English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 November 2009, 00:42   #1
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,785
WinUAE for Mac OS X?

Mac OS X is a great operating system but to put it lightly UAE sucks balls on it. I do know Toni hates PPC but I don't know if he does not like OS X. I am willing to give Tony a Intel based Mac and $1000 to port WinUAE to Mac OS X. Is anyone else in this with me and does Toni even like that idea?

Last edited by Pyromania; 09 November 2009 at 00:42. Reason: Typo
Pyromania is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 09 November 2009, 01:01   #2
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 36
Posts: 2,478
i manage ok with e-uae on OSX. it runs perfectly well, there are just a few things that need improvement. Development seems to have stopped, however, which i find frustrating on both OSX and on Linux. (actually more so on Linux because those bugs hinder my usage of it on the PS3)


However, if winuae was ported to OSX i would use it without a doubt, and if you want to offer $1000 and a nice shiney Mac to Toni, then i'll back that 100%
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 09 November 2009, 01:07   #3
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,278
You would be better off spending your money on Parallels Desktop 5 for Mac and running WinUAE in that.

Windows applications will generally run faster in Parallels Desktop than when ported to Mac OS X.
prowler is offline  
Old 09 November 2009, 01:08   #4
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,591
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyromania View Post
I am willing to give Tony a Intel based Mac and $1000 to port WinUAE to Mac OS X.
What is this supposed to show? That you have too much money to spare? I really do not like such posts (and I censor myself here as otherwise this post would really not be nice to read!), do you think money will solve all problems or make it more "fun" to port something?
StingRay is offline  
Old 09 November 2009, 01:16   #5
Leffmann

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,029
I would love to see WinUAE ported to OS X too. I have a lot of respect for Toni and I admire him for sticking to WinUAE and putting in so much time and effort and letting the rest of us benefit from it for free, but I have to say it's a shame it wasn't done with portability in mind from the start.

It's a very commendable donation from you Pyro. Even if I could give away a Mac and $1000 like that I'm not sure I would. I would consider a smaller donation like $10-20 though, and if more people feel the same then maybe we could raise the donation enough to find Toni's sweet spot so to speak
Leffmann is offline  
Old 09 November 2009, 01:18   #6
wilshy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SouthEast-ish UK
Posts: 362
Send a message via AIM to wilshy Send a message via MSN to wilshy
Don't get me wrong I'd love the versatility of WinUAE but been using e-UAE on the Mac for nearly 3 years now & it hasn't been troubled by anything I throw at it. From a full on Workbench to some classic aga demos. All run pretty decently especially since it's last update with OpenGL rendering & uni binaries.
wilshy is offline  
Old 09 November 2009, 01:23   #7
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 36
Posts: 2,478
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
You would be better off spending your money on Parallels Desktop 5 for Mac and running WinUAE in that.

Windows applications will generally run faster in Parallels Desktop than when ported to Mac OS X.
i've tried it and it's not a great experience tbh, plus you have to boot windows!


edit: if you're going to do that, you might as well just use BootCamp and be running Windows natively.

Last edited by Hungry Horace; 09 November 2009 at 01:43.
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 09 November 2009, 03:30   #8
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 49
Posts: 2,802
Well, I use Fusion 3.0 with WinUAE, as well as Hi-Toro, which is light years better on an Intel Mac than my old PPC G4. No need, at least for me, for Toni to work on an Intel WinUAE.
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 09 November 2009, 03:31   #9
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,785
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
What is this supposed to show? That you have too much money to spare? I really do not like such posts (and I censor myself here as otherwise this post would really not be nice to read!), do you think money will solve all problems or make it more "fun" to port something?
No it shows that I use Windows less and less and want a OS X version of WinUAE.
Pyromania is offline  
Old 09 November 2009, 09:05   #10
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,776
What about trying Wine?
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 09 November 2009, 09:50   #11
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
yep I often wondered if wine works on osX
in my opinion Pyromania your targeting the wrong person and should find a developer of equal worth in the mac community
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 09 November 2009, 10:28   #12
chiark
Needs a life

chiark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 1,621
I'm using VMWare fusion 3 and WinUAE... It works quite nicely.
chiark is offline  
Old 09 November 2009, 17:30   #13
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,943
Sorry, I can't accept this offer. I do something because I want to do it, money does not matter. (for example I absolutely do not want to learn yet another assembly language or how "other" operating systems handle display, sound etc), also I won't and can't make any guarantees. Never. Sooner or later the complaints start if I have to promise something.

