English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 August 2009, 17:12   #1
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
Japan-UK step down transformer!

I have just fired up my old Japanese Victor Saturn (JVC Sega Saturn) and have noticed some strange noises coming from the power step down transformer! Now i am afraid to use it so i am looking to buy another but cannot find the correct one anywhere!!

Ok, the one i currently have is a no-name small 230V-100V step down transformer and is rated at 50W (ideal for old Jap consoles).... now my big problem is finding another one with the same rating!! The only one's i can find are 110V or 120V but this is for US equipment although some people seem to think it's also the same for Japan....It's not! Japan is 100V and all the Jap consoles i have say "AC 100V 50/60hz" so i really need a transformer that outputs 100V and at least 45W to be safe, but i cannot find one anywhere!

The one i am currently using is about the same size as a Sega megadrive power adapter... but i have seen a few 100V one's that are very big, bulky and too expansive! Does anyone know where i could find one? (i tried Maplin's and the staff there do not have a clue!!)

Cheers
PowerPie5000 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 23 August 2009, 23:06   #2
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,278
Hi PowerPie,

If this is something you wish to do often, try searching for a Variac.

These are large, variable transformers which can give an output from 0-240 VAC, but they're heavy.

However, you might just find a cheap one in a surplus store.
prowler is offline  
Old 23 August 2009, 23:24   #3
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
The Swedish arcade forum arkadtorget.net do have 1-2 Japan deals average per month, ask those guys - they do speak English there
Photon is offline  
Old 23 August 2009, 23:34   #4
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
Thanks for the replies! I may have found just what i need and it looks very similar to the transformer i already have It seems like an ok price... mine was cheaper and lasted a few years so hopefully this should last a while!

http://www.airlinktransformers.com/t...ransformer.asp
PowerPie5000 is offline  
Old 23 August 2009, 23:39   #5
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,278
Yes, that looks good. And 50W too!

Good luck!
prowler is offline  
Old 23 August 2009, 23:44   #6
PowerPie5000
Miggy Ate My Hamster!
PowerPie5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blackpool, UK
Posts: 1,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
Yes, that looks good. And 50W too!

Good luck!
Yep it's the exact same spec as the one i have and i hope it lasts as long... or longer
PowerPie5000 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Creating games with Backbone - Step by Step for beginners! Cammy project.Amiga Game Factory 144 06 December 2017 00:51
LCD Monitor mod (hardware pr0n, step by step) Shoonay Hardware pics 11 16 November 2015 22:13
ACATUNE - Step by step guide - MapRom Neil79 support.Apps 4 19 May 2013 13:53
Step by Step guide for installing WHDLoad and games for complete newbies? daro2096 support.Games 9 11 March 2013 22:59

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.19029 seconds with 11 queries