English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 August 2009, 15:39   #21
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,776
Then youve got the X68000 also a disk based machine not much memory 2mb? but arcade perfect ports.
Retro1234 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 27 August 2009, 19:56   #22
Jgames
Registered User
Jgames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Boo View Post
Then youve got the X68000 also a disk based machine not much memory 2mb? but arcade perfect ports.
It has 2mb of ram, largerly enough to do arcade perfect ports;

But the arcade coin up themselves didn't have that much ram!, the sega system16 (shinobi) had 64kb ram!, this is because rom is considered ram, or the contiunation of the first 64kb ram.
Jgames is offline  
Old 27 August 2009, 20:06   #23
Jgames
Registered User
Jgames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 338
I have done a search on CPS1 capcom arcade board, it has 64kb of ram also!
Jgames is offline  
Old 27 August 2009, 20:15   #24
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,776
Thanks for the info Jgames!
They can sell the consoles for cheap and charge for the cartridges -With the Neo-Geo/AES basicly an arcade machice they charged a lot!
But Wiki states that the X68000 was Capcom CPS development system and is Disk based

Street Fighter 2 for the Amiga was the first time I was realy disappointed with the Amiga - Sorry if I banging on I just think it could have been so much better.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 27 August 2009, 20:29   #25
Jgames
Registered User
Jgames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Boo View Post
Thanks for the info Jgames!
They can sell the consoles for cheap and charge for the cartridges -With the Neo-Geo/AES basicly an arcade machice they charged a lot!
But Wiki states that the X68000 was Capcom CPS development system and is Disk based

Street Fighter 2 for the Amiga was the first time I was realy disappointed with the Amiga - Sorry if I banging on I just think it could have been so much better.
The problem for street fighter 2, is that for floppy/hard disc based computers, it will need a lot of ram;
I for example we take 320*240*8bits = 76800 as the resolution; the background 2screens length image will need for example 2 * 76800= 153600, add the background sprites (in sf2 there are a lot) lets say 64*64 image = 4096 anbd there are 2 so we'll have 8192;
then the 2 fighters sprites themselves, let's say they are 64*64 = 4096, and let's say each one has 200 animation frames (i read sf2 has more than 300 per character) we end up 2 * 4096 * 200 = 1638400 kB!

Adding all this
1638400 + 8192 + 153600 = 1800192 = 1.8MB just for the graphics!
Add code, and sound and you'll end up minimum 2MB to have a decent sf2 on non cartdrige systems!

So a 1MB amiga can't do it justice, but 2MB would certainly be very good.
Jgames is offline  
Old 11 October 2010, 16:32   #26
Jgames
Registered User
Jgames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 338
"In the ROM based systems the cartridge or ROM cards can be used directly as memory by the machine.
ROM uses to be very slow compared with standard dynamic RAM (DRAM) or even more with static RAM (SRAM) but at the time the ROM cartridge system was used CPUs were not so fast to have many problems with it. The code was executed from the ROMs as well as the data for sound and video.
The small RAM memory was used for generation or modifications of the sound and graphic data and for the game variables."

Found in "Study of the techniques of emulation programming" paper.
Jgames is offline  
Old 11 October 2010, 19:22   #27
hitchhikr
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: somewhere
Posts: 361
Notice that consoles used (x68000 used such mode too & NDS still uses that) tiled gfx so once the gfx data were loaded into video memory it was just a matter of moving 1 or 2 bytes (tops) to a special vram location in order to display a 16x16 tile or a sprite at given screen position, that's much faster than any planar or chunky mode copy & consoles had hw scrolling too.
hitchhikr is offline  
Old 11 October 2010, 21:28   #28
mikele
Registered User
mikele's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: poland
Posts: 290
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
I don't know any CPC game with sampled sfx... I think it's too much for this machine.
I disagree. What about Robocop, Grand Prix Simulator II, Ghost Hunters, Super Robin Hood, Ghost Hunters and Starglider then? The whole SF2 on cpc rather looks like a demo to me.
mikele is offline  
Old 12 October 2010, 04:13   #29
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,174
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
It smells the c64 fanboi out there XD
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 12 October 2010, 21:46   #30
khph_re
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Northampton/UK
Posts: 245
BTW, check out this website:
http://orion.cpcscene.com/[/quote]

That looks fantastic. Just watched the trailer on youtube. Very impressive.

Does the amiga have a CPC emu?
khph_re is offline  
Old 12 October 2010, 21:51   #31
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by khph_re View Post
Does the amiga have a CPC emu?
http://aminet.net/package/misc/emu/Ami-CPC
ftp://ftp.lip6.fr/pub/amstrad/emulator/EMUCPC07.LZX
TCD is offline  
Old 12 October 2010, 22:50   #32
khph_re
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Northampton/UK
Posts: 245
Thanks for the links. I much prefer running 8bit stuff on my A1200, it just seems to look like it was meant to (phosphor glow and resolutions etc).

As for street fighter 2... I almost believed it, having read the CPC+ specs

  • 16 Sprites, each consisting of 16x16 high resolution pixels, in fifteen colours separate from the main screen colours.
  • The colour palette has been extended to allow simultaneous display of up to 32 colours (16 main + 15 sprite + border) from a palette of 4096, rather than the previous 17 from 27.
  • Additional screen controls have been added, to allow split screen operation and smooth scrolling to be used.
  • An automated sound generation process allows generation of more complex sound effects with greatly reduced software overhead.
..but isn't mentioned on any cpc demo sites, and he's turned off comments. I reckon it's a fake


Anyway, heres some cool cpc stuff:

[ Show youtube player ]

[ Show youtube player ]

http://www.symbos.de/
khph_re is offline  
Old 13 October 2010, 11:50   #33
Jgames
Registered User
Jgames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by khph_re View Post
As for street fighter 2... I almost believed it, having read the CPC+ specs
Impossible for a CPC+ with 128kb of ram, the game as i saw, with all those incredible animations, will need at least 1mb of ram, or be played as a cartdrige rom.
This is a PC version done in CPC style.
Jgames is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Street Fighter 2 weirdreams Retrogaming General Discussion 4 21 June 2012 00:15
Street Fighter IV WIP Bloodwych Retrogaming General Discussion 12 09 January 2008 10:40
street fighter stuntpup project.WHDLoad 5 30 August 2007 21:45
Street Fighter III Muzkat Retrogaming General Discussion 11 14 August 2007 01:55
[Fixed] Street Fighter II Amigaboy HOL data problems 5 30 December 2002 22:34

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.16896 seconds with 11 queries