English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 October 2009, 16:30   #1
AB Positive
kachou ON!
AB Positive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Hampshire, US
Posts: 192
Possible to turn a netbook into a tiny portable emulated Amiga?

I know I could just go "Linux Install... E-UAE DONE!" here but I'm curious as to...


1) Can I make it boot straight to, say, OS 3.1 or 3.5 with the emulated Amiga piggybacking the linux-run hardware so it could still go online, IRC, etc...

2) Would this be possible without a CD drive? As a netbook it's completely missing one, and I don't have an external.

I'm guessing Amithlon is the choice of choices here but I was curious to hear the experts ideas here.
AB Positive is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 30 October 2009, 16:42   #2
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 35
Posts: 7,924
You're better of installing Windows and using WinUAE.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 30 October 2009, 19:05   #3
kaptajnbligh
 
Posts: n/a
For a mininal linux + e-uae you could try X-Amiga.

I'm sure installing from a USB-drive is possible showhow.
 
Old 30 October 2009, 20:03   #4
antonvaltaz
Registered User
antonvaltaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mirfield, West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 511
You can do a similar thing as X-Amiga using Windows XP and WinUAE - booting straight into a WinUAE config without seeing the XP logon or Explorer. Someone posted a step-by-step guide recently over at Amiga.org.

Haven't tried it yet, but plan to on a separate partition when I get my new PC!
antonvaltaz is offline  
Old 30 October 2009, 20:05   #5
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by antonvaltaz View Post
Someone posted a step-by-step guide recently over at Amiga.org.
Not only on Amiga.org : http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=47693
TCD is offline  
Old 30 October 2009, 20:19   #6
antonvaltaz
Registered User
antonvaltaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mirfield, West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 511
Oops, I feel like a traitor to EAB now :-)

Thanks for the link TCD!
antonvaltaz is offline  
Old 30 October 2009, 20:23   #7
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by antonvaltaz View Post
Oops, I feel like a traitor to EAB now :-)
You better should (only kidding) A tad little text in the thread, so it's hard to tell what it's about without downloading the file
TCD is offline  
Old 30 October 2009, 21:00   #8
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
just put windows 7 on my advent netbook (MSI wind clone)
Intel atom N270 1.6Ghz or is it 1.8 can`t remember at moment
2 GiG of memory , most it can take

Haven`t done full testing on it yet but I can def say WinUAE works on it
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 30 October 2009, 21:43   #9
antonvaltaz
Registered User
antonvaltaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mirfield, West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 511
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
A tad little text in the thread, so it's hard to tell what it's about without downloading the file
I could upload it to the Zone if it would be helpful, but I guess it would be polite to ask the author's permission first?

If it's the sort of thing that might go in the Zone, then I'll PM him and see if he's okay with it.
antonvaltaz is offline  
Old 30 October 2009, 21:46   #10
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
The zone is also only a temp place for files. I'll up it to the file server now

Edit : Done. In the folder 'Emulators'.
TCD is offline  
Old 31 October 2009, 04:31   #11
AB Positive
kachou ON!
AB Positive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Hampshire, US
Posts: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaptajnbligh View Post
For a mininal linux + e-uae you could try X-Amiga.

I'm sure installing from a USB-drive is possible showhow.
This is exactly what I was looking for! Awesome, shall try this out... mwa ha ha ha
AB Positive is offline  
Old 31 October 2009, 15:22   #12
kaptajnbligh
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by AB Positive View Post
This is exactly what I was looking for! Awesome, shall try this out... mwa ha ha ha
I haven't tried it myself yet. Please let us know how it goes

Regarding USB install:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of...ve_USB_systems

UNetbootin supports Gentoo. Others might as well.
 
Old 31 October 2009, 18:39   #13
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,489
You can also install an operating system on a USB stick or a SD card in a USB adapter and pick whatever version of OS to run just by selecting boot device at startup.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 31 October 2009, 21:52   #14
UncleSpam
Registered User
UncleSpam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 151
I just set up an HP Mini 5101 with Windows 7 and WinUAE about 3 weeks ago and it's flawless (almost).

