English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 May 2002, 10:27   #21
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Yes Kalliera Support would really be a great feature, maybe we can play the first EAB Sensible Soccer Tournament then
RetroMan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 31 May 2002, 12:51   #22
Bobbin
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 49
About my problems:

1. OpenGL works after updating to drivers version 29.41
2. Sound works flawlessly if i reduce refresh rate/frequency. Seems WinUAE got much slower but more compatible (well, seems i need to break the 1ghz barrier now)
3. The Hz problem still remains. No matter which setting I use it seems to be reseted to 100Hz, which is pretty much unplayable.
Bobbin is offline  
Old 31 May 2002, 17:05   #23
Muzkat
Into the Wonderful
Muzkat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Earthrealm
Age: 36
Posts: 1,279
If I'm getting

OPENGL: can't use 15/16 bit screen depths because EXT_packed-pixels extension was not found. Falling back to 32 bit mode

when I enable openGL, then what am I doing wrong?

Dumb question I know Thanx anyway

Last edited by Muzkat; 31 May 2002 at 17:11.
Muzkat is offline  
Old 31 May 2002, 17:37   #24
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
Quote:
Originally posted by Muzkat
If I'm getting

OPENGL: can't use 15/16 bit screen depths because EXT_packed-pixels extension was not found. Falling back to 32 bit mode

when I enable openGL, then what am I doing wrong?

Dumb question I know Thanx anyway
I had this problem and fixed it by installing different drivers. The drivers in xp are crap so I installed the uncertified; non-recommended ones from the manufacturers.
Paul is offline  
Old 31 May 2002, 20:42   #25
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,683
Quote:
Adding the kaillera code to this version of WinUAE would be awesome, then I could enjoy a round of Lemmings with one of my mates in Germany. Would it be hard to add it in Toni?
I don't know. I haven't even looked at Kaillera code..

Quote:
OPENGL: can't use 15/16 bit screen depths because EXT_packed-pixels extension was not found. Falling back to 32 bit mode
- your are using display driver that comes with Windows. Usually they don't support hardware accelerated OpenGL and OpenGL extensions.
- your display driver is crap
- your display card is crap
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 01 June 2002, 00:08   #26
Ryan_clemens
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: New Zealand
Age: 38
Posts: 67
some game probs

Flashback intro music does not get to finish before the intro ends

B.C. Kids title screen gets choppy when B.C. kid jumps but only when sound emulation is on.
Ryan_clemens is offline  
Old 01 June 2002, 15:54   #27
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Arrow B. C. Kid "fix"

Turn Fast Copper off.
andreas is offline  
Old 01 June 2002, 17:16   #28
Muzkat
Into the Wonderful
Muzkat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Earthrealm
Age: 36
Posts: 1,279
Quote:
- your are using display driver that comes with Windows. Usually they don't support hardware accelerated OpenGL and OpenGL extensions.
I have an ageing 4mb s3 trio video card, and a seperate 3dfx voodoo 2 card (12 mb)

Will I be able to get OpenGl by using alternate drivers?

Thanx
Muzkat is offline  
Old 01 June 2002, 17:31   #29
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
Your 3dfx voodoo 2 supports some OpenGl with the dx7 reference drivers, but its getting windows to use it as windows seem to use the primery card for OpenGl.

I did manage to get windows to use my 8MB voodoo 2 in OpenGl mode once by renaming a system file but can't quite remember what I did. This was when I had my p120 32mb EDO ram Packard Bell.

You need to get a new card.
Paul is offline  
Old 01 June 2002, 18:35   #30
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,683
Quote:
3dfx voodoo 2
WinUAE OpenGL mode requires 512*512 or 1024*1024 pixel textures (512 if lores is enabled), but very old display cards only support max 256*256 pixel textures. (and Voodoo 2 is one of those)

It is possible to use multiple textures like snes9x does but I don't think it is worth the trouble...
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 02 June 2002, 00:00   #31
Ryan_clemens
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: New Zealand
Age: 38
Posts: 67
more display probs

The credits for overkill AGA look like they have been chopped off at the left also it has the same display problem that superfrog etc had with the screen.
and that is the first time I have ever had to untick fast copper for a game to display properly.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	overkill.jpg
Views:	593
Size:	39.0 KB
ID:	2658  

