English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 October 2009, 22:07   #1
Muzer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 144
HDToolBox partitioning

(Sorry that I've been creating so many threads recently, but I've been thinking of so many questions!)

I know that modern partitioners can resize partitions (not Amiga ones), but can HDToolBox do it? I seem to be able to drag the slider to change the size, but I'm too scared to apply it. What will it do? Will it format the partition? Will it just resize the partition without resizing the filesystem, rendering it unreadable? Or will it actually resize it properly?
Muzer is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 02 October 2009, 22:48   #2
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
yep most likely lose all ya data and have to reformat partions

also nothing wrong with askin lots of questions
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 02 October 2009, 23:47   #3
Muzer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 144
Ah, thanks. I've just created a new 2GB partition and copied everything across (2GB is the maximum size for FFS, isn't it?)

I'll attempt to install ClassicWB_FULL on top of my current lite installation and see how it goes tomorrow or the day after...
Muzer is offline  
Old 03 October 2009, 00:11   #4
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
4 gig is max partion size but biggest file is 2gig

but 2 gig partion should be plenty big if not 2 big for a system partion
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 03 October 2009, 07:41   #5
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
There is no partition size limit, there is a harddrive size limit of 4GB.

Of course you may not create partitions outside the accessible harddrive if you don't want to get into trouble.
thomas is offline  
Old 03 October 2009, 09:26   #6
illy5603
Registered User
illy5603's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: SPaT CiTY
Posts: 509
Send a message via MSN to illy5603
Muzer, it might be a good idea to just stick with <2 gig partitions due to the limitations of some classic applications to access partitions greater than 2 gigs. I did a 512meg boot partition and a 3.5 gig "data" partition for my bbs only to find that the bbs software didn't support partitions over 2 gigs so now it is crammed into the 512 meg partition for uploads. Better safe than sorry considering 2 gigs is huge in classic Amiga terms anyway.
illy5603 is offline  
Old 03 October 2009, 12:42   #7
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,382
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmicfrog View Post
yep most likely lose all ya data and have to reformat partions
Except if being courageous you can quick format and then use some undelete program to get everything back which is on the used area - a defragged partition with empty space on the end may give everything back. But not for faint-hearted...(done it).
zipper is offline  
Old 03 October 2009, 17:09   #8
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,204
Thanks for that suggestion, zipper!

That would certainly save the time it would take for a complete reinstallation, provided all critical files had been backed up first, of course.
prowler is online now  
Old 04 October 2009, 21:43   #9
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
me bad thomas, of course partion size not limited to 4 gig
its the scsi.device that limits harddrive size limit of 4GB
plz corect me if I`m wrong
also FFS has file size limit of 2gig is this the same for SFS and PFS ?
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 04 October 2009, 22:59   #10
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
2GB file size limit is in dos.library, so every file system shares it.

SFS2 does support bigger files, though.
thomas is offline  
Old 05 October 2009, 16:54   #11
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
ahh thanks the muddy waters are starting to clear
thanks thomas
cosmicfrog is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDToolBox - partitioning a real HD Yesideez support.Other 5 18 November 2012 22:18
HDF problem with partitioning kwaku85 support.WinUAE 10 23 April 2012 18:43
Please advice for an A-600 HD partitioning and format Overdoc support.Hardware 1 10 January 2012 17:35
Using amiga (update all, partitioning, classic wb) mikro New to Emulation or Amiga scene 5 11 October 2007 12:12
Partitioning Questions Parsec support.Hardware 5 01 June 2003 00:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.16735 seconds with 11 queries