were in fact the compression formats. I think it's more clear now. That's why they all fail when I use them except for MPEG1 ones.


Quote:
Maybe the culprit on your side could be indeed the version of VirtualDub, maybe is outputting a wrong 16-bit uncompressed data or the AVI RIFF header can't be 100% understood by avi4hv.
It should be something like that. I have to try with the last version of VirtualDub, maybe it will work better.


Quote:
Those versions (avi3hv, avi2hv) need a 100% compatible DOS environment and don't work on the emulated XP CMD.

Maybe i'll assemble a WIN98SE virtual machine and try from there if I have time and patience.
Let's cross our fingers then !
Jack Burton is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 13 April 2010, 13:36   #142
Maren
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: *
Posts: 567
Here's my take.

320x216@30fps. Plays at full speed on WinUAE (no hard drive bottleneck, no hassle!) with the default A500 config + Cycle Exact using HAMP.RUN directly from AmigaDOS. This would probably run like hell on my real A500, but I can't be arsed to test it right now
Maren is offline  
Old 13 April 2010, 16:42   #143
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,776
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maren View Post
Here's my take.

320x216@30fps. Plays at full speed on WinUAE (no hard drive bottleneck, no hassle!) with the default A500 config + Cycle Exact using HAMP.RUN directly from AmigaDOS. This would probably run like hell on my real A500, but I can't be arsed to test it right now
Thats come out quite nicely
Only Amiga Da da da da
-But I kinda hate that song Tested on real Amiga A1200/030@40 Little bit slow.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 14 April 2010, 00:40   #144
Maren
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: *
Posts: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Boo View Post
Thats come out quite nicely
Only Amiga Da da da da
-But I kinda hate that song Tested on real Amiga A1200/030@40 Little bit slow.
Thanks, but actually it came out like a complete piece of garbage Reason is, I did not process the video adequately before the conversion, it was meant to fix a couple of nasty artifacts (and boy, do them crap quality youtube videos have more than 2) but nothing more.

Anyways, here's another one. A lil bit of a restoration work as well, and a lot shorter, just for the kicks. I'm transferring this one to my A500 via Amiga Explorer, but at 9600 bps, better 20mb than 200mb
Maren is offline  
Old 15 April 2010, 06:51   #145
Maren
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: *
Posts: 567
Here's the last one. Short but kickarse old-school early 80's CGI footage

Sadly I couldn't transfer the other vid to my Amiga, the HD stopped responding at some point, it must be damaged, I know for a fact there's enough free space
Maren is offline  
Old 15 April 2010, 18:26   #146
ImmortalA1000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: london/england
Posts: 347
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maren View Post
Here's my take.

320x216@30fps. Plays at full speed on WinUAE (no hard drive bottleneck, no hassle!) with the default A500 config + Cycle Exact using HAMP.RUN directly from AmigaDOS. This would probably run like hell on my real A500, but I can't be arsed to test it right now
Interesting, WinUAE probably isn't going to restrict I/O speeds to real A600/A1200 levels in the interests of emulation though probably.

There is always a way to maximise throughput but if the A600 IDE interface is the bottleneck even a 7200RPM 2.5 IDE drive won't help really.

Maybe if someone has the ICD Add-IDE on an A500 could try out some clips using a fast CF card<-->IDE adaptor for us?
ImmortalA1000 is offline  
Old 15 April 2010, 18:36   #147
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,776
I dont see how a standard A500 could play 320x216@30fps
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 15 April 2010, 20:29   #148
Maren
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: *
Posts: 567
That's exactly what I wanted to see, how much of a slideshow it would be.
Maren is offline  
Old 27 October 2010, 18:19   #149
dkovacs
Registered User
dkovacs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Goderich Ontario Canada
Age: 41
Posts: 64
This looks interesting - I wonder how well a full length movie would work on it - Beowolf would look awesome on the Amiga.
dkovacs is offline  
Old 31 October 2010, 01:26   #150
ImmortalA1000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: london/england
Posts: 347
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Boo View Post
I dont see how a standard A500 could play 320x216@30fps
Dump the uncompressed 32k screen from I/O device direct into screen memory location. Do it 24x a second. To be honest you need an ICD Ad-IDE or Zorro based SCSI/IDE adaptor to do it and a decent RPM speed drive to avoid delays seeking the data.

Probably looking at 320x180 which would give you roughly 16:9 widescreen...which all movie/TV is transmitted in now too. 2.35:1 probably 320x145 rez.

