English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 November 2009, 03:13   #41
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 51
Posts: 3,481
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
I stupidly sold another Fujilink 1091 TV, which was (is) 4:3.

Is a 19" 4:3 LCD TV panel with the very same functions of the wide screen unit and simply perfect with the Amiga and other 4:3 ancient consoles. But I didn't like the horrible silver plastic cabinet!

The 1901W is black.
rkauer is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 04 November 2009, 05:25   #42
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
Can of black bumper spray ftw.

Fujilink is not available in Sweden [anymore], it seems.
Photon is offline  
Old 04 November 2009, 07:18   #43
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 51
Posts: 3,481
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
I think Fujilink was one of those unknown Chinese brands which are a joint-venture among integrators who last less than an year and then fade away.

Too bad, for USD130 those 19" monitors was a real bargain!

Link to a Brazilian site selling its successor, the A1902W: http://produto.mercadolivre.com.br/M...cremoto-mp-_JM

Last edited by rkauer; 04 November 2009 at 07:42.
rkauer is offline  
Old 07 November 2009, 23:41   #44
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 51
Posts: 3,481
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Today I managed to take a few pictures of my monitor.

You'll see it running directly attached via the RGB port trough an ordinary C= silver adaptor. Of course, the monitor stretches the PAL screen (I manage to make it stretch less using overscan) in Workbench.

Games are other thing, since they don't have screen adjustments...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00027.JPG
Views:	646
Size:	21.6 KB
ID:	23206   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00028.JPG
Views:	584
Size:	50.4 KB
ID:	23207   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00030.JPG
Views:	555
Size:	21.1 KB
ID:	23208  
rkauer is offline  
Old 08 November 2009, 04:12   #45
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkauer View Post
I think Fujilink was one of those unknown Chinese brands which are a joint-venture among integrators who last less than an year and then fade away.

Too bad, for USD130 those 19" monitors was a real bargain!

Link to a Brazilian site selling its successor, the A1902W: http://produto.mercadolivre.com.br/M...cremoto-mp-_JM
Looks good I guess, but way too big for my project. Max height 250mm. Thanks anyway!
Photon is offline  
Old 19 November 2009, 07:43   #46
tekopaa
Registered User
tekopaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 117
Hej!

Just bought BENQG2420HD from Gigantti Supestore 149€ not bad


cant wait to test it home with my PC and Amiga 1200HD

Tack svensks bröder om hjälped mej my swedish sucks i know
tekopaa is offline  
Old 04 November 2010, 23:27   #47
wanderer
I want an A1000

wanderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Pac-Land
Posts: 654
Sorry to bump this, looking for a pc monitor to fluidly watch PAL TV on (using tv tuner cards) and of course, for a smooth WinUAE. Being able to connect a real Amiga wouldn't hurt either.
I'd assume it should able to support a vert.50Hz Windows mode, right? Should I look for a BenQ LCD? Seems most of their 22-24 monitors do. My 2 Dell screens are fixed at 60Hz...

Last edited by wanderer; 04 November 2010 at 23:36.
wanderer is offline  
Old 05 November 2010, 21:20   #48
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by wanderer View Post
Sorry to bump this, looking for a pc monitor to fluidly watch PAL TV on (using tv tuner cards) and of course, for a smooth WinUAE. Being able to connect a real Amiga wouldn't hurt either.
I'd assume it should able to support a vert.50Hz Windows mode, right? Should I look for a BenQ LCD? Seems most of their 22-24 monitors do. My 2 Dell screens are fixed at 60Hz...
I recommend an LCD-TV, not a PC monitor, both for watching TV and using with Amiga.
Photon is offline  
Old 05 November 2010, 21:51   #49
wanderer
I want an A1000

wanderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Pac-Land
Posts: 654
Thanks. I'll be using it with a PC and WinUAE though. I'm just confused about the differences between an LCD-TV and a monitor, obviously apart from the TV's integrated tuner.
So presumably, most modern LCD TV's will do since they can all do 50Hz?

edit: I'm guessing WinUAE will be easier to use than to connect a real Amiga with a scandoubler. Should I look for sth. in particular in the TV's specs?
wanderer is offline  
Old 05 November 2010, 21:59   #50
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,937
Good (and expensive) monitor for PC PAL emulation use is 120Hz ("3D") PC monitor. (Note that 120Hz+/"3D" TVs DO NOT accept 100Hz/120Hz PC signal)

100Hz (2x50Hz) is guaranteed to be available, even windowed mode in 100Hz Windows desktop is quite smooth (some jitters every 30s or so because it is not vsynced) compared to ugly jumpy 60Hz windowed mode.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 06 November 2010, 13:39   #51
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by wanderer View Post
Thanks. I'll be using it with a PC and WinUAE though. I'm just confused about the differences between an LCD-TV and a monitor, obviously apart from the TV's integrated tuner.
So presumably, most modern LCD TV's will do since they can all do 50Hz?

edit: I'm guessing WinUAE will be easier to use than to connect a real Amiga with a scandoubler. Should I look for sth. in particular in the TV's specs?
Ah. Hmm.. scandoubler? You can connect a real Amiga to a PAL LCD-TV.

