English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 September 2009, 08:47   #1
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Question how to hide volumes in WB 3.1?

In OS3.9 in Workbench prefs you can tick the volumes that you don't want appearing on your WB. How to do this in WB3.1?
Bamiga2002 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 18 September 2009, 09:08   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
One of these perhaps: http://aminet.net/search?query=hide+icons ?
thomas is offline  
Old 18 September 2009, 11:23   #3
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Thanks but none of these did the trick. GhostBusters is OS3.5/3.9 only and the other one doesn't hide leaved out icons (from my OS4.0 installation) a.ka shortcuts but volumes only. Guess i didn't mention i also would like the OS4.0 leave-out icons hidden on my WB3.1. Maybe i make a leaved-out directory for them and put the icons there so they don't clutter the workbench.

Last edited by Bamiga2002; 18 September 2009 at 12:05.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 18 September 2009, 11:49   #4
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
You cannot hide left out icons from one volume but not from another volume. You could only add a line to both startup-sequences, one renaming the .backdrop file to something else and the other renaming it back.
thomas is offline  
Old 18 September 2009, 12:05   #5
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
That's a good idea, will try.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 18 September 2009, 12:36   #6
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,526
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
You cannot hide left out icons from one volume but not from another volume.
Of course somebody could write a patch for the Open() function which restricts access to the .backdrop file on selected volumes. However, such a patch could be considered to be a rootkit...
thomas is offline  
Old 18 September 2009, 13:29   #7
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
OK then, i made some scripts to check for partitions ".backdrop" and if there, rename to ".backdrop.renamed". Same applies backwards to get the left-out icons showing again. Thanks Thomas (again ). !

Last edited by Bamiga2002; 21 September 2009 at 22:48. Reason: damn typos...
Bamiga2002 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mount adf like volumes Giana support.Apps 19 18 July 2015 15:25
Hm, any chanche to add an option for hide a part of screenshots? Beawolf HOL suggestions and feedback 6 12 December 2010 18:42
howto hide specified disk icons from wb under 3.1 Chain request.Other 0 06 January 2010 17:49
Soft which hide whole border of AmigaDos Window olesio support.Apps 5 17 February 2009 01:21
Softwood Softfonts (any volumes) Madcrow request.Other 0 04 June 2008 18:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.16818 seconds with 11 queries