English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 October 2009, 00:59   #261
tero
Registered User

tero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: M'Gladbach
Age: 40
Posts: 449
@Deleauvive
You mean like that
Click image for larger version

Name:	desktop.JPG
Views:	136
Size:	37.1 KB
ID:	23031

It's Win XP
Left of the clock is the Taskbar and right the systray
Left bigbutton starts FreeCommander the right boots into WB3.9
Startmenu Programms etc is in the Rightclick menu
+ some shortcuts for Powershell/search etc
Do you need more?

But serious: to change some icons is not Customizing, it's essential as long programs don't have the icons which fits to your WB.


EDIT:I'm writing way to slow - Deleauvive was the last i start writing
tero is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 October 2009, 01:00   #262
NewDeli
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris / FRANCE
Age: 43
Posts: 1,248
Send a message via ICQ to NewDeli Send a message via Skype™ to NewDeli
If it can be achieved by simply installing a NewIcon set, then great.

But I wouldn't be so confident as it to be as straightforward as it seems (just like the differences Kitty experienced between ClassicWB default appearance and her's with Copper Daemon)
NewDeli is offline  
Old 24 October 2009, 01:03   #263
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deleauvive View Post
But I wouldn't be so confident as it to be as straightforward as it seems (just like the differences Kitty experienced between ClassicWB default appearance and her's with Copper Daemon)
What about just letting find it out herself? I bet tomcat666 can give her quite good instructions if she woukld like it 'look exactly like this' Seriously what's your point then?

@tero
Sick desktop Nice effort nonetheless
TCD is offline  
Old 24 October 2009, 01:08   #264
Kitty
Sys dec($cdab)

Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,503
Anyone have any idea what font tomcat666 is using in that pic? I pm'd him but he's offline I think.
Kitty is offline  
Old 24 October 2009, 01:21   #265
NewDeli
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris / FRANCE
Age: 43
Posts: 1,248
Send a message via ICQ to NewDeli Send a message via Skype™ to NewDeli
@Kitty
A real pefectionist would go for the real thing (A1200, Blizzard acc. card and stuff...), 'cause Amiga emulation would be approximated, incomplete again for years to come, despite Toni's best efforts.
OR for emulating systems that have virtually no more secrets to be unveiled to the user base, like 8-bit class computers or consoles.

@TCD
My 'point' (although it's still being discussed, I haven't really made any 'point' yet) is that I can't see a focus in all these woes and wishes Kitty is reporting, because ultimately she doesn't take that free WB stuff for what it is :
A mean to play around (games, demos, creation suites whatever) with the TOSEC/WHD pack content. Also, I am not too sure she's well aware of 3.1 limitations, all the more so when being emulated.
I guess tomcat666, Bloodwych and others are operating within these well-known to them limits and that does make their customization efforts quite a challenge for a newcomer, don't u think ?
NewDeli is offline  
Old 24 October 2009, 01:27   #266
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deleauvive View Post
@TCD
My 'point' (although it's still being discussed, I haven't really made any 'point' yet) is that I can't see a focus in all these woes and wishes Kitty is reporting, because ultimately she doesn't take that free WB stuff for what it is :
A mean to play around (games, demos, creation suites whatever) with the TOSEC/WHD pack content. Also, I am not too sure she's well aware of 3.1 limitations, all the more so when being emulated.
You still question Kitty for customizing her WB? Still don't see why you keep doing that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deleauvive View Post
I guess tomcat666, Bloodwych and others are operating within these well-known to them limits and that does make their customization efforts quite a challenge for a newcomer, don't u think ?
She asked a quite simple question how to get icons to look like the ones on tomcat666's screenshot. So, no I don't think that's a 'challenge for a newcomer' rather than a new thing to learn.
TCD is offline  
Old 24 October 2009, 01:30   #267
tero
Registered User

tero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: M'Gladbach
Age: 40
Posts: 449
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kitty View Post
Anyone have any idea what font tomcat666 is using in that pic? I pm'd him but he's offline I think.
If you mean the 'Effekt' of the icons:
Turn on the font shadows in
System:Expansion/Scalos/Prefs/scalos
go to 'Icons' tab and change 'Textmode'

Note the colors:Text=Black and Shadow=White

@TCD
The big idea of the desktop is to save system Ressources, together with many 'hidden' tweaks i'm able to play Risen/GTA4/Gothic3/X3 smoothly on a 2ghz machine. (and not on the lowest settings)

EDIT: It happens again....
tero is offline  
Old 24 October 2009, 01:32   #268
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by tero View Post
@TCD
The big idea of the desktop is to save system Ressources, together with many 'hidden' tweaks i'm able to play Risen/GTA4/Gothik3/X3 smoothly on a 2ghz machine. (and not on the lowest settings)

EDIT: It happens again....
Yes, yes it does
Btw : Interesting option with the shadows on Scalos
TCD is offline  
Old 24 October 2009, 01:34   #269
tero
Registered User

tero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: M'Gladbach
Age: 40
Posts: 449
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Yes, yes it does
Old man's learning slow
tero is offline  
Old 24 October 2009, 01:35   #270
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by tero View Post
Old man's learning slow
Tis okay, I got the idea mate
TCD is offline  
Old 24 October 2009, 01:50   #271
NewDeli
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris / FRANCE
Age: 43
Posts: 1,248
Send a message via ICQ to NewDeli Send a message via Skype™ to NewDeli
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
She asked a quite simple question how to get icons to look like the ones on tomcat666's screenshot.
Not quite. She asked for her WB desktop to look exactly like his, not just the icons.

