English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 June 2002, 12:27   #41
nnever2000
Registered User
nnever2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: italy
Posts: 132
Im not interested to OpenGL rendering (I have Open Gl off)

Anyway opengl work perfectly with cpu setting = fatest as possible

I cant use WinUae with 'match a500 speed' setting or 'balanced cpu/Chipset' setting (I tryed all value from 1 to 9)

Simply the amiga do not boot (hang with a grey screen with kick13 or purple screen with kick30)
nnever2000 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 04 June 2002, 12:39   #42
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
Works fine for me with KS1.3, 'match a500 speed' setting and with Open Gl on, which is me default config. I did have to update my XP Drives though.
Paul is offline  
Old 05 June 2002, 01:55   #43
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Quote:
I cant use WinUae with 'match a500 speed' setting or 'balanced cpu/Chipset' setting (I tryed all value from 1 to 9)
Toni, could this be the "100% CPU usage fix" I pushed you to put in?
andreas is offline  
Old 05 June 2002, 09:16   #44
nnever2000
Registered User
nnever2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: italy
Posts: 132
I forgot, 21R3 work fine on my laptop
nnever2000 is offline  
Old 05 June 2002, 09:36   #45
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,674
It seems laptops' power saving that changes CPU clock speed causes problems with my cpu idle patch. Unfortunately I have no idea how to fix this..
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 05 June 2002, 09:58   #46
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,353
Actually I don't think you can as this is a power saving technique used by laptop manufacturers to extend battery life. My only suggestion for laptop users is to live with it or turn off the bloody power saving modes. Problem here is that some laptops don't have access to turning these features off so you're hosed then
jmmijo is online now  
Old 05 June 2002, 12:18   #47
nnever2000
Registered User
nnever2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: italy
Posts: 132
Confirmed, turning off cpu safe mode Winuae works fine

Toni, can you turn optional your patch?
nnever2000 is offline  
Old 05 June 2002, 18:30   #48
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Lightbulb

That's a very good idea. :thumbs_up

@nnever2000
Put the blame on me. I had thought there must be a way to tell WinUAE to not use up 100% CPU all the time. Then, I had asked Toni if he could try with an experimental fix, and I tried it again. CPU load was a lot less heavier than in the older version...

Toni, is there a technically reliable way to detect the usage of a laptop?
such as...

<pseudo-code>
if (isLaptop())
then CPU_IDLE_FIX = off
else CPU_IDLE_FIX = on
endif
</pseudo-code>

Sorta...
You know what I'm thinking about: a sort of an internal on-off switch.
This principle is identical to the one used with Bernie's cmov instruction detection code. If AMD inside, turn it on, otherwise turn it off. Self-acting, without any user interaction.

Last edited by andreas; 05 June 2002 at 22:48.
andreas is offline  
Old 06 June 2002, 22:27   #49
Quickbeam
 
Posts: n/a
Exclamation GUI invisibility

Has anyone noticed this apart from me? When you press F12 in full screen OpenGL mode the GUI is invisible sometimes. All you can see is the Windows cursor. Very annoying. Am I talking to myself?
 
Old 06 June 2002, 22:34   #50
Drake1009
Registered User
Drake1009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,284
I never had problems with that. Do you use a standard windows color scheme? AFAIK opengl draws on a certain colored background. IF the menu is the color of the background drawn on it might have the game drawn on it.
Drake1009 is offline  
Old 07 June 2002, 06:27   #51
7-Zark-7
Zone Friend
7-Zark-7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brisbane/Australia
Posts: 1,240
Re: GUI invisibility

Quote:
Originally posted by Quickbeam
Has anyone noticed this apart from me? When you press F12 in full screen OpenGL mode the GUI is invisible sometimes. All you can see is the Windows cursor. Very annoying. Am I talking to myself?
@Quickbeam. The last time I encountered this issue was during the WinUAE's 0817rx series. I haven't tried 0821r3 or 4 yet, but 0821r2 worked fine without this. Are you a Win98/98SE o/s USER?
(Thats for you Drake! Happy now?!)

Last edited by 7-Zark-7; 07 June 2002 at 18:17.
7-Zark-7 is offline  
Old 07 June 2002, 21:11   #52
Quickbeam
 
Posts: n/a
Unhappy Re: GUI invisibility

Quote:
Originally posted by Drake1009
I never had problems with that. Do you use a standard windows color scheme? AFAIK opengl draws on a certain colored background. IF the menu is the color of the background drawn on it might have the game drawn on it.
I use the standard Windows colour scheme - is that important? Anyway the GUI invisibility problem only occurs in OpenGL full-screen mode. Windowed mode is fine.

Quote:
Originally posted by 7-Zark-7


@Quickbeam. The last time I encountered this issue was during the WinUAE's 0817rx series. I haven't tried 0821r3 or 4 yet, but 0821r2 worked fine without this. Are you a Win98/98SE o/s USER?
(Thats for you Drake! Happy now?!)
I never had any problems with the old releases, invisibility-wise. I'm almost positive the problem is OpenGL-related. Like I said before, it doesn't happen all the time but more often than not, when you press F12, you can't see the GUI.

My specs are WinMe, a 1GHz Athlon and a GeoForce2 MX.
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 2.3.0 released Toni Wilen News 28 26 November 2010 16:31
Joystick probs in WinUAE 8.21R4 Unregistered support.WinUAE 6 26 September 2002 20:25
sound prob in winuae 0.8.21r4 corenemesis support.WinUAE 4 19 August 2002 16:55
WinUAE 0.8.21r4 - Anyone have save states working? option support.WinUAE 3 08 July 2002 23:12
Joystick Problems in 0.8.21R4? Cyberduck support.WinUAE 10 31 May 2002 02:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.27171 seconds with 12 queries