Last edited by Ryan_clemens; 02 June 2002 at 01:18.
Ryan_clemens is offline  
Old 02 June 2002, 00:48   #32
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Arrow

Ryan,

did turning off Fast Copper actually fix the problems for you with B.C. Kid?
andreas is offline  
Old 02 June 2002, 01:15   #33
Ryan_clemens
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: New Zealand
Age: 38
Posts: 67
bc kid

yeah it worked never thought of removing it, never had to but it helps with anything that jitters too much like ghost and goblins title screen. the amount of things you have to go through to get a game working with winuae.....
Ryan_clemens is offline  
Old 02 June 2002, 02:25   #34
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
andreas is offline  
Old 02 June 2002, 17:26   #35
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
I thank you! (and everyone else involved). This version of WinUAE works a treat!

Is there any chance of adding some more CPU options to emulate the speed of the A1200's 68020 14Mhz, like the A500 setting does for the 7Mhz 68000?

It would be great if we could have "Match A1200 speed" (with fast ram installed).

Thanks again. I really appreciate all your efforts!
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 02 June 2002, 18:29   #36
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,683
Quote:
It would be great if we could have "Match A1200 speed" (with fast ram installed).
This is not an easy task due to 68020's instruction cache. Without instruction cache emulation CPU speed will be too fast or too slow...

Fast copper: It is known problem but unfortunately we need to wait for Bernd to fix it. Copper emulation code is too confusing even for me
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 03 June 2002, 02:28   #37
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,785
Good url for an OpenGl setup program

I am asking this to help those new users or for that matter old time users; what is a good link to download and install the latest build for OpenGL?

www.glsetup.com

Is good for Windows 95/98 users but what about Windows 2000 & XP users. glsetup.com does not support any other version of Windows besides 95/98.

If someone needs good tutor on what OpenGL is I would be glad to comment.

Last edited by Pyromania; 04 June 2002 at 09:51.
Pyromania is offline  
Old 04 June 2002, 09:22   #38
nnever2000
Registered User
nnever2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: italy
Posts: 132
I have this problem with the R4:

My configuration

Windows 2000 professional
DirtectX 8.0
VGA Intel (Notebook)
Pentium III 1Ghz

UAE Configuration

Vsync off (is not selectionable)
640x480 doubled full screen
ECS
colision: Only Sprites
100% perfect sound
two sound buffer (uae default)

Tha Amiga only boot with CPU setting = Fatest as possible
with match a500 and balanced cpu/chipset hang

but with this setting more and more game crash! (i.e. turrican)
nnever2000 is offline  
Old 04 June 2002, 11:20   #39
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,353
Re: Good url for an OpenGl setup program

Quote:
Originally posted by Pyromania I am asking this to help those new users or for that matter old time users; what is a good link to download and install the latest build for OpenGL?
Well the easy answer to all of this lies with either the Video Card manufacturer and/or the GPU manufacturer

This is because the latest OpenGL is either going to be part of the latest video card device drivers or not. It sounds like a bummer because not every manufacturer releases their own version of device drivers, but instead rely on the GPU manufacturer to do this.

Seems to me the latest nVidia device drivers have the latest OpenGL build and perhaps so does ATi, but I haven't checked for sure on that one.

If there are no updated device drivers for you particular card, then check out which GPU it uses and get the OEM version from the GPU manufacturer
jmmijo is offline  
Old 04 June 2002, 12:21   #40
Drake1009
Registered User
Drake1009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,284
On Linux it gets a bit more complicated. There you'd both need a driver from your manufacturer AND an opengl driver.
Drake1009 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 2.3.0 released Toni Wilen News 28 26 November 2010 16:31
Joystick probs in WinUAE 8.21R4 Unregistered support.WinUAE 6 26 September 2002 20:25
sound prob in winuae 0.8.21r4 corenemesis support.WinUAE 4 19 August 2002 16:55
WinUAE 0.8.21r4 - Anyone have save states working? option support.WinUAE 3 08 July 2002 23:12
Joystick Problems in 0.8.21R4? Cyberduck support.WinUAE 10 31 May 2002 02:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22891 seconds with 12 queries