And you're well-aware I am not questionning anybody's freedom to arrange their WB the way they want it to, aren't you ? I am just saying if it is not done with new discoveries in mind, it might not be worth the effort (meaning you don't learn by "copying" someone else's setup, but your best interest is probably to take it as a starting point to build your own).
And truth to be told, I just can't see any point in setting up a wallpaper in 3.1. My eyes hurt !
NewDeli is offline  
Old 24 October 2009, 01:55   #272
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deleauvive View Post
And you're well-aware I am not questionning anybody's freedom to arrange their WB the way they want it to, aren't you ?
Actually I do. Can't see any purpose than that in your posts. Did you give her any hints how to get there or any further? I think not.
TCD is offline  
Old 24 October 2009, 02:13   #273
tero
Registered User

tero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: M'Gladbach
Age: 40
Posts: 449
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deleauvive View Post
She asked for her WB desktop to look exactly like his, not just the icons.

I am just saying if it is not done with new discoveries in mind, it might not be worth the effort (meaning you don't learn by "copying" someone else's setup, but your best interest is probably to take it as a starting point to build your own).
Copying is a very good way to learn: you get an idea how things are working, what is needed and so on...
After all it saves much time compared to figure out everything on your own
And thereafter you get that setup as good starting point for prefered customizings
customize the optics is much easier then setting up a WB with all it's stuff
tero is offline  
Old 24 October 2009, 02:33   #274
NewDeli
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris / FRANCE
Age: 43
Posts: 1,248
Send a message via ICQ to NewDeli Send a message via Skype™ to NewDeli
@TCD
That's because although I trust Kitty to be willing to make her way through Amiga emulation, each progress/discovery being made (using a proper A1200 config, sticking with such flavor of classicWB...) seem rather volatile to me.

What if tomcat666 reply was "I used a plain 3.1 WB, not ClassicWB", that would probability be a case of Kitty asking again how to solve the 3.1 border issue... May be you don't mind, and I can live with it but I think that would be a bit sad.

The constant revolving around WB "pimping" (since it appears it probably won't increase its usability) looks to me like someone still at the stage of discussing about the benefits taking the plundge (as to using the WB for clearly defined tasks, which I hope you have nothing against, since it's only natural for it to happen at one stage or another).
NewDeli is offline  
Old 24 October 2009, 10:31   #275
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
well Deleauvive why don`t you try to emulate said workbench rather than trolling

then perhapse you could offer some insights as how to do it
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 24 October 2009, 10:35   #276
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
@Deleauvive
Hmm, Kitty asked a quite straightforward question. tero gave her some good hints and since tomcat666 has that setup the way she likes it (for now), he can surely tell her how to do it (I doubt that tomcat won't be able to adopt it to her current setup). All I can read in your posts is that Kitty shouldn't do that and I can't see why. Maybe she even tries to change to that 'look' in different WB setups she has. I think that's a really good step in getting the grips of icons in WB and she'll surely have a lot more questions Maybe supporting her when you can is a much better way than just question each thing that she tries to achieve.
TCD is offline  
Old 24 October 2009, 10:48   #277
Kitty
Sys dec($cdab)

Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,503
Quote:
Note the colors:Text=Black and Shadow=White
Where do I change the colors for this?
Kitty is offline  
Old 24 October 2009, 10:55   #278
DH
Global Moderator

DH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kitty View Post
Awesomeness

Is there any way to change the games & demo icons, so they look a bit better?

Nice choice Kitty, looks awesome

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deleauvive View Post
And truth to be told, I just can't see any point in setting up a wallpaper in 3.1. My eyes hurt !
Meaning???

EDIT: So you don't like *MY* graphical contributions for EAB, Amiga and the dedicated to Fairlight wallpapers???

EDIT2: And before you start by saying I don't make any valuable contributions in this thread, and that my contributions are superficial, take another look, I don't need to say anything, the proof is in what Kitty is using

Last edited by DH; 24 October 2009 at 11:12.
DH is offline  
Old 24 October 2009, 11:33   #279
Kitty
Sys dec($cdab)

Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,503
Quote:
Note the colors:Text=Black and Shadow=White
Where do I change the colors for this?

Also icon installer wont let me change Ram Disk Icon Any ideas about this?



(Dont worry DemonHellraiser, I will add the wallpaper back when I'm done fiddling with icons )
Kitty is offline  
Old 24 October 2009, 11:52   #280
Kitty
Sys dec($cdab)

Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London UK
Age: 35
Posts: 1,503
Actually I dont think I got New Icons installed the Ram Icon and also the game folders seem to be glow icons, maybe why I cant change Ram Disk Icon?
Kitty is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Classic Workbench CF versions Zetr0 project.ClassicWB 90 29 November 2012 08:25
Classic Workbench for A4000T fitzsteve project.ClassicWB 5 28 July 2011 09:33
Classic Workbench on EEEPC lolafg project.ClassicWB 4 03 January 2011 18:48
Classic Workbench on Minimig !! lolafg project.ClassicWB 71 11 November 2010 22:53
Classic workbench error Dave_wb project.ClassicWB 6 01 March 2010 11:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.27335 seconds with 12 queries