Used a 16gb flash drive to install Windows 7 (trivial process).

[Link removed - I assume this was an unfortunate error and you didn't intend to put some rather mild porn in there... - Graham]

The rest was just installing the WinUAE + environment.

I had to run WinUAE with the -ddsoftwarecolorkey option due to the flakey Intel graphics driver.

HP 5101 + 2GB RAM + HD (1366x768) display + 160GB HDD + 802.11g wifi

The built-in display works great in RTG and the Amiga native displays scale well (with correct aspect ratio).

For example the SuperHiRes Interlaced PAL mode works in 1366x768 as 1280x512 with small borders, or it can be stretched a bit and it will actually fill the entire screen (aspect ratio disabled) or fill top to bottom with side borders (aspect ratio enabled).

- Bogdan

Last edited by Graham Humphrey; 01 November 2009 at 01:46.
UncleSpam is online now  
Old 01 November 2009, 04:09   #15
Cammy
Registered User
Cammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Age: 32
Posts: 1,134
Here's my new A1600 running Icaros Desktop (Aros). Aros is binary compatible with AmigaOS, and can run Amiga applications much faster than the original hardware or PPC Amigas can.

http://home.exetel.com.au/amiga/A1600-Icaros.jpg
Cammy is offline  
Old 01 November 2009, 08:24   #16
antonvaltaz
Registered User
antonvaltaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mirfield, West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 511
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cammy View Post
Aros is binary compatible with AmigaOS, and can run Amiga applications much faster than the original hardware or PPC Amigas can.
I thought AROS was only API compatible, i.e. AmigaOS programs need to be recompiled to run on AROS?

In any case AROS does look pretty neat and I want to try it out - but I think it'll have to be via VMWare for a while as I don't think AROS has much support for SATA drives yet?
antonvaltaz is offline  
Old 01 November 2009, 14:33   #17
Cammy
Registered User
Cammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Age: 32
Posts: 1,134
Blaahhhhh I mean SOURCE compatible

Sorry I had a BIG night.
Cammy is offline  
Old 01 November 2009, 14:34   #18
Cammy
Registered User
Cammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Age: 32
Posts: 1,134
SATA drives seem to work fine, at least the one in this netbook does.
Cammy is offline  
Old 01 November 2009, 16:54   #19
antonvaltaz
Registered User
antonvaltaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mirfield, West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 511
Oh really? That's good news, I might just have to try installing it on a new partition then...
antonvaltaz is offline  
Old 02 November 2009, 04:56   #20
UncleSpam
Registered User
UncleSpam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by UncleSpam View Post

[Link removed - I assume this was an unfortunate error and you didn't intend to put some rather mild porn in there... - Graham]
I'd like to apologize for the inappropriate link. I should have checked the link upon posting, however I did not realize that the hotlinking to it would lead elsewhere.

Here's a link below that should not cause any problems. It also explains how to transfer the contents of a Windows 7 DVD to a flash drive for installation on a netbook:

http://www.blogsdna.com/2016/how-to-...-7-iso-dvd.htm


- Bogdan
UncleSpam is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A portable game language for tiny games would be a success? Leandro Jardim Retrogaming General Discussion 8 28 November 2011 00:31
Amiga Monitor 1081 does not turn on dir_marillion support.Hardware 16 06 February 2009 13:39
How to turn an Amiga A500 into a lamp. WTF? alexh Retrogaming General Discussion 16 14 April 2008 17:23
Just install a tiny push-button on my Amiga keyboard to control AGA/RTG ! keropi Hardware pics 38 25 November 2006 16:02
What do I need to do to get my emulated Amiga 'online'? Peanutuk support.Apps 2 06 July 2004 18:41

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.38311 seconds with 11 queries