English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 October 2009, 17:31   #1
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
CD32 Question!

I'm thinking about getting myself a CD32 console and a few compilation CD's.... but one thing occured to me, is it possible to create save games on a CD32 with compilation CD's? (200, 350, 444 & 888 etc...).

Would i need a floppy drive or would they save in the internal memory? Cheers
PowerPie5000 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 14 October 2009, 19:40   #2
twiggy

twiggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Devon, U.K.
Age: 28
Posts: 325
As far as I know, only CD32 versions of games will save to the nvram and on those compilations, there are a few (usually missing music in order to fit on) such as Death Mask and Heimdall 2, probably many others.

As for games that need a floppy to save, they won't save to that nvram.

I doubt getting a floppy drive for it would allow you to save games that are ran from those compilations. Maybe if you made your own compilation it would be possible to configure it to save to floppy.
twiggy is offline  
Old 16 October 2009, 01:35   #3
Cammy
Registered User
Cammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Age: 32
Posts: 1,134
Unfortunately Twiggy is right, your compilation games won't be able to save their games to the NVRAM (except Deluxe Galaga, what a smart game, but it doesn't use WHDLoad).

You can get brand new floppy drives for the CD32 though, so if you want to play games directly from floppy, or if they're HDD installed on the CD without WHDLoad and allow you to choose your save directory, you could save the games to a formatted disk.

You can get the CD32 floppy drives here - http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Floppy-Drive-f...item518d529498

They have a website but it didn't work properly when I clicked on the CD32 floppy drive section and couldn't search for the product, so best just to get it on eBay, they have plenty in stock.
Cammy is offline  
Old 16 October 2009, 01:59   #4
Zeewolf
I am an Amiga man.
Zeewolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Wales
Age: 39
Posts: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cammy View Post

You can get the CD32 floppy drives here - http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Floppy-Drive-f...item518d529498

They have a website but it didn't work properly when I clicked on the CD32 floppy drive section and couldn't search for the product, so best just to get it on eBay, they have plenty in stock.
It's god damn ugly but if does the job; who cares!! I thought the CD32 was poor IMHO but with one of these beasts who knows, it could be good. Does it really turn the machine into a Amiga 1200 as stated on the ebay page? Or is there limitations? (obviously the keyboard! lol)
Zeewolf is offline  
Old 16 October 2009, 03:08   #5
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
Ok now i'm thinking maybe i should just stick with my A1200 and WHDLoad and i should just invest in a CD drive and CD32 pad for my A1200 instead

I think the CD32 idea was more of a novelty thing for me.... they don't seem all that great compared to a "true" Amiga
PowerPie5000 is offline  
Old 16 October 2009, 03:11   #6
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 49
Posts: 1,792
Oh, ugly as sin...
...but a bit of black/charcoal paint would make it less of an eyesore.

To my knowledge you'll get functionally a stock A1200 with one of these - yes, a CD32 compatible keyboard could be hard to find...
...he, he, maybe get an Indivision too.

Further upgrades aren't likely. Still my CD32 is my most heavily used 'real' Amiga - The A1200's are almost permanently in bits as the objects of my eternal fiddling.
Charlie is offline  
Old 16 October 2009, 04:34   #7
mattbarton.exe
Registered User
mattbarton.exe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Cloud, MN/USA
Posts: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie View Post
Further upgrades aren't likely. Still my CD32 is my most heavily used 'real' Amiga - The A1200's are almost permanently in bits as the objects of my eternal fiddling.
Hmmm...That's an interesting response. I've been itching to get an Amiga and trying to decide which model to go for -- was leaning towards a 1200, but after reading this I may go with a CD32 (even though they're hard to come by here in the US.) There are several titles I've wanted to try, but have so far had little to no luck with CD32 emulation.

My guess is that having a CD32 around would be a much easier and more convenient way to play with a 'real' Amiga.
mattbarton.exe is offline  
Old 16 October 2009, 06:32   #8
T_hairy_bootson
Workbitch 1.3

T_hairy_bootson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 2,028
If you buy a CD32 Matt, you will end up buying a 1200 sooner or later.
T_hairy_bootson is offline  
Old 16 October 2009, 11:57   #9
Cammy
Registered User
Cammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Age: 32
Posts: 1,134
You can use a standard PC PS/2 or USB keyboard (using a USB-PS/2 adapter) on a CD32 if you use one of these - http://www.vesalia.de/e_lyra.htm

And you can get cheap, brand new (old stock) NTSC CD32s on eBay from China. If you add an Indivision CD32 to it, hopefully it will play both PAL and NTSC games on any VGA monitor or LCD TV.
Cammy is offline  
Old 17 October 2009, 02:23   #10
illy5603
Registered User

illy5603's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: SPaT CiTY
Posts: 547
Send a message via MSN to illy5603
If anyone has any questions regarding what an NTSC (the kind from China) can do VS. what a PAL system can do, let me know! I have both here along with PAL and NTSC TV sets.

As you probably know, the NTSC systems can be booted in PAL mode by attaching an Amiga compatible mouse to port 2 and holding down both mouse buttons at powerup. Unfortunately, this doesn't mean that ALL games will load, well at least not all BURNED games. ;-)

So far, most games I have tested that are in PAL either work very poorly or not at all on the NTSC CD32 systems booted in NTSC. Some of them (ZOOL for instance) come right out and say they won't work with a custom screen.

Anyway, I love my CD32! There is something nice about just having it there in console form that makes it special for some reason.
illy5603 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bizarre CD32 SX-1 Expansion Question imstarryeyed support.Hardware 10 12 March 2010 18:28
Cannon Fodder CD32 Question Thegoldenman support.WinUAE 4 28 December 2009 11:27
CD32 Laser question. Charlie Hardware mods 9 16 August 2008 13:07
CD32 question Hammy support.Hardware 4 04 December 2003 22:51
CD32 Audio question barkingboy support.WinUAE 5 06 October 2003 14:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25035 seconds with 11 queries