English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

View Poll Results: How do you transfer data between Amiga and PC?
I don't - I'm stuck with the bog standard Workbench 2 2.82%
I swap the hard drive around, because I have too much free time 10 14.08%
I use a floppy disk with CrossDOS, because I'm too cheap to buy a better solution 14 19.72%
I use an FFS-formatted Floppy with a Catweasel 1 1.41%
I use a compact flash card with an IDE adaptor 11 15.49%
I use a compact flash card with a PCMCIA adaptor 25 35.21%
I use some other form of removable solid-state media 6 8.45%
I use CD-R(W)s 14 19.72%
I use a wire between Amiga and PC and appropriate software 23 32.39%
I use the internet 8) 13 18.31%
Other (please specify) 5 7.04%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 71. You may not vote on this poll

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 October 2009, 00:54   #1
Muzer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 144
How do you transfer data between Amiga and PC?

I've made it multiple choice since some people might do more than one depending on how they're feeling/which Amiga/whatever...



I personally use CrossDOS + Floppy disk, since most of the stuff is small, and I like cheap solutions

I also swap the hard drive when I need to transfer loads (like a new version of ClassicWB, loads of games etc).



EDIT: Oops, the 8) was supposed to be : - can anyone change it?

Last edited by Muzer; 13 October 2009 at 10:37. Reason: grammar
Muzer is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 13 October 2009, 06:41   #2
T_hairy_bootson
Workbitch 1.3

T_hairy_bootson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 2,028
I usually use amiga explorer and either the network or serial cable depending which machine I am using. To lazy or dumb to figure out Smb or FTP. Sometimes I dcc over irc.
T_hairy_bootson is offline  
Old 13 October 2009, 09:34   #3
haynor666
retro maniac

haynor666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tarnobrzeg/Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,462
Send a message via Skype™ to haynor666
For me most suitable solution is still CF card with PCMCIA converter. Fast and easy to use (I have CF reader in PC of course).
haynor666 is offline  
Old 13 October 2009, 09:36   #4
Graham Humphrey
Global Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 31
Posts: 10,974
I still use good-ol' fashioned floppies for transferring small files (but really should look into a better solution as I'd rather stop using floppy disks completely). CD-Rs do the trick too though.
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 13 October 2009, 10:36   #5
BrooksterMax
Registered User
BrooksterMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Norfolk UK
Age: 37
Posts: 360
PCMCIA CF, got back into the Amiga this year after 15 years or so and could not believe how you can use new kit, on very old kit!
BrooksterMax is offline  
Old 13 October 2009, 10:42   #6
meega
Secret Lemonade Drinker
meega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oooh what a feeling yeaaah dancing on the ceiling
Posts: 313
I don't really transfer much PC<->Amiga, but when I have done it's been CrossDOS with floppies or CD(R/W) whilst between Amigas I used Parnet.
meega is offline  
Old 13 October 2009, 10:45   #7
Paul_s
needs more ice cream

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 39
Posts: 3,162
I use Amiga Explorer which is part of Amiga Forever over serial link. Does the job albiet pretty slow..

Rarely use it nowadays as I play most of my favorite games through the CD32...
Any floppy onlys I use WinUAE
Paul_s is offline  
Old 13 October 2009, 10:57   #8
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,810
Through my almighty mind.
s2325 is offline  
Old 13 October 2009, 11:38   #9
Paul_s
needs more ice cream

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 39
Posts: 3,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
Through my almighty mind.
I've heard your transfer rate is 1kbps
Paul_s is offline  
Old 13 October 2009, 11:42   #10
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,810
Well, that's enough for cracktros and intros.
s2325 is offline  
Old 13 October 2009, 11:54   #11
haynor666
retro maniac

haynor666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tarnobrzeg/Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,462
Send a message via Skype™ to haynor666
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham Humphrey View Post
I still use good-ol' fashioned floppies for transferring small files (but really should look into a better solution as I'd rather stop using floppy disks completely). CD-Rs do the trick too though.
Heh, these days it's not enough. Years ago when most people had 56k modems I used amiga stuff dl'ed from internet transfer like this. It was very slow, not to mention errors sometimes.