Anyway, IMHO this needs to made in small parts, for example one task would be rewrite of the GUI with something portable (like wxwidgets, MUST use native GUI elements, I hate "alien" GUIs) There is no point in having multiple GUI parts etc..

GUI rewrite is something I can volunteer, someday.. Anything that makes it more portable without taking "lowest common denominator API" path is fine with me.

You realy need someone who knows OSX specific programming (plus preferably C, Amiga and Windows knowledge) I am not interested.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 09 November 2009, 17:30   #14
Leffmann

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,029
I doubt you'll find an OS X dev who will gladly dive into the WinUAE source. It's so extensive that it will take a big effort to even get a decent understanding of it. The only one who seems to be able to even get it to compile on its intended Windows target without asking the help of others is Toni himself!

I run WinUAE through VirtualBox with the Direct 3D addon installed. There are some glitches and stretched graphics here and there and the mouse and keyboard interaction through the virtualization is a bit sluggish, but none of the alternatives I tried were any better.
Leffmann is offline  
Old 09 November 2009, 17:32   #15
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,785
No worries Toni, WinUAE works great on my Aspire One netbook that boots Android and XP. I might also pick up one of those new sexy Sony laptops that have HDMI out.

@cosmicfrog

We bought the commercial version of Wine (Crossover) and it did not run WinUAE nicely for us.

Last edited by Pyromania; 09 November 2009 at 18:49.
Pyromania is offline  
Old 09 November 2009, 21:04   #16
gilgamesh
Linux snob

gilgamesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Monkey Island
Posts: 997
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hungry Horace View Post
i manage ok with e-uae on OSX. it runs perfectly well, there are just a few things that need improvement. Development seems to have stopped, however, which i find frustrating on both OSX and on Linux.
There is a recent heir to e-uae called p-uae.
http://github.com/GnoStiC/PUAE
gilgamesh is offline  
Old 09 November 2009, 23:15   #17
Dic_Ray
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 96
I agree with Pyromania to encourage Toni to port WinUAE to Mac OS X. Even I would participate in a donation action. Would like to let the dream come true.

Why we can't initiate a Bounty for this?
Dic_Ray is offline  
Old 09 November 2009, 23:18   #18
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,785
@Dic_Ray

I'll setup a bounty for this today, Toni is not interested though so we will have to attract another coder/coders for it.
Pyromania is offline  
Old 09 November 2009, 23:23   #19
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
I`ll repeat for those that .......

Encourage a person from the mac community

Toin is willing to help

I`m not crapin the idea as I think its a good one, just need to find the right ppl
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 09 November 2009, 23:47   #20
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,785
Bounty page is now up, please donate if you want to see a more modern version of UAE for Mac OS X.

http://www.discreetfx.com/UAE-OSX.html
Pyromania is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Advice for using WinUAE on a Mac TheDarkCoder support.WinUAE 8 14 November 2012 01:53
Mac Bootcamp and WinUAE Washac support.WinUAE 22 05 February 2012 19:15
How to get Winuae working on parallels 5 for mac? RabidRabbit support.WinUAE 34 12 June 2010 18:36
winuae on mac Marcuz request.UAE Wishlist 3 09 April 2006 14:43
Emulating WinUAE on a Mac Fred the Fop Amiga scene 11 02 December 2001 14:10

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21761 seconds with 11 queries