English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 31 August 2009, 17:47   #41
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,358
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Perhaps it might be the Access. That would be a nice "take to demo parties" machine when installed into a 2x5.25" SCSI box.

So; an Access for me please! Could even be sans custom chips, as there are many A1200s to scavenge those from in the world.

http://www.amiga-hardware.com/showha....cgi?HARDID=39
Jope is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 31 August 2009, 18:01   #42
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
They are surface mount so you aint going to find a cheap one sans chips I'm afraid Not without it missing all the Access specific custom chips too (which you'll never get from anywhere).

I did hear a rumour that AmigaKit had one (or two?) Access boards. I don't think they got round to selling them yet.
alexh is offline  
Old 31 August 2009, 18:21   #43
Caius
Registered User
Caius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 26
A Fastlane Z3 so I could leave the crappy IDE controller on the motherboard in the dust, and so I could stuff even more memory into the Amiga (I already have 128MB Fast, but even that isn't always enough to scan and/or edit high quality 24bit pictures). Unfortunately I don't have any free zorro ports left.
Caius is offline  
Old 31 August 2009, 18:51   #44
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,358
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
They are surface mount so you aint going to find a cheap one sans chips I'm afraid Not without it missing all the Access specific custom chips too (which you'll never get from anywhere).
Yeah, it's probably very unlikely to find one otherwise complete, but missing the AGA chipset. :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 31 August 2009, 19:23   #45
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caius View Post
Unfortunately I don't have any free zorro ports left.
Then surely you need a tower and a bus-board with more zorro slots too?
alexh is offline  
Old 31 August 2009, 20:29   #46
Caius
Registered User
Caius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Then surely you need a tower and a bus-board with more zorro slots too?
Haha. Clearly.

What I said isn't entirely accurate. I do have a zorro slot free, but its backplate is occupied by the IndivisionAGA 4000's VGA output. I guess I could find a different viable solution to that. Any suggestions?
Caius is offline  
Old 31 August 2009, 22:43   #47
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,358
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Thread the VGA connector out of some hole?
Jope is offline  
Old 31 August 2009, 23:20   #48
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,785
FMV card for CD32. Wanted one for years and years.
Pyromania is offline  
Old 31 August 2009, 23:41   #49
Caius
Registered User
Caius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
Thread the VGA connector out of some hole?
I don't want it dangling back there, I prefer having it properly secured. Currently it's mounted on a metal plate scavenged off an old PCI VGA card.
Caius is offline  
Old 01 September 2009, 00:47   #50
Yoto
1 Potato to Spam“em all!
Yoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Lost in a Wine Country
Age: 41
Posts: 572
I wouldnt mind a simple DSS 8 Audio Digitizer by GVP for my A1200.
Yoto is offline  
Old 02 September 2009, 23:22   #51
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
there used to be an advert in the magazines featuring a tricked out A500 think it was an 030 for the 68000 and a HD where the floppy was....

then some cheap memory for the A570 cd drive + scis/ide conector
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 03 September 2009, 01:14   #52
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmicfrog View Post
then some cheap memory for the A570 cd drive + scis/ide conector
I bought these items new just recently. I think the RAM was £30 and the SCSI adapter was £38.

http://freenet-homepage.de/x1541/hardware/a570ram.html

Last edited by alexh; 03 September 2009 at 01:37.
alexh is offline  
Old 03 September 2009, 01:45   #53
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,785
If anyone is selling their FMV card for CD32 please let us know.
Pyromania is offline  
Old 03 September 2009, 23:22   #54
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyromania View Post
If anyone is selling their FMV card for CD32 please let us know.
Have a look here : http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?p=591409#post591409
TCD is offline  
Old 07 September 2009, 00:55   #55
r0jaws
Amibay fanboi
r0jaws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Boston, Lincolnshire
Age: 43
Posts: 154
I'd happily punch myself in the gonads for an a630. Or alternatively, pay cash for it.
r0jaws is offline  
Old 07 September 2009, 01:42   #56
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by r0jaws View Post
I'd happily punch myself in the gonads for an a630.
Even knowing how flaky they are? Both in physical and electrical design they are terrible.
alexh is offline  
Old 07 September 2009, 16:05   #57
gleng
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Blighty
Posts: 24
I want an A3000 desktop. I really like the case. It looks a bit like a white PlayStation 2 (the old, fat ones)!
gleng is offline  
Old 07 September 2009, 17:21   #58
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by gleng View Post
I want an A3000 desktop. I really like the case. It looks a bit like a white PlayStation 2 (the old, fat ones)!
Perhaps you should get an Atari Falcon Microbox?



Ok, so I did say no prototypes! And I also said Amiga hardware, but if you've never seen one before the likeness is uncanny.

Last edited by alexh; 07 September 2009 at 17:28.
alexh is offline  
Old 08 September 2009, 01:52   #59
asm1
Registered User
asm1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Age: 37
Posts: 637
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Perhaps you should get an Atari Falcon Microbox?



Ok, so I did say no prototypes! And I also said Amiga hardware, but if you've never seen one before the likeness is uncanny.

Damn right I'd heard that it looked very similar but never seen one till now..... OooO Would Sony not get into trouble for copyright infringement ? Not that it would have mattered...........

Nice!
asm1 is offline  
Old 08 September 2009, 02:55   #60
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
Add a GVP A530 to my list, cost as much as a used car.
Unknown_K is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are you interested in DIY hardware or would you rather buy ready-made solutions? Jope support.Hardware 88 19 March 2013 15:44
Amiga Big Bash 3! UK Amiga Show (Bring and Buy Sale) - Last Calling Mikey_C Amiga scene 19 20 October 2005 21:43
I'd like to buy an Amiga Unregistered New to Emulation or Amiga scene 10 10 October 2004 22:32
A place to buy Amiga hardware Fred the Fop MarketPlace 6 28 June 2004 21:33
Which Amiga to buy @UAE MarketPlace 2 01 September 2002 22:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.30401 seconds with 11 queries