English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene > Member Introductions

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 November 2009, 17:29   #1
Adam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Maidstone, England
Age: 39
Posts: 12
Happy Hallo!

Hi my name is Adam. I used to have an A500 when I was younger but recently managed to acquire an A4000 and CD32. I have no idea what I am doing, but have enjoyed playing some of the old games (Chaos Engine, Cannon Fodder) on the CD32. I have tried switching the A4000 on with an 'EZVGA' connected to the video port. I can hear the PSU but all I get is a black screen. Anyone got any ideas??

Cheers
Adam is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 01 November 2009, 17:50   #2
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
hi and welcome to this wonderful place wher Im sure you`ll have lots of fun
now you did`t mention the EZVGA in your other post did you hehehehe
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 01 November 2009, 17:59   #3
Adam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Maidstone, England
Age: 39
Posts: 12
Thanks for the welcome!

Ah, no I just introduced myself, but then I thought maybe I should ask about the A4000 in another post. The machine came among a load of stuff someone down my local pub wanted to get rid of.
Adam is offline  
Old 01 November 2009, 18:23   #4
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
thats nice of them, some ppl are born lucky i spose
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 01 November 2009, 18:34   #5
Adam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Maidstone, England
Age: 39
Posts: 12
Yeah it was a deal struck on Friday night at the pub . He's soon going to be a dad and his other half has been nagging him to get rid of a load of stuff in their spare room so he said I could have the lot on the condition I took everything. Trouble is it looks like a half-finished project. THe lid is off and there loads of bits in boxes.
Adam is offline  
Old 01 November 2009, 18:39   #6
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,706
Hello and Welcome!

Try tuning the EZVGA with a small screwdriver carefully (the small turning screw is on the rear of the unit).

It may be worth checking the A4000 for clock battery leakage which can corrode your motherboard. We stock a replacement battery here:

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...roducts_id=132
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 01 November 2009, 19:45   #7
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,880
Take some photos and we can help diagnose.

If the daughter card is not fitted it will not boot.
If the CPU card is not fitted it will not boot.
If there is no RAM fitted it will not boot.

Wait for a few minutes, be patient, the A4000 boot screen takes a while to come up as it waits for hard drives to spin up.
alexh is offline  
Old 03 November 2009, 08:05   #8
Adam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Maidstone, England
Age: 39
Posts: 12
Hi, thanks for the replies/welcome. As I started two threads, which in hindsight was not such a good idea, I will continue talking about this on the other thread.
Adam is offline  
Old 03 November 2009, 08:59   #9
T_hairy_bootson
Workbitch 1.3

T_hairy_bootson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 2,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
If the daughter card is not fitted it will not boot.
Not true at all.

edit: Oh and welcome to EAB Adam.

Last edited by T_hairy_bootson; 03 November 2009 at 09:27.
T_hairy_bootson is offline  
Old 03 November 2009, 09:05   #10
seuden
uber cool demi god

seuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kent/England
Posts: 1,899
Congratulations on your recent acquisition, nice to see another fellow Kent man.
seuden is offline  
Old 04 November 2009, 09:48   #11
Adam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Maidstone, England
Age: 39
Posts: 12
Thanks for the welcome.
Where in Kent are you seuden?
Adam is offline  
Old 04 November 2009, 09:49   #12
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,880
Quote:
Originally Posted by T_hairy_bootson View Post
Not true at all.
You sure? Maybe I'm getting confused with A3000? I was sure one Amiga doesn't boot without the daughter card in place.
alexh is offline  
Old 07 November 2009, 03:44   #13
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,437
Hallo!!
Photon is offline  
Old 07 November 2009, 04:10   #14
Muzkat
Into the Wonderful
Muzkat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Earthrealm
Age: 36
Posts: 1,279
Greetings.
Muzkat is offline  
Old 07 November 2009, 06:29   #15
8bitbubsy
Registered User

8bitbubsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Norway
Age: 27
Posts: 1,252
Send a message via MSN to 8bitbubsy
Hi, and welcome onboard.
Congratulations with your new Amiga stuff, it seems very interesting! Dare to dake any pics of the internals of the Amiga 4000? I'm pretty sure some lads in here can identify all the cards in it...
Also, you don't want to end up like some of us in here - we play with our Amigas all day long and forget the real social life!

EDIT: Oopsie! I'm too slow. I saw you already made a thread full of pics about it.
8bitbubsy is offline  
Old 07 November 2009, 10:53   #16
Adam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Maidstone, England
Age: 39
Posts: 12
Thanks for the welcomes and greetings.

I don't think there's a danger of Amigas eating into my social life. Work already does that!!
Adam is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18832 seconds with 10 queries