English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 October 2009, 12:08   #281
DH
Global Moderator

DH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,824
I'm not 100% sure, but I believe the Ram Icon file is stored elsewhere in the workbench, I changed mine a long time ago and I can't remember how I did it.

You could try here:- DH0:Expansion/scalos/icons/Ram.info

and

Another place where there's a Ram Icon set DH0:Icons/Iconset/Disks/PS Icons/def_ram1.info - def_ram10.info

Don't do anything until this has been confirmed though, as I'm not at all sure.

EDIT:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kitty View Post
...(Dont worry DemonHellraiser, I will add the wallpaper back when I'm done fiddling with icons )
It's OK Kitty, I'm just glad someone has found a use for and likes this masterpiece

Last edited by DH; 24 October 2009 at 12:17.
DH is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 October 2009, 12:17   #282
Kitty
Sys dec($cdab)

Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,503
Ok I found NewIcons46.lha on aminet and installed it, seems to have added the icons I wanted although theres a few icons I still want to change and for some reason they I cant change them. (Ram and PC, ClearRam being the main few, havnt tried changing the others as yet.)



Also when newicons finished installing I got this message which I'm not really sure of, although I rebooted and it didnt seem to affect anything.

Kitty is offline  
Old 24 October 2009, 12:20   #283
DH
Global Moderator

DH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,824
Just open/edit your Startup-sequence and add the line somewhere between Setpatch and IPrefs - 'C:PatchOpenWB'

It's obviously needed to fix some bug
DH is offline  
Old 24 October 2009, 12:33   #284
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
ram icon is a special case as it gets deleted when you power off

look in s:user-startup for something about copying ram icon

ohh all this editing

edit can`t seem to find it but line be something like this
Code:
C:Copy >NIL: ENVARC:SYS/def_RAM.info RAM:Disk.info CLONE QUIET

Last edited by cosmicfrog; 24 October 2009 at 12:40.
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 24 October 2009, 12:38   #285
Kitty
Sys dec($cdab)

Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,503
That should do it right?

Kitty is offline  
Old 24 October 2009, 12:41   #286
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
yep looks right 2 me
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 24 October 2009, 12:42   #287
DH
Global Moderator

DH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,824
Looks good to me too
DH is offline  
Old 24 October 2009, 12:50   #288
NewDeli
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris / FRANCE
Age: 43
Posts: 1,248
Send a message via ICQ to NewDeli Send a message via Skype™ to NewDeli
@DH
Default color patterns from ClassicWB are just fine INMHO, since Bloodwych tweaked 'em for "no-fuss" maximum usability. Your contributions are good looking, some are even gorgeous, but they would fit better in a 3.9 OS environment which is an as close as it can get to "Windows" variant of AmigaOS.
Also, the black dominance of this particular one melts the icon borders and contrast sharply with the white upper border than Kitty couldn't get rid of.

@TCD
I agree concerning tero's advice. However, I'll question the rationale behind those icon pimping experiments, because there are lots and lots of ground to cover after having successfully setup ClassicWB, as I implied earlier (handlind the preinstalled collections, fine-tuning WinUAE...). Kitty's perfectionism could be of some better use to track bugs and suggest features, but it seems her "passion" stays within the boundaries of torturing 3.1 shell (which again, has limitations in terms of customization she doesn't seem to be fully aware of e.g. PNG, color quantization... only 3.5+ would allow, see this page).
NewDeli is offline  
Old 24 October 2009, 12:57   #289
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
I don`t see why you don`t want kitty to play and enjoy her self Deleauvive
as i see it you sart with the basics then work your way up, sure she might upgrade to wb3.9 but first she needs to know how its all put together befor she can offer sugestions or bug reports
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 24 October 2009, 12:57   #290
Kitty
Sys dec($cdab)

Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,503
Hm theres something very strange about my pc folder, not only can I not change the icon, it seems that snapshot settings on it dont save, I check to see if it was read/write in hard drives and its ticked ok, very weird.