CF cards and PCMCIA converters are very cheap now so you should upgrade your amiga.

I had CD long time ago but right now I only have CF card as hard disk and CF card through PCMCIA and it's enough for me. For CD32 games I'm using CD32 console.
haynor666 is offline  
Old 13 October 2009, 20:49   #12
Cammy
Registered User
Cammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Age: 32
Posts: 1,134
I use Compact Flash and SD cards to transfer between the A1200s, A600 and PC in the office. I have PCMCIA SD/Multicard readers, USB card readers, USB for the A1200, so I can use USB flash sticks, portable HDDs, and I burn CDs to transfer data to my CD32/SX32's internal CF drive, or I use Sernet and link the CD32 to an Amiga with a Null Modem cable.
Cammy is offline  
Old 13 October 2009, 21:19   #13
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 41
Posts: 2,972
Currently with CDRWs, and as soon as I get my network running, I'll be using that But oh what a pain it can be to set it up
Thorham is offline  
Old 14 October 2009, 03:15   #14
asm1
Registered User
asm1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Age: 37
Posts: 637
Used CF card on a PCMCIA adapter
Now that I can run my Amiga CF in Winuae with a USB cardreader. I "cheat" and go online (just to download) using Aweb in Classic Workbench. OR I get Winuae to show my PC drives in workbench and copy stuff accross that way.

When I finish towerizing my main A1200 it will probably be networked in some way....

There's also CDRW....

asm1 is offline  
Old 16 October 2009, 14:40   #15
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,355
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
I swap the hard drive around, because I have too much free time.
If I get a machine with a harddrive, I usually make an image of it with a PC.

I use a compact flash card with an IDE adaptor.
When setting up a new installation.

I use a compact flash card with a PCMCIA adaptor.
Quite often.

I use some other form of removable solid-state media.
I have a multi card PCMCIA adaptor I also sometimes use.

I use CD-R(W)s.
CD-R is sometimes handy if you don't need to write anything to it on the Amiga.

I use the internet 8)
Or well, I use my LAN.
Jope is offline  
Old 22 October 2009, 03:19   #16
Mick_AKA
crusader of light

Mick_AKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stone, Staffordshire.
Posts: 1,136
Allot of the time I just use a pen drive through my subway USB
Mick_AKA is offline  
Old 22 October 2009, 12:57   #17
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 49
Posts: 1,792
Miggy's networked up using SAMBA & SMBFS...
...so 'foreign' partitions auto-mount on WB & Amiga partitions can be seen over the network.

Was an utter s*d to set up, but now it is it's all hassle-free.

Um, that's Amithlon. My A1200's almost always in bits so I've not quite gotten round to setting the network up on that yet...
Charlie is offline  
Old 22 October 2009, 13:02   #18
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,388
Mostly via Internet, so far too lazy to network as the demand is mostly from Amiga to Internet (upload needed stuff to others).
zipper is online now  
Old 22 October 2009, 13:44   #19
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
CF+IDE+Multicard Reader all the way baby!

Investment cost: about 33 per Amiga. Including IDE cable but not including harddisk interface for A500

If you can't afford to spend 33 to transfer 1 GB of data in five minutes (VROOM), then hf, enjoy, savour the speed of your droves of floppy disks or serial cable, or have even more fun setting up the CatWeasel

Best.Solution.Ever
Photon is offline  
Old 22 October 2009, 16:28   #20
alkis21
Zone Friend
alkis21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Age: 42
Posts: 1,276
Send a message via MSN to alkis21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mick_AKA View Post
Allot of the time I just use a pen drive through my subway USB
One more Subway user here.
alkis21 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transfer PC to Amiga Tiddlypeeps support.Hardware 21 20 April 2010 20:21
The easiest way to transfer data between Amiga and PC using a mass storage Another World support.Other 15 07 January 2009 05:51
Amiga to pc transfer Wiber_D New to Emulation or Amiga scene 1 02 December 2006 18:18
Best way to transfer from PC to Amiga ? Michaelm support.Hardware 2 30 November 2006 16:16
Ethernet connection Amiga-PC. How to transfer files using Amiga Explorer?? Flachkoepper support.Apps 5 21 October 2004 20:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25429 seconds with 12 queries