English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 August 2009, 20:39   #1
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 49
Posts: 1,792
Big grin New Arculator:

Not exactly much to do with the Amiga, I know, but still good news for retro-computing.

Tom Walker the author of Arculator has just released a big update.

RiscOS fans I'm sure will be most happy but for those not in the know Arculator is the emulator for 'classic' RiscOS machines: 'Arcs'.
Think of this as being equivalent to UAE for 'classic' Amigas.

My congratulations to Tom and my appreciation for his hard work.
Charlie is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 15 August 2009, 20:49   #2
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Thanks for the info.

I have only used Red Squirrel and, last I checked, it hasn't been updated in ages.

Is this better?
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 15 August 2009, 20:51   #3
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Indeed great news Thanks for sharing this Charlie and congratulations to Tom aswell here
TCD is offline  
Old 15 August 2009, 22:09   #4
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,280
Thanks for the news and the link, Charlie.

And thanks to Tom for the continuing development of Arculator.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodwych View Post
I have only used Red Squirrel and, last I checked, it hasn't been updated in ages.

Is this better?
Arculator emulates the Archimedes range of machines, so this will be better if you wish to use RiscOS 3.11 or earlier.

If you wish to use RiscOS 3.5 or above, then you will need RPCEmu, which was also developed by Tom Walker up to version 0.7. Later versions are available here:
http://www.marutan.net/rpcemuspoon/

Edit: I didn't realize it has been more than two years since the last Arculator update!

Last edited by prowler; 16 August 2009 at 00:03.
prowler is offline  
Old 15 August 2009, 23:05   #5
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Quote:
ADP protected disc image support
Great. Works flawless here. Just tested "The Last Ninja" from the QubeServer. Is this the original full version or still a demo? I still can't pickup anything.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 16 August 2009, 21:15   #6
Kyon
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SOS Brigade
Age: 26
Posts: 696
Send a message via MSN to Kyon
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodwych View Post
Thanks for the info.

I have only used Red Squirrel and, last I checked, it hasn't been updated in ages.

Is this better?
it seems better
Kyon is offline  
Old 16 August 2009, 21:33   #7
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 49
Posts: 1,792
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Great. Works flawless here. Just tested "The Last Ninja" from the QubeServer. Is this the original full version or still a demo? I still can't pickup anything.
Yes, the .apd is indeed the full version. Pick up with 'P'. (Yes, I know that's usually pause)

BTW: Is it time you changed your avatar RN?


Just a thought.

P.S.
RiscOS machines come in roughly two types:
-'Classic' Machines, 'Arcs'.
-'Modern' Machines, RiscPC & such-like.

Arculator emulates to former, RedSquirrel the latter though if emulating a 'modern' system I'd go for RPCEmu...

...VA5000 is a commercial Arc emulator & VirtualRiscPC a commercial, um, RiscPC emulator.
...There's other emulators to for DOS, Linux, RiscOS...

...Tom's emulators are, of course, just fine and dandy.

Last edited by Charlie; 16 August 2009 at 21:39.
Charlie is offline  
Old 16 August 2009, 21:42   #8
Kyon
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SOS Brigade
Age: 26
Posts: 696
Send a message via MSN to Kyon
thats very good info my friend
Kyon is offline  
Old 16 August 2009, 21:47   #9
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie View Post
Yes, the .apd is indeed the full version. Pick up with 'P'. (Yes, I know that's usually pause)
Thank again for the hint. Now i can play it.


Quote:
BTW: Is it time you changed your avatar RN?


Just a thought.
Nah, maybe laffer.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 16 August 2009, 21:52   #10
Kyon
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SOS Brigade
Age: 26
Posts: 696
Send a message via MSN to Kyon
charlie you have got news for sensi soccer ?
Kyon is offline  
Old 16 August 2009, 22:01   #11
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,928
Quote:
- A3010 joystick emulation
How on earth do I enable that ?
Playing Last Ninja with mouse or keyboard is just a pain in the hiney.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 16 August 2009, 22:06   #12
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Looks like it works only with games which support a joystick. For Last Ninja: Use JoytoKey.

http://www.brothersoft.com/joytokey-106303.html
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 16 August 2009, 22:25   #13
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 49
Posts: 1,792
Now we have .apd (Thanks Tom) Sensi's 'just' a case of someone imaging the original floppy - I haven't got a copy but someone will.

Now, joysticks and the Arc:
It could be said this is an area where Acorn dropped the ball...
...The original 'standard' was the same analogue port as the Beeb - lovely except Acorn didn't fit one to any of their 32bit computers, you needed an upgrade. So that wasn't well supported.
...Next they went for an Atari-type port with a new standard - less lovely but ok except Acorn only fitted an Atari-port to the A3010. So also not well supported though better than the analogue standard.

The result?
Many (especially early) games didn't support a joystick at all.
Lots of peeps made adaptors for other ports that usually followed the Acorn digital standard.

So...
With luck you have some form of Acorn digital-standard supporting joyport.
(Acorn's own module for the A3010 or an equivalent for another computer)
But
You have a collection of games that wouldn't know a joystick if they sat on it.

The solution is as follows:
-Digital joystick with driver that follows Acorn's standard. (Here, PC+Arculator)
-!Joyfix - An app that can map keys from your chosen game to said joystick. (I have a feeling that's included in the Classic RiscOS install )
Then a bit of fiddling to tell !Joyfix what keys to use if I haven't already done it for you.
-!MouseJoy (also included in Classic RiscOS) will emulate the Acorn digital standard with your mouse should you lack a stick AND can be used with !Joyfix if you wish.

Now don't you wish Acorn had put a joy port in more of their d*mn computers as standard?
Charlie is offline  
Old 16 August 2009, 22:39   #14
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,928
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie View Post
Now don't you wish Acorn had put a joy port in more of their d*mn computers as standard?
Absolutely.
I guess I'll use Xpadder for my joystick needs.
Retroplay is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.29777 seconds with 10 queries