The problem is nobody ever had any info to help me with how to stream interleaved audio/video data so it went nowhere. You can't even get a dummies guide to how AVI works using google and I gave up.

Also nobody seems to have an answer for PC package with batch functions that saves out in HAM6 format or EHB either. Can't even find a package that saves a single HAM image on the PC one by one.

ATARI STs manage 8-10FPS with crappy MFM 15mb drives in 1986 in 320x200 uncompressed 16 colour screens.
ImmortalA1000 is offline  
Old 31 October 2010, 12:19   #151
Jack Burton
It's all in the reflexes!
Jack Burton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wingkong warehouses
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImmortalA1000 View Post
Also nobody seems to have an answer for PC package with batch functions that saves out in HAM6 format or EHB either. Can't even find a package that saves a single HAM image on the PC one by one.
For this you should use ImageFX on the Amiga/WinUAE.

2 years ago I did some experiments to play HAM8 movie (say to render frame sequences). I made a 5 sec frame capture while playing a DVD movie on my pc with KMPlayer. I saved all the frames (+100 pics).
Then I transfered all the pics to my Amiga and used ImageFX to convert them to 800x120 or something like that (do not remember correctly) in Super HiRes HAM8, to get the equivalent of a ~200x120 (each pixel being divided by 4 to reduce HAM fringing).
And then I loaded each converted pics with True Brilliance, as a +100 frames animation, and played it at around 12/16 fps.

I remember being stunned by the quality : no compression artifacts, no HAM fringing, quite sharp and colored image, it was a great enjoyment !
But it was basicaly an animation, without audio, of course.
Jack Burton is offline  
Old 31 October 2010, 12:43   #152
Jimbo
Registered User
Jimbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Colchester Essex
Age: 38
Posts: 822
I might test this today.
Jimbo is offline  
Old 31 October 2010, 12:53   #153
frank_b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Boston USA
Posts: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImmortalA1000 View Post
ATARI STs manage 8-10FPS with crappy MFM 15mb drives in 1986 in 320x200 uncompressed 16 colour screens.
The ST has a pretty nifty DMA controller which was seriously fast in its day.
1.2 mbs full DMA with 75% of the CPU cycles free. Some people have managed to get 2 mbs out of it. That probably helped. I can't imagine any hard disk drive from 86 could have pushed the ST. I really like the idea of these videos on the Amiga. Pretty cool.
frank_b is offline  
Old 03 November 2010, 18:54   #154
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDNI View Post
Hi all, I have been speaking to the author of the HAM6 encoding software and playback app (T.J Edminster).
The files can be found in the zone.
I will upload the existing .hv movies files to the web later.
What is the name of the App please? can't find it in the Zone !
Thanks
gibs is offline  
Old 03 November 2010, 19:06   #155
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,776
AVI2HV I think the update was called avi4hv
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 03 November 2010, 19:20   #156
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
can you see it in the Zone ?
I can't find it in the Zone!
I also tried on the file server...and google
gibs is offline  
Old 03 November 2010, 19:49   #157
Graham Humphrey
Global Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 31
Posts: 10,974
You won't find it in the Zone because it was uploaded - and expired - nearly a year ago

Hopefully he'll upload it again.
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 03 November 2010, 21:03   #158
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
I found HAMNEW.RUN

But when I try with the sample file "space.hv" on the cli:

hamnew.run space.hv

nothing happen ! I just loose the mouse.

I tried on e-uae and the minimig.
gibs is offline  
Old 04 November 2010, 04:15   #159
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
Come on guys, I'm waiting.

Please upload hamp.run :-)

Edit 8H53: Ok I got it

Last edited by gibs; 04 November 2010 at 09:54.
gibs is offline  
Old 06 November 2010, 17:34   #160
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
Result on my "stock" Amiga 600: [ Show youtube player ]
gibs is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Movies/TV programs with amiga's in em! ElectroBlaster Retrogaming General Discussion 216 17 February 2017 19:14
Favorite Amiga appearances on TV/Movies nlandas Amiga scene 25 15 December 2009 11:07
Looking for screenshots of Amiga computers in movies. Ironclaw Retrogaming General Discussion 32 30 May 2007 00:30
Concerning converting and viewing animations and movies on Amiga and PC Shoonay support.Apps 3 16 June 2006 22:39
Movies that used an Amiga alkis21 Retrogaming General Discussion 27 20 September 2002 21:34

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.41629 seconds with 12 queries