Quote:
ram icon is a special case as it gets deleted when you power off

look in s:user-startup for something about copying ram icon

ohh all this editing

edit can`t seem to find it but line be something like this
Code:

C:Copy >NIL: ENVARC:SYS/def_RAM.info RAMisk.info CLONE QUIET
Say whaaaaa ??
Kitty is offline  
Old 24 October 2009, 12:58   #291
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
@Deleauvive
I see you still question Kitty. Well, let's settle it then. Can't see anything wrong with her approach though.

@Kitty
Just put 'C:Copy >NIL: ENVARC:SYS/def_RAM.info RAM:Disk.info CLONE QUIET' in your user-startup
TCD is offline  
Old 24 October 2009, 13:02   #292
Kitty
Sys dec($cdab)

Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,503
Quote:
@Kitty
Just put 'C:Copy >NIL: ENVARC:SYS/def_RAM.info RAMisk.info CLONE QUIET' in your user-startup
any perticular place or just anywhere?
Kitty is offline  
Old 24 October 2009, 13:04   #293
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Anywhere should be fine.
TCD is offline  
Old 24 October 2009, 13:05   #294
Kitty
Sys dec($cdab)

Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,503
Its funny actually Deleauvive, you was the one who suggested I use CWB UAE, and I am! So the fact I'm using Workbench 3.1 and not OS3.9 is somewhat of a problem?
I dont see your point.
Kitty is offline  
Old 24 October 2009, 13:09   #295
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
LOL as i was goin as what version of CWB you were usin hehehehe

as long as thers an icon in envarc: called def_ram.info
ENVARC:SYS/def_RAM.info
that be in the prefs draw somewhere

also you been to newicons site i take it ?
http://www.amiganet.org/newicons/

prob put stuff like this in user-startup in s:
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 24 October 2009, 13:10   #296
DH
Global Moderator

DH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deleauvive View Post
@DH
Default color patterns from ClassicWB are just fine INMHO, since Bloodwych tweaked 'em for "no-fuss" maximum usability. Your contributions are good looking, some are even gorgeous, but they would fit better in a 3.9 OS environment which is an as close as it can get to "Windows" variant of AmigaOS.
Also, the black dominance of this particular one melts the icon borders and contrast sharply with the white upper border than Kitty couldn't get rid of.
Looks a hell of a lot better than just a blank grey screen, don't you think I still think it looks OK, and doesn't look ugly. Wonder what Kitty thinks???
DH is offline  
Old 24 October 2009, 13:10   #297
Kitty
Sys dec($cdab)

Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,503
C:Copy failed returncode 20, eek it wont boot now

All files are within System_P96.hdf in Classic Workbench, so how do I get to the startup sequence to edit that line back out?
I dont think you can out that line anywhere TheCyberDruid

Last edited by Kitty; 24 October 2009 at 13:16.
Kitty is offline  
Old 24 October 2009, 13:15   #298
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Comment the line out by putting a ; in front of it. When you're back in WB check if there is a file called 'def_RAM.info' in ENVARC:SYS. You just need to tell copy which icon it should copy to RAM:
TCD is offline  
Old 24 October 2009, 13:16   #299
DH
Global Moderator

DH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,824
type 'ed DH0:s/startup-sequence' and check what you changed, do this from the workbench shell when it fails to boot.
DH is offline  
Old 24 October 2009, 13:19   #300
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kitty View Post
I dont think you can out that line anywhere TheCyberDruid
Just mount the HDF with one of your other WBs and edit it then
TCD is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Classic Workbench CF versions Zetr0 project.ClassicWB 90 29 November 2012 08:25
Classic Workbench for A4000T fitzsteve project.ClassicWB 5 28 July 2011 09:33
Classic Workbench on EEEPC lolafg project.ClassicWB 4 03 January 2011 18:48
Classic Workbench on Minimig !! lolafg project.ClassicWB 71 11 November 2010 22:53
Classic workbench error Dave_wb project.ClassicWB 6 01 March 2010 11:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.27842 seconds with 12 queries