Put simply, difference is: TV is for consoles, screens are for computers.

If it's for Workbench use, and you are only using WinUAE on a PC, any monitor will do. The BenQ thread is for connecting via scandoubler, which adds its own conversion to game graphics.

PC screen "always" syncs at 60Hz, so always choppy scrolling etc. "TV" has circuitry to convert video (not RGB) signals and display them correctly. Both "always" have problems changing all pixels in 1/50 seconds, even if they sync 50Hz.

There are 100Hz TVs, but monitors are "always" 120Hz.

The trick is finding the exceptions to "" above

There's absolutely no point in getting a 120Hz monitors, but if you can find a 100Hz one that would be interesting. Maybe (but far from sure) the monitor would then be able to change all pixels more rapidly (if not, 100Hz is humbug).


It's not hard to connect a real Amiga to a PAL TV though. But the trick there is finding one with good PAL circuitry. And that's usually not in the specs. But RGB scart+hfreq 15Khz+vfreq 50Hz in specs makes it a candidate.
Photon is offline  
Old 06 November 2010, 13:54   #52
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,937
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon View Post
There are 100Hz TVs, but monitors are "always" 120Hz.
as far as i know, all 120Hz monitors accept 100Hz and lower rates as long as display driver is not stupid.

I have 120, 110, 100, 75 and usual lower values available. (LG W2363D and Radeon 5870)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 06 November 2010, 23:40   #53
wanderer
I want an A1000

wanderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Pac-Land
Posts: 654
Thanks for all the info Photon and Toni, I'll see what I can find out there... Only looking for a moderate size monitor/TV, 22-24''.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon View Post
Both "always" have problems changing all pixels in 1/50 seconds, even if they sync 50Hz.
Does that mean that they'll still provide a similar-to-60Hz WinUAE jerkiness?
wanderer is offline  
Old 10 November 2010, 09:10   #54
bonkers
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Berkeley, USA
Posts: 15
Does anyone know if the LED version of the same monitor will also work? http://benq.se/products/LCD/index.cf...s/product/1170 according to the specs it shouldn't either.
bonkers is offline  
Old 29 November 2010, 23:21   #55
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 1,441
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
Does anybody know if lcd tv's accept an amiga via the analogue vga port?
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 29 November 2010, 23:44   #56
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Some. But I was under the impression that most don't.
alexh is offline  
Old 29 November 2010, 23:59   #57
Kehil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Prague/CZ
Posts: 67
Sharp Aquos 37DH66E accepts all amiga PAL and DblPAL modes via VGA port. Interesting is, that it fails on multiscan.
Kehil is offline  
Old 06 December 2010, 13:51   #58
skeediddley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London
Posts: 11
Hi all - I am also on the hunt for an LCD-TV that supports PAL resolutions via its VGA. Even though I have workbench running 640x480 on an LCD monitor already - the odd app (including my favourite Protracker) absolutely refuse to run in anything other than PAL - so i still need a TV next to the monitor!!!

Anyone know of a 19-22" LCD TV that plays nice with 50HZ? I definitely need a TV (and not a monitor like the BENQ) , as I will need to plug in my C64 as well.

Does such a wonder TV like this exist?

Thanks all.
skeediddley is offline  
Old 07 December 2010, 23:46   #59
bonkers
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Berkeley, USA
Posts: 15
I ended up buying one of these http://benq.se/products/LCD/index.cfm/product/1160. I haven't tried it with the Amiga other than through a scandoubler but it has basically every input you will ever need and its reasonably cheap 250£ or so.
bonkers is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DVI/HDMI monitor that works well with Indivision AGA MK2 xraynorm support.Hardware 0 25 July 2013 22:12
a nice monitor that works imigger Hardware mods 10 02 March 2013 17:29
What kind of monitor should I get for a PAL CD32?.. dave4shmups support.Hardware 15 03 June 2010 15:22
Workbench 3.0 monitor resolutions thinlega request.Apps 6 23 October 2004 13:59
Connect Amiga1200 to Pal-TV... possible? I have the Cables but... nothing works =( bytestorm support.Hardware 11 24 April 2003 01:03

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21351 seconds